RFC Series Oversight Committee (RSOC) Appointments

IAB Chair <iab-chair@iab.org> Thu, 01 May 2014 19:56 UTC

Return-Path: <iab-chair@iab.org>
X-Original-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id E0F0F1A6F8C; Thu, 1 May 2014 12:56:27 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.901
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.901 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, SPF_PASS=-0.001] autolearn=ham
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id JMKrIChlolju; Thu, 1 May 2014 12:56:26 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail.amsl.com (mail.amsl.com [IPv6:2001:1900:3001:11::28]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 128BE1A0976; Thu, 1 May 2014 12:56:26 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by c8a.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id F2A601E41E0; Thu, 1 May 2014 12:56:02 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
Received: from c8a.amsl.com ([]) by localhost (c9a.amsl.com []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id ofmg1xuBVmQj; Thu, 1 May 2014 12:56:02 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [] (pool-96-241-160-129.washdc.fios.verizon.net []) by c8a.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 6DE5A1E41DE; Thu, 1 May 2014 12:56:02 -0700 (PDT)
Subject: RFC Series Oversight Committee (RSOC) Appointments
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Apple Message framework v1085)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
From: IAB Chair <iab-chair@iab.org>
In-Reply-To: <BFB28BF0-3561-455A-963F-B780C1560EB2@iab.org>
Date: Thu, 01 May 2014 15:56:22 -0400
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <B27AE0C1-37D8-46B0-B492-EB4F8590245D@iab.org>
References: <BFB28BF0-3561-455A-963F-B780C1560EB2@iab.org>
To: IETF Announce <ietf-announce@ietf.org>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.1085)
Archived-At: http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/ietf-announce/alA-SE0tAQBJ-HgQvobFohqIil4
Cc: IAB <iab@iab.org>, IETF <ietf@ietf.org>
X-BeenThere: ietf-announce@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
Reply-To: ietf@ietf.org
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <ietf-announce.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/ietf-announce/>
List-Post: <mailto:ietf-announce@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 01 May 2014 19:56:28 -0000

The IAB extends many thanks to the community members that were willing to serve on the RSOC for their ongoing support of the RFC Series and the RFC Series Editor.

After reviewing the strong list of individuals who offered to serve on the RSOC, the IAB is appointing two people to the RSOC:
	Sarah Banks
	Robert Sparks

The IAB sincerely thanks all of the people that offered to serve on the RSOC.

On behalf of the IAB,
   Russ Housley
   IAB Chair

On Mar 26, 2014, at 11:29 AM, IAB Chair wrote:

> As specified in "RFC Editor Model (Version 2)" (RFC 6635), the IAB is responsible for appointing the members of the RFC Series Oversight Committee (RSOC).  Bernard Aboba has stepped down from his role on the RSOC.  The IAB thanks him for his service.
> The IAB is now looking for a community member to appoint to the RSOC. This message is a call for nominations for that position.  If you are interested, or there is someone you know of who would make a good member, please nominate yourself or that person.
> As noted in RFC 6635, the RSOC, which currently includes two IAB members, acts with authority delegated from the IAB, and the RSOC is responsible for approving consensus policy and vision documents developed by the RFC Series Editor (RSE) in collaboration with the community.  The RSOC is also responsible for ensuring that the RFC Series is run in a transparent and accountable manner.  For decisions that affect the RFC Series Editor individually, the RSOC prepares recommendations for the IAB, such as preparing the performance reviews of the RSE.  RSOC members are expected to recognize potential conflicts of interest and behave accordingly.
> If you would like to nominate a candidate for membership in the RSOC, please send information on the candidate, including their email address, to iab-chair at iab.org and execd at iab.org.  Self-nominations are acceptable.
> The current membership of the RSOC can be seen at http://www.iab.org/activities/programs/rfc-editor-program/.
> Nominations should be received by 8 April 2014.
> The IAB will confirm individuals willingness to be considered, and publish the resulting list so that the community can provide comments before the IAB makes any decisions on RSOC membership.
> The new member will begin serving on the RSOC as soon as the IAB completes the selection process.
> For the information of potential nominees, the RSOC will be having a half-day face-to-face meeting in Toronto on 19 July 2014, the Saturday before IETF 90.
> The current focus of the RSOC is on:
> 1) Overseeing and assisting the RSE in the process of evoling the RFC format and style.
> 2) Periodic reviews of the RFSE performance.
> 3) Working with the RSE and the IETF Administrative Oversight Committee (IAOC) on the statements of work for contracts related to the RFC Production Center and RFC Publisher.
> The RSOC usually meets virtually once a month for an hour, a lunch at every IETF meeting, and a half day in-person meeting once a year (usually scheduled the weekend before an IETF meeting at the same venue (as noted above the next one will be in Toronto).  More time may be required if the applicant participates in leadership of the committee, design teams, or other related activities. RSOC members are expected to follow the rfc-interest mailing list, a usually low-volume list for internal communication, and to be familiar with discussion topics related to the RFC series on the ietf@ietf.org list.
> Thank you,
> Russ Housley
> IAB Chair