Why do MIB's overlap ?

Niels Ole Brunsgaard <nob@iris.craycom.dk> Wed, 18 August 1993 11:52 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa01606; 18 Aug 93 7:52 EDT
Received: from CNRI.RESTON.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa01602; 18 Aug 93 7:51 EDT
Received: from CS.UTK.EDU by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa06776; 18 Aug 93 7:51 EDT
Received: from localhost by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61+IDA+UTK-930125/2.8s-UTK) id AA29209; Wed, 18 Aug 93 07:27:02 -0400
X-Resent-To: fddi-mib@CS.UTK.EDU ; Wed, 18 Aug 1993 07:27:01 EDT
Errors-To: owner-fddi-mib@CS.UTK.EDU
Received: from ns.dknet.dk by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61+IDA+UTK-930125/2.8s-UTK) id AA29201; Wed, 18 Aug 93 07:26:51 -0400
Received: by ns.dknet.dk with UUCP id AA07392 (5.65c8/IDA-1.4.4j for fddi-mib@cs.utk.edu); Wed, 18 Aug 1993 13:26:53 +0200
Received: from iris by craycom.dk (5.61/SMI-4.1) id AA26518; Wed, 18 Aug 93 14:16:02 +0200
Received: by iris.craycom.dk (920330.SGI/920502.SGI.AUTO) for @mailhost.craycom.dk:fddi-mib@cs.utk.edu id AA21946; Wed, 18 Aug 93 13:18:18 +0200
Date: Wed, 18 Aug 93 13:18:18 +0200
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: Niels Ole Brunsgaard <nob@iris.craycom.dk>
Message-Id: <9308181118.AA21946@iris.craycom.dk>
To: fddi-mib@cs.utk.edu
Subject: Why do MIB's overlap ?
X-Charset: ASCII
X-Char-Esc: 29

I'm surprised to see the 7.3 MIB placed under { transmission 15 }.
This makes it difficult for a MS to detect if an agent supports
the 6.2 or the 7.3 MIB. In addition, if one uses a MIB browser, and
one has both 6.2 and 7.3 equipment, the 2 MIB's overlap in the browser.

Since the name space in the MIB tree is infinite, why not place the
2 MIB's under seperate branches.

	Niels Ole Brunsgaard
	Cray Communication A/S
	Copenhagen Denmark