IETF Administrative LLC Establishment and IAOC transition

IETF Administration LLC Board of Directors Chair <> Sat, 22 September 2018 00:16 UTC

Return-Path: <>
Received: from (localhost [IPv6:::1]) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id 706B6130E91 for <>; Fri, 21 Sep 2018 17:16:21 -0700 (PDT)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
From: IETF Administration LLC Board of Directors Chair <>
To: "IETF Announcement List" <>
Subject: IETF Administrative LLC Establishment and IAOC transition
X-Test-IDTracker: no
X-IETF-IDTracker: 6.84.0
Auto-Submitted: auto-generated
Precedence: bulk
Message-ID: <>
Date: Fri, 21 Sep 2018 17:16:21 -0700
Archived-At: <>
X-Mailman-Approved-At: Mon, 24 Sep 2018 08:01:57 -0700
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <>
List-Unsubscribe: <>, <>
List-Archive: <>
List-Post: <>
List-Help: <>
List-Subscribe: <>, <>
X-List-Received-Date: Sat, 22 Sep 2018 00:16:21 -0000

Hello IETF Community,
The transition of the IETF’s administration to the IETF Administrative LLC ( is underway. This is the result of the work done in the IASA 2.0 working group.

The LLC papers were signed on August 27th and filed in Delaware formally establishing the IETF Administrative LLC.    
The interim LLC Board of Directors ( have been seated and are working on the transition from the IAOC to the LLC as the administrative oversight authority of the IETF.     

IASA 2.0 replaces the role of IETF Administrative Director (IAD) with the new role of IETF Executive Director.   The tile of IETF Executive Director has previously been used by Alexa Morris, so Alexa will now be known as the Managing Director, IETF Secretariat. 
The interim board held its first meeting on September 10, 2018 and second on September 20th.  
Minutes are published here:

Notable resolutions were:
• Interim LLC Board meetings will be open to observers.  (meeting information is available at

• Glenn Deen will serve as Chair of the LLC Board of Directors.  Glenn is also currently the Chair of the IAOC. 

• Portia Wenze-Danley, will serve as Interim IETF Executive Director reporting to the LLC Board of Directors. Portia was previously the acting IAD.

• Portia as Interim IETF Executive Director will oversee the IETF Secretariat, other staff and contractor as 
  described in the IASA 2.0 structure (

• The LLC will immediately assume responsibility from the IAOC for:
    a.	Meeting venue selection
    b.	Oversight of contracts and staff 

• The LLC will assume responsibility for the IETF budget going forward once the IAOC has finished it’s 2019 budget development process and presents the LLC Board with the 2019 IETF budget recommendation.

There is considerable work involved in sunsetting the IAOC and transitioning to the IETF LLC. The LLC Board’s priority is transitioning the key administrative functions from the IAOC as soon as possible to be ready for the first full IETF LLC Board of Directors. The first full LLC Board of Directors is expected to be seated in March 2019 at IETF 104.  
The IAOC (IETF Administrative Oversight Committee ) will continue to exist for the near term and its current members will continue to serve as they have until all the IAOC functions have been assumed by the LLC, with the exception of Andrew Sullivan which will continue to serve on the IAOC but as of September changed from being a noncom appointed IAOC member to an ex officio IAOC member when he assumed his new position as ISOC CEO.   The IAOC is expected to be sunset before IETF 103.
Work to update related IETF documents continues in the IASA2 working group.
The Interim IETF LLC Board of Directors are:
Alissa Cooper, Ted Hardie, Gonzalo Camarillo, Glenn Deen

On behalf of the interim IETF Administrative LLC Board
Glenn Deen (LLC Board Chair)