Call for Feedback on the current IRTF Chair

IAB Executive Administrative Manager <> Wed, 14 December 2022 17:57 UTC

Return-Path: <>
Received: from (localhost [IPv6:::1]) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id 21903C14CF00; Wed, 14 Dec 2022 09:57:59 -0800 (PST)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
From: IAB Executive Administrative Manager <>
To: IETF Announcement List <>
Subject: Call for Feedback on the current IRTF Chair
X-Test-IDTracker: no
X-IETF-IDTracker: 9.3.0
Auto-Submitted: auto-generated
Precedence: bulk
Message-ID: <>
Date: Wed, 14 Dec 2022 09:57:59 -0800
Archived-At: <>
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.39
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <>
List-Unsubscribe: <>, <>
List-Archive: <>
List-Post: <>
List-Help: <>
List-Subscribe: <>, <>
X-List-Received-Date: Wed, 14 Dec 2022 17:57:59 -0000

As part of its oversight responsibility for the Internet Research Task
Force (IRTF), the IAB is soliciting comments from the community on the
performance of the IRTF Chair, Colin Perkins. Colin has been serving in 
the IRTF Chair position since March 2019.

RFC 2850 includes a paragraph about the selection of the IRTF Chair.  It

 3.3 Selection of the IRTF chair

 The IAB shall have the authority to appoint the chair of the Internet
 Research Task Force (IRTF) for a two-year renewable term, and to
 remove him or her. The IRTF chair shall be responsible for the
 management and organization of the IRTF according to [BCP 8].

Please send your remarks in confidence to and 

The IAB would appreciate receiving comments by 23:59 UTC on Wednesday, 
2023-01-18, as the IAB will begin the next steps in the oversight 
process soon. Please note that this review period is longer than normal 
to account for the holidays.

On behalf of the IAB,
Cindy Morgan
IAB Executive Administrative Manager