[112-newcomers] Exciting Newcomers' Events Starts Next Week!

IETF Secretariat <ietf-secretariat@ietf.org> Tue, 26 October 2021 20:32 UTC

Return-Path: <ietf-secretariat@ietf.org>
X-Original-To: 112-newcomers@ietf.org
Delivered-To: 112-newcomers@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from ietfa.amsl.com (localhost [IPv6:::1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id B81633A1882 for <112-newcomers@ietf.org>; Tue, 26 Oct 2021 13:32:41 -0700 (PDT)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
From: IETF Secretariat <ietf-secretariat@ietf.org>
To: <112-newcomers@ietf.org>
X-Test-IDTracker: no
X-IETF-IDTracker: 7.39.0
Auto-Submitted: auto-generated
Precedence: bulk
Reply-To: 112-newcomers@ietf.org
Message-ID: <163528036118.19022.5511311940259369486@ietfa.amsl.com>
Date: Tue, 26 Oct 2021 13:32:41 -0700
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/112-newcomers/ZP_ZpYGVg3j0OuwjjriypyQPGFY>
Subject: [112-newcomers] Exciting Newcomers' Events Starts Next Week!
X-BeenThere: 112-newcomers@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
List-Id: Mailing list for newcomers <112-newcomers.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/112-newcomers>, <mailto:112-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/112-newcomers/>
List-Post: <mailto:112-newcomers@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:112-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/112-newcomers>, <mailto:112-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Tue, 26 Oct 2021 20:32:42 -0000

IETF 112 Newcomers’ events and programs start next week! This a great opportunity to converse 
with other newcomers and experienced IETFers before the meeting. Please feel free to sign up 
and add these events to your calendar. We will see you there!

Events and Dates:
1. Newcomers’ Webinar: November 1 & 3, 2021
2. Online Escape Room: November 4, 2021
3. Newcomers Coffee Break: November 9 & 11, 2021
4. IETF Guides 
5. Newcomers’ Communication


More Information:

1. Newcomers’ Webinar
The Newcomers introduction presentation will  help provide a brief overview of how to
prepare for the IETF 112 meeting week. More importantly, we will give you the opportunity 
to ask any of the questions you may have during the Q&A sessions: 

Link to Introduction presentation video:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLC86T-6ZTP5hFWNekiZYEYwEqVWB-cwfr

Newcomers’ Q&A Session #1
-  Monday, November 1 @ 19:00 UTC (12:00 PT, 15:00 ET, 20:00 CET/ Tuesday, Nov 2 @ 04:00 JST)
Join here: https://ietf.zoom.us/j/84179477705
 
Newcomers’ Q&A Session #2
-  Wednesday, November 3 @ 12:45 UTC (05:45 PT, 08:45 ET, 13:45 CET, 21:45 JST)
Join here: https://ietf.zoom.us/j/84184691758

2. Online Escape Room
We are excited to announce a fun networking activity for IETF 112: an interactive online escape room! AMS
(the IETF Secretariat) has built an online escape room in Gather.town. The teams will have a combination of IETF 
newcomers and experienced IETF participants. If you enjoy looking for clues and solving puzzles, this is a great
event for you. The escape room will take approximately 1-1.5 hours to complete and will take place on: 

- ​​Thursday, November 4 @ 15:00 UTC (08:00 PT, 11:00 ET, 16:00 CET/ Friday, Nov 5 @ 00:00 JST).
Sign-up link: https://www.ietf.org/forms/112-newcomers-escape-room/

3. Newcomers Coffee Break
The IETF Newcomers Coffee Breaks are 20-minute gatherings where you can quickly meet other newcomers
and experienced IETFers. Share thoughts on how your week is going or ask any questions that you might
have. This will take place in the IETF 112 Gather space. If you have not used Gather previously, 
you are encouraged to review the introduction. 

-   Tuesday, November 9 @ 14:00 UTC (06:00 PT, 09:00 ET, 15:00 CET, 23:00 JST) 
-   Thursday, November 11 @ 15:30 UTC (07:30 PT, 10:30 ET, 16:30 CET/ Friday, Nov 12 @ 00:30 JST)

4. IETF Guides 
The IETF Guides Program matches experienced IETF participants with newcomers in order to
aid their integration into the IETF community. You can find more information
at: https://www.ietf.org/about/participate/guides/. You can request a guide
here: https://guides.ietf.org/guides/request_guide.

5. Join the Newcomers Slack Channel below!: 
https://app.slack.com/client/T03SESPS0/C01ECBHPWFR 
Workspace: ietf.slack.com

You can add these events into your calendar: 
https://calendar.google.com/calendar/ical/c_dsjcs1r6q429bd2dg80it8gi4s%40group.calendar.google.com/public/basic.ics

Additional resources for newcomers are available here: https://ietf.org/how/meetings/112/newcomers/.