Re: IESG's support

"L.H. Landweber" <lhl@cs.wisc.edu> Thu, 06 April 1995 12:30 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa01699; 6 Apr 95 8:30 EDT
Received: from CNRI.Reston.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa01695; 6 Apr 95 8:30 EDT
Received: from ietf.cnri.reston.va.us by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa04360; 6 Apr 95 8:30 EDT
Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa01686; 6 Apr 95 8:30 EDT
Received: from CNRI.Reston.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa01682; 6 Apr 95 8:30 EDT
Received: from parmesan.cs.wisc.edu by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa04342; 6 Apr 95 8:30 EDT
Date: Thu, 6 Apr 95 07:30:59 -0500
X-Orig-Sender: iesg-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: "L.H. Landweber" <lhl@cs.wisc.edu>
Message-Id: <9504061230.AA14972@parmesan.cs.wisc.edu>
Received: by parmesan.cs.wisc.edu; Thu, 6 Apr 95 07:30:59 -0500
To: klensin@mail1.reston.mci.net
Subject: Re: IESG's support
Cc: 0001050002@mcimail.com, bdains@linus.isoc.org, iesg@CNRI.Reston.VA.US, isoc-trustees@linus.isoc.org, lhl@cs.wisc.edu, mo@uunet.uu.net, pvm@isi.edu

john, mike

we have thought about the problem of non ietf, inet attendees caussing 
problems for ietf wg s. one solution would be to use badges to limit 
attendance at either inet or ietf sessions to people who have registered
for that meeting. 

of course, this would not stop curious inet attendees from registering
for both. but maybe that might be ok. wrt reporters, i would suggest that
we would not include ietf sessions in their complimentary registrations.
when faced with having to pay the full amount to attend an ietf wg, my
guess is that most reporters would choose to find people in the hallways.

i share your concern on this point. it probably is the main issue that
might impact on the viability of coincident meetings.

regards
larry