2016-2017 IETF NomCom Chair Announcement

Kathy Brown <brown@isoc.org> Wed, 06 January 2016 12:35 UTC

Return-Path: <brown@isoc.org>
X-Original-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 747AF1B2B01; Wed, 6 Jan 2016 04:35:20 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.9
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.9 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, SPF_HELO_PASS=-0.001] autolearn=unavailable
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id bRQe9o6mkuDB; Wed, 6 Jan 2016 04:35:18 -0800 (PST)
Received: from na01-bn1-obe.outbound.protection.outlook.com (mail-bn1bon0689.outbound.protection.outlook.com [IPv6:2a01:111:f400:fc10::1:689]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id B34D01B2A52; Wed, 6 Jan 2016 04:35:17 -0800 (PST)
Received: from BY2PR0601MB1557.namprd06.prod.outlook.com ( by BY2PR0601MB1557.namprd06.prod.outlook.com ( with Microsoft SMTP Server (TLS) id 15.1.361.13; Wed, 6 Jan 2016 12:34:54 +0000
Received: from BY2PR0601MB1557.namprd06.prod.outlook.com ([]) by BY2PR0601MB1557.namprd06.prod.outlook.com ([]) with mapi id 15.01.0361.006; Wed, 6 Jan 2016 12:34:54 +0000
From: Kathy Brown <brown@isoc.org>
To: "ietf-announce@ietf.org" <ietf-announce@ietf.org>
Subject: 2016-2017 IETF NomCom Chair Announcement
Thread-Topic: 2016-2017 IETF NomCom Chair Announcement
Thread-Index: AQHRSH6k9mh09whpmU6HcfbHIHLbzQ==
Date: Wed, 06 Jan 2016 12:34:53 +0000
Message-ID: <D2B27139.103499%copelin@isoc.org>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
authentication-results: spf=none (sender IP is ) smtp.mailfrom=brown@isoc.org;
x-ms-exchange-messagesentrepresentingtype: 1
x-originating-ip: []
x-microsoft-exchange-diagnostics: 1; BY2PR0601MB1557; 5:UDBvniTGu5MwXxxVISoIMzzuX5wI7glg6RrYxbVsUlxvRU3bdwNbD0zmtrJPnWjVrGmIoGx1NE10WJzBVJZSC+9734+LHNO4ms5g7/QCfYOtIrwh2xgijvhf31K2YnZgAL2aT4dbfwkwpAqshNO3Qg==; 24:uyg8Ka6PJeG8KuG9y4+KIBJL8aAipuVQBcX4K69pa3NfNiJ4SyhN+NMolBhB9XJOygABOSd/2HSbPZ1lXO05vw2+MRqNdgM5ME0fIFwOwy0=
x-microsoft-antispam: UriScan:;BCL:0;PCL:0;RULEID:;SRVR:BY2PR0601MB1557;
x-microsoft-antispam-prvs: <BY2PR0601MB155719B057BCC4106F0B5B99DEF40@BY2PR0601MB1557.namprd06.prod.outlook.com>
x-exchange-antispam-report-test: UriScan:;
x-exchange-antispam-report-cfa-test: BCL:0; PCL:0; RULEID:(601004)(2401047)(8121501046)(5005006)(520078)(3002001)(10201501046); SRVR:BY2PR0601MB1557; BCL:0; PCL:0; RULEID:; SRVR:BY2PR0601MB1557;
x-forefront-prvs: 0813C68E65
x-forefront-antispam-report: SFV:NSPM; SFS:(10009020)(189002)(199003)(43784003)(4326007)(1220700001)(54356999)(106356001)(50986999)(19625215002)(101416001)(87936001)(229853001)(11100500001)(1096002)(122556002)(106116001)(19580395003)(99286002)(86362001)(40100003)(16236675004)(10400500002)(2900100001)(15187005004)(19580405001)(77096005)(5001960100002)(66066001)(2351001)(105586002)(2501003)(102836003)(5008740100001)(189998001)(6116002)(97736004)(92566002)(5002640100001)(110136002)(81156007)(586003)(3846002)(36756003)(5004730100002)(579004)(19623405001); DIR:OUT; SFP:1101; SCL:1; SRVR:BY2PR0601MB1557; H:BY2PR0601MB1557.namprd06.prod.outlook.com; FPR:; SPF:None; PTR:InfoNoRecords; MX:1; A:1; LANG:en;
received-spf: None (protection.outlook.com: isoc.org does not designate permitted sender hosts)
spamdiagnosticoutput: 1:23
spamdiagnosticmetadata: NSPM
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="_000_D2B27139103499copelinisocorg_"
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-OriginatorOrg: isoc.org
X-MS-Exchange-CrossTenant-originalarrivaltime: 06 Jan 2016 12:34:53.9269 (UTC)
X-MS-Exchange-CrossTenant-fromentityheader: Hosted
X-MS-Exchange-CrossTenant-id: 89f84dfb-7285-4810-bc4d-8b9b5794554f
X-MS-Exchange-Transport-CrossTenantHeadersStamped: BY2PR0601MB1557
Archived-At: <http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/ietf-announce/dihLBuWS4jeeI6bShgY8npECtmo>
Cc: "wgchairs@ietf.org" <wgchairs@ietf.org>, "iab@ietf.org" <iab@ietf.org>, "iaoc@ietf.org" <iaoc@ietf.org>, "irsg@irtf.org" <irsg@irtf.org>, "ietf@iab.org" <ietf@iab.org>, "iesg@ietf.org" <iesg@ietf.org>
X-BeenThere: ietf-announce@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
Reply-To: ietf@ietf.org
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <ietf-announce.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/ietf-announce/>
List-Post: <mailto:ietf-announce@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Wed, 06 Jan 2016 12:35:20 -0000

To the IETF Community,

One of the roles of the Internet Society (ISOC) President is to appoint the IETF Nominations Committee Chair. This is done through consultation with members of the IETF community, as well as input from past IETF NomCom Chairs.

It gives me great pleasure to announce that Lucy Lynch has agreed to serve as the 2016 - 2017 IETF Nominations Committee chair.  Lucy has served as a member of the 2015 NomCom. In accepting the Chair, she said: "The IETF works because we all pitch in where we can. I'd be happy to serve in 2016".

Lucy has been a regular attendee at IETF meetings since IETF 40 in Washington, DC. She served on the University of Oregon based Multicast Team and was Chair of the first IAOC. She continues to volunteer with the NOC Team and her technical interests include identity, privacy and security, and network operations. Lucy currently works for the Network Startup Resource Center (NSRC) and also volunteers with cryptech.is. Prior to joining the NSRC Lucy spent eight years with the Internet Society leading our Trust and Identity initiatives.

The NomCom process is critical to the health and success of the IETF and it's important that it have robust support from the community.   A Call for Nominations for this committee will be sent shortly to the IETF Announcement list; and a list of IESG, IAB and IAOC/IETF Trust seats to be filled will also be published.  Please consider volunteering for the Nominations Committee as well as send candidate recommendations for the open positions to Lucy, who will share them with the committee when seated.

Thanks again to everyone for their support and a special thank you to Harald Alvestrand for his dedication and hard work over the past year and to Lucy for agreeing to take on this important responsibility. Lucy can be reached at llynch@civil-tongue.net<mailto:llynch@civil-tongue.net>.

Kathryn C Brown
President & CEO
Internet Society