Re: Comments on Chassis Mib

"Mahendra J. Kaycee" <kaycee@andr.ub.com> Tue, 29 June 1993 18:43 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa10084; 29 Jun 93 14:43 EDT
Received: from CS.UTK.EDU by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa10080; 29 Jun 93 14:43 EDT
Received: from localhost by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61+IDA+UTK-930125/2.8s-UTK) id AA05694; Tue, 29 Jun 93 14:17:26 -0400
X-Resent-To: chassismib@CS.UTK.EDU ; Tue, 29 Jun 1993 14:17:24 EDT
Errors-To: owner-chassismib@CS.UTK.EDU
Received: from ub-gate.UB.com by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61+IDA+UTK-930125/2.8s-UTK) id AA05686; Tue, 29 Jun 93 14:17:21 -0400
Received: from sunny.andr.UB.com (sunny.andr.UB.com) by ub-gate.UB.com (4.1/SMI-4.1[UB-1.8]) id AA06889; Tue, 29 Jun 93 11:18:12 PDT
Received: from psycho.andr.UB.com by sunny.andr.UB.com (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA00579; Tue, 29 Jun 93 14:18:07 EDT
Received: by psycho.andr.UB.com (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA01316; Tue, 29 Jun 93 14:17:32 EDT
Date: Tue, 29 Jun 93 14:17:32 EDT
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: "Mahendra J. Kaycee" <kaycee@andr.ub.com>
Message-Id: <9306291817.AA01316@psycho.andr.UB.com>
To: eah@pau.synnet.com, arneson@ctron.com
Subject: Re: Comments on Chassis Mib
Cc: chassismib@cs.utk.edu

Ed Heiner proposed a set of six tables providing pairwise mapping
between Entities, Modules, and Resources.

To which Dave Arneson writes:

> I thought about this type of mapping when I was writting the draft dated
> June 24.  However I like these many differnt mappings being asked for.
> I think I can agree with the following tables:
> 	chasModuleToEntityTable
> 	chasEntityToResourceTable
> 	chasModuleToResourceTable
> I think the other tables eiter don't provide enough benefit or the information
> can be implied from the other tables.

Agreed, except that I would like for us to include chasEntityToModuleTable
instead of chasModuleToEntityTable.

Have a good time in Amsterdam, folks.


mjk