CHAS MIB: Multiple agents

nob@sony.craynet.dk (Niels Ole Brunsgaard) Mon, 19 October 1992 10:19 UTC

Return-Path: <owner-chassismib>
Received: by CS.UTK.EDU (5.61++/2.8s-UTK) id AA11961; Mon, 19 Oct 92 06:19:22 -0400
Received: from dkuug.dk by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61++/2.8s-UTK) id AA11957; Mon, 19 Oct 92 06:19:06 -0400
Received: from mips.uucp by dkuug.dk with UUCP id AA17051 (5.65c8/IDA-1.4.4j for chassismib@cs.utk.edu); Mon, 19 Oct 1992 11:18:43 +0100
Received: from sony by craynet.dk (5.61/SMI-4.1) id AA23430; Mon, 19 Oct 92 12:09:51 +0100
Received: by sony.craynet.dk (4.0/SMI-4.1) id AA08681; Mon, 19 Oct 92 11:09:46 GMT
Date: Mon, 19 Oct 92 11:09:46 GMT
From: nob@sony.craynet.dk (Niels Ole Brunsgaard)
Message-Id: <9210191110.AA08681@sony.craynet.dk>
To: chassismib@cs.utk.edu
Subject: CHAS MIB: Multiple agents
X-Charset: ASCII
X-Char-Esc: 38


Bob Stewart <rlstewart@eng.xyplex.com> writes:

>I was one who spoke up for multiple instances of the Chassis MIB.  In our new
>chassis, we'd have to go out of our way NOT to have them.  We will implement
>the chassis MIB along with the agent that goes in each of our devices, and we
>have no coordination among them as to who would have an only copy.  They get
>their information the same way, so would have the same information.  The
>benefit is independence and redundancy.  It makes no difference which one you
>talk to.

Same here. We build real products too.

	Niels Ole Brunsgaard.
	Cray Networks.
	Copenhagen, Denmark.