Re: How do you handle ghost resources?

Anil Rijsinghani <anil@levers.enet.dec.com> Fri, 22 January 1993 18:42 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa04249; 22 Jan 93 13:42 EST
Received: from CNRI.RESTON.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa04245; 22 Jan 93 13:42 EST
Received: from CS.UTK.EDU by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa18231; 22 Jan 93 13:44 EST
Received: from localhost by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61++/2.8s-UTK) id AA03954; Fri, 22 Jan 93 12:57:25 -0500
X-Resent-To: fddi-mib@CS.UTK.EDU ; Fri, 22 Jan 1993 12:57:21 EST
Errors-To: owner-fddi-mib@CS.UTK.EDU
Received: from inet-gw-2.pa.dec.com by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61++/2.8s-UTK) id AA03938; Fri, 22 Jan 93 12:57:12 -0500
Received: by inet-gw-2.pa.dec.com; id AA25484; Fri, 22 Jan 93 09:57:05 -0800
Received: by us1rmc.bb.dec.com; id AA27597; Fri, 22 Jan 93 12:54:16 -0500
Message-Id: <9301221754.AA27597@us1rmc.bb.dec.com>
Received: from levers.enet; by us1rmc.enet; Fri, 22 Jan 93 12:54:38 EST
Date: Fri, 22 Jan 93 12:54:38 EST
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: Anil Rijsinghani <anil@levers.enet.dec.com>
To: dsiinc!rem@uunet.uu.net
Cc: fddi-mib@cs.utk.edu
Apparently-To: fddi-mib@cs.utk.edu, dsiinc!rem@uunet.uu.net
Subject: Re: How do you handle ghost resources?

    In routers with several datalinks which can be spread over multiple
    physical cards that plug into a chassis, or other devices which use
    are comprised of more than one physical entity, there is also
    a renumbering problem which must be dealt with.  Just to make sure I
    understand the ghost resource issue: do you believe that there is
    a particular benefit in the case of an FDDI chassis to
    remembering/managing cards that aren't around any more?

    Anil