Re: Chassis MIB comments

Manu Kaycee <kaycee@andr.ub.com> Mon, 14 June 1993 15:16 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa04152; 14 Jun 93 11:16 EDT
Received: from CS.UTK.EDU by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa04148; 14 Jun 93 11:16 EDT
Received: from localhost by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61+IDA+UTK-930125/2.8s-UTK) id AA07607; Mon, 14 Jun 93 10:38:24 -0400
X-Resent-To: chassismib@CS.UTK.EDU ; Mon, 14 Jun 1993 10:38:23 EDT
Errors-To: owner-chassismib@CS.UTK.EDU
Received: from ub-gate.UB.com by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61+IDA+UTK-930125/2.8s-UTK) id AA07599; Mon, 14 Jun 93 10:38:17 -0400
Received: from sunny.andr.UB.com (sunny.andr.UB.com) by ub-gate.UB.com (4.1/SMI-4.1[UB-1.8]) id AA25267; Mon, 14 Jun 93 07:38:29 PDT
Received: from psycho.andr.UB.com by sunny.andr.UB.com (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA16360; Mon, 14 Jun 93 10:38:27 EDT
Received: by psycho.andr.UB.com (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA25057; Mon, 14 Jun 93 10:38:09 EDT
Date: Mon, 14 Jun 93 10:38:09 EDT
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: Manu Kaycee <kaycee@andr.ub.com>
Message-Id: <9306141438.AA25057@psycho.andr.UB.com>
To: chassismib@cs.utk.edu
Subject: Re: Chassis MIB comments
Cc: kaycee@andr.ub.com

All,

To summarize recent discussions:

	1. the existing MIB does not allow logical entities to overlap
	   spatially

	2. due to item 1, sufficient support for common configurations
	   is not provided

	3. provisioning of multiple access profiles would be useful

Four individuals have participated in these discussions, with three
believing that allowing for items 1 and 2 is very important. (There
seems to be general agreement on item 3.)

What do others think?

Since we don't have much time, I would like to ask the WG chair for
guidance and suggestions.


mjk