x.500 survey review

wright@lbl.gov (Russ Wright) Wed, 15 May 1991 02:16 UTC

Received: by merit.edu (5.65/1123-1.0) id AA13448; Tue, 14 May 91 22:16:50 -0400
Received: from lbl.gov by merit.edu (5.65/1123-1.0) id AA13444; Tue, 14 May 91 22:16:47 -0400
Received: from Mac-mailer ([128.3.148.18]) by lbl.gov (4.1/1.39) id AA00788; Tue, 14 May 91 19:17:27 PDT
Message-Id: <9105150217.AA00788@lbl.gov>
Date: Tue, 14 May 91 19:16:43
From: wright@lbl.gov (Russ Wright)
To: disi
Subject: x.500 survey review

Hi Everyone,
Here is a list of the people who responded to our survey.  As promised, the 
surveys are FTP-able from nic.lbl.gov (in the file disi/surveys - one big 
file).

The next two steps are:

> 1. All DISI members will be requested to review the submissions.  They
>    will be offered via anonymous ftp at a site at LBL.  (Available
>    5/14, comments requested by 5/28).  Note that Russ will send a
>    message on the 14th confirming the availability of the drafts and 
>    advertising the ftp site.
>    
> 2. Comments by DISI members will be collated by Russ and Ruth and sent
>    to the authors.  (By 5/31)

Please look at the VTT X.500 survey.  The "ATTACHEMENT" has some interesting 
information that should go into the survey itself.  There is also some general 
information that doesn't belong in the survey.

Some surveys are more complete than others ... does this matter?

                Russ

P.S  There are a few surveys coming in ... I will make them available when 
they do.


Name               Type      Submitter        E-mail address
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alliance OSI X.500 DSA/DUA  Vince Hunt       vince@touch.com
Custos             DSA/DUA  Len Gebase       gebase@osi3.ncsl.nist.gov
DCE/GDS            DSA/DUA  Chi Shue         chi@osf.org
Directory 500      DSA/DUA  Duncan Stickings dunc@vancouver.osiware.bc.ca
DIXIE              DUA      Tim Howes        tim.howes@terminator.cc.umich.edu
QUIPU              DSA/DUA  Colin Robbins    c.robbins@xtel.co.uk
maX.500            DUA      Tim Howes        tim.howes@terminator.cc.umich.edu
MDUA               DUA      Colin Robbins    c.robbins@xtel.co.uk
OSI-DUA            DUA      Craig Malone     craig@syacus.acus.oz.au
OSI-DSA            DSA      Craig Malone     craig@syacus.acus.oz.au
POD                DUA      Damanjit S Mahl  damanjit.mahl@brunel.ac.uk
SD                 DUA      Damanjit S Mahl  damanjit.mahl@brunel.ac.uk
UCOM.X 500         DSA/DUA  Philippe Brun    phb@phil.sync.fr
VTT X.500          DSA/DUA  Asko Vilavaara   asko.vilavaara@tel.vtt.fi
XDI                DUA      Sze-Ying Wuu     sywuu@thumper.bellcore.com
XDS                DUA      Andrew Waugh     ajw@mel.dit.csiro.au
XDUA               DUA      Brian May        brian.may@mel.dit.csiro.au
XWP                Browser  Rob Hagens       hagens@cs.wisc.edu
X.500 DUA process  DUA      Ly Loi           lll@snow.esd.3com.com