Fwd: Itojun Service Award Announcement

IETF Chair <chair@ietf.org> Sat, 11 June 2011 02:25 UTC

Return-Path: <chair@ietf.org>
X-Original-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id DB66311E8091 for <ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com>; Fri, 10 Jun 2011 19:25:14 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -106.599
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-106.599 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-2.599, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_MED=-4, USER_IN_WHITELIST=-100]
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id E9t-c33m7jPN for <ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com>; Fri, 10 Jun 2011 19:25:14 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail.amsl.com (mail.amsl.com []) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 1744D11E8074 for <ietf-announce@ietf.org>; Fri, 10 Jun 2011 19:25:14 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by c1a.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 0EB001C38531 for <ietf-announce@ietf.org>; Fri, 10 Jun 2011 19:25:14 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
Received: from c1a.amsl.com ([]) by localhost (c1a.amsl.com []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id zmmSob3SARmH for <ietf-announce@ietf.org>; Fri, 10 Jun 2011 19:25:13 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [] (pool-96-241-218-101.washdc.fios.verizon.net []) by c1a.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id AC5941C3852F for <ietf-announce@ietf.org>; Fri, 10 Jun 2011 19:25:13 -0700 (PDT)
From: IETF Chair <chair@ietf.org>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Subject: Fwd: Itojun Service Award Announcement
Date: Fri, 10 Jun 2011 22:25:12 -0400
References: <BANLkTinHsOFgk4Fsac3MQa6LfMjtrNgxcQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: IETF Announce <ietf-announce@ietf.org>
Message-Id: <EF2F0AD9-711F-45E6-BF8E-C1C0B953A9E3@ietf.org>
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Apple Message framework v1084)
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.1084)
X-BeenThere: ietf-announce@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.12
Precedence: list
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <ietf-announce.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/ietf-announce>
List-Post: <mailto:ietf-announce@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Sat, 11 Jun 2011 02:25:15 -0000

Begin forwarded message:

> From: Jun Murai <jun@wide.ad.jp>
> Date: June 10, 2011 9:43:27 PM EDT
> To: "ietf@ietf. org" <ietf@ietf.org>
> Cc: "chair@ietf. org" <chair@ietf.org>, "Lynn St. Amour" <st.amour@isoc.org>
> Subject: Itojun Service Award Announcement
> Dear IETFers,
> Please note below regarding the Itojun Service Award.
> The deadline is July 15.
> Thanks in advance,
> Jun Murai
> ===
> The Itojun Service Award is presented every year to an individual or a
> group who has made outstanding contributions in service to the IPv6
> community.   The deadline for nominations for this year's award is 15
> July 2011.  The award will be presented at the 82nd meeting of the
> IETF to be held in November 2011 in Taipei, Taiwan.
> About the Award
> The Itojun Service Award was established by the friends of Itojun and
> administered by the Internet Society (ISOC), recognises and
> commemorates the extraordinary dedication exercised by Itojun over the
> course of IPv6 development.  The award includes a presentation
> crystal, a US$3,000 honorarium, and a travel grant.
> The award is focused on pragmatic technical contributions, especially
> through development or operation, with the spirit of servicing the
> Internet.  With respect to the spirit, the selection committee seeks
> contributors to the Internet as a whole; open source developers are a
> common example of such contributors, although this is not a
> requirement for expected nominees.  While the committee primarily
> consider practical contributions such as software development or
> network operation, higher level efforts that help those direct
> contributions will also be appreciated in this regard.  The
> contribution should be substantial, but could be immature or ongoing;
> this award aims to encourage the contributor to keep their efforts,
> rather than just recognizing well established work.  Finally,
> contributions of a group of individuals will be accepted as deployment
> work is often done by a large project, not just a single outstanding
> individual.
> The award is named after Dr. Jun-ichiro "Itojun" Hagino, who passed
> away in 2007, aged just 37.  Itojun worked as a Senior Researcher at
> Internet Initiative Japan Inc. (IIJ), was a member of the board of the
> Widely Integrated Distributed Environment (WIDE) project, and from
> 1998 to 2006 served on the groundbreaking KAME project in Japan as the
> "IPv6 samurai". He was also a member of the Internet Architecture
> Board (IAB) from 2003 to 2005.
> For additional information on the award, please visit
> http://www.isoc.org/awards/itojun/
> Award Nomination Procedure
> Neither the nominee nor nominator needs to be a member of ISOC.
> Nominate via email to <itojun-award at elists.isoc.org> and include the
> following details:
> 1. Name and Email address of nominee (in case of a group nominee,
> names and Email addresses of representative persons of that group)
> 2. CV/Bio of nominee (in case of a group nominee, a summary of the
> group's achievements)
> 3. Statement of recommendation including specific acts, works,
> contributions, and other criteria that would show the nominee to
> fit the standard set by Itojun.  Please include corroborating
> references with their name, email address, and telephone
> number. Conclude with your affiliation, postal address, and
> telephone number as well as the postal address, telephone and fax
> number of the nominee.
> Thank you in advance for your support,
> Jun Murai
> Itojun Service Award Selection Committee