[105-newcomers] IETF 105 Newcomers' Information

IETF Secretariat <ietf-secretariat@ietf.org> Tue, 02 July 2019 21:03 UTC

Return-Path: <ietf-secretariat@ietf.org>
X-Original-To: 105-newcomers@ietf.org
Delivered-To: 105-newcomers@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from ietfa.amsl.com (localhost [IPv6:::1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id DFE7B1200E9 for <105-newcomers@ietf.org>; Tue, 2 Jul 2019 14:03:42 -0700 (PDT)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
From: IETF Secretariat <ietf-secretariat@ietf.org>
To: <105-newcomers@ietf.org>
X-Test-IDTracker: no
X-IETF-IDTracker: 6.98.1
Auto-Submitted: auto-generated
Precedence: bulk
Reply-To: 105-newcomers@ietf.org
Message-ID: <156210142287.23833.12745536134993581614.idtracker@ietfa.amsl.com>
Date: Tue, 02 Jul 2019 14:03:42 -0700
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/105-newcomers/SX893rTuO0flCDKPHfk7YQi_ufA>
X-Mailman-Approved-At: Tue, 02 Jul 2019 14:07:37 -0700
Subject: [105-newcomers] IETF 105 Newcomers' Information
X-BeenThere: 105-newcomers@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
List-Id: <105-newcomers.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/105-newcomers>, <mailto:105-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/105-newcomers/>
List-Post: <mailto:105-newcomers@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:105-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/105-newcomers>, <mailto:105-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Tue, 02 Jul 2019 21:03:43 -0000

We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Montreal for IETF 105!

You are receiving this email because you indicated during registration that you’ve attended fewer than five IETF meetings.  As a relative newcomer (and perhaps even first-time attendee) we want to make sure that you are aware of the various resources we’ve developed to get you up to speed. 


1. Before the Meeting:

a. Attend a Webinar:
If you have not used Meetecho before, you are encouraged to review helpful information here: https://ietf105.conf.meetecho.com/index.php/Newcomers_Webinar  before joining your first working group session. 
The two options to participate in the IETF Newcomers’ Webinar are: 

-  Wednesday, July 10 @ 1200 UTC (0500 PDT/ 0800 EDT/ 1300 CET/ 2100 JST)
-  Thursday, July 11 @ 1500 UTC (0800 PDT/ 1100 EDT/ 1600 CET)/ (Friday, July 12 @ 0000 JST)

During this session we will provide a brief overview of how to prepare for the IETF 105 meeting week.  More importantly, we will give you the opportunity to ask any of the questions you may have. Join here: https://www.meetecho.com/ietf105/newcomerswebinar.

b. Read Ahead:  If you’ve not done so yet, please take a few minutes to watch the excellent “Top 10 Things to Know Before Your First IETF Meeting” video embedded on this page, under Attending a Meeting: https://ietf.org/about/participate/get-started/meetings/.  We also strongly encourage you to review The Tao of the IETF, which is available online at https://www.ietf.org/tao.html. 

c. Request a Guide: Would you like the opportunity to have a seasoned IETF attendee introduce you to the ways of an IETF meeting? The IETF Guides Program matches experienced IETF participants with newcomers in order to aid their integration into the IETF community. You can find more information at: https://www.ietf.org/about/participate/guides/, and request a guide here: https://guides.ietf.org/guides/request_guide.

Additional Resources: Additional IETF 105 resources for newcomers are available here: https://ietf.org/how/meetings/105/newcomers/. 


2. During the Meeting
Below are highlights of the newcomer-specific events during the IETF 105 meeting week.

a.  Events on Sunday, July 21
- A Newcomers Orientation is from 1230-1330 in the Viger room of the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth in Montreal. If you are unable to attend on Sunday, you can access an online version of the Newcomers Orientation via https://ietf.org/about/participate/tutorials/newcomers/.

- The IETF Newcomers’ Quick Connections is from in 1600-1700 in Place du Canada. NOTE: Pre-registration is required and space is extremely limited. Newcomers’ Quick Connections is a simple and effective way for you to be introduced to a variety of experienced IETF attendees — often working group (WG) chairs — who can help you get more involved in your areas of interest. You can sign up for Newcomers’ Quick Connections here: https://forms.gle/3b5CEKDUjdPzoQM17. The Quick Connections will end promptly at 17:00.  At that time, you are encouraged to remain in Place du Canada for the official IETF 105 Welcome Reception. This reception is open to the entire community, and it’s considered by many to be the informal kick-off of the week’s meeting. 

b. Events on Monday, July 22
- An informal Newcomers’ dinner is TBD. If you are interested in joining, please rsvp here: https://www.ietf.org/registration/ietf105/newcomers.py. Please note, that is there is $25 entrance fee as this not an IETF funded event, it is organized by the Secretariat. 

c. Events on Thursday, July 25
- A Newcomers’ Feedback Session is from 0800-0900 in C2 (21st floor) and a hot breakfast will be served. We are always eager to get feedback on the effectiveness of our newcomer related activities. What do you wish you’d known before you arrived? Which programs or activities were especially helpful and which programs or activities need to be revised? We’d like to hear from you, so please plan to attend.

Finally, for general logistical information (e.g., how to get from the airport to your hotel) please check out our meeting wiki at https://trac.ietf.org/trac/ietf/meeting/wiki/ietf105. If you have information to share, please create an account and contribute. 

Safe Travels.

Best,
IETF Secretariat