Call for nominations for the IAOC appointment by the IESG

IETF Chair <> Mon, 09 December 2013 21:45 UTC

Return-Path: <>
Received: from localhost ( []) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id 38CD41AE0EC for <>; Mon, 9 Dec 2013 13:45:09 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: 0.799
X-Spam-Status: No, score=0.799 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_50=0.8, SPF_PASS=-0.001] autolearn=ham
Received: from ([]) by localhost ( []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id yKv9xWxvELtA for <>; Mon, 9 Dec 2013 13:45:07 -0800 (PST)
Received: from ( [IPv6:2001:1890:126c::1:15]) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id 038F51AE0D4 for <>; Mon, 9 Dec 2013 13:45:07 -0800 (PST)
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id 84FBAA61D8 for <>; Mon, 9 Dec 2013 13:43:49 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at
Received: from ([]) by localhost ( []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id zt-BIABmB-7j for <>; Mon, 9 Dec 2013 13:43:49 -0800 (PST)
Received: from [] (unknown []) by (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id E41859FB62 for <>; Mon, 9 Dec 2013 13:43:48 -0800 (PST)
From: IETF Chair <>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Subject: Call for nominations for the IAOC appointment by the IESG
Date: Mon, 09 Dec 2013 23:44:58 +0200
Message-Id: <>
To: "" <>
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 6.6 \(1510\))
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.1510)
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
Reply-To:, The IESG <>
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <>
List-Unsubscribe: <>, <>
List-Archive: <>
List-Post: <>
List-Help: <>
List-Subscribe: <>, <>
X-List-Received-Date: Mon, 09 Dec 2013 21:45:09 -0000

Ole Jacobsen is the IAOC member that was appointed by the IESG, and his two-year term is up in March.  The IESG is starting the process to fill this seat in March 2014, with the term ending in March 2016.

The IESG is responsible for filling one seat every other year.  BCP 101 says:

The IAOC shall consist of eight voting members who shall be selected as follows:

  o Two members appointed by the IETF Nominations Committee (NomCom);

  o One member appointed by the IESG;

  o One member appointed by the IAB;

  o One member appointed by the ISOC Board of Trustees;

  o The IETF Chair (ex officio);

  o The IAB Chair (ex officio);

  o The ISOC President/CEO (ex officio).

Current IAOC members can be found at


Candidates for the IAOC position should have a demonstrable involvement in the IETF, knowledge of contracts and financial procedures, awareness of the administrative support needs of the IAB, the IESG, and the IETF standards process.  The candidate is also expected to understand the respective roles and responsibilities of the IETF and ISOC in IASA, and be able to articulate these roles within the IETF community.

The candidate must be able to exercise all the duties of an IAOC member, including fiduciary responsibilities, setting of policies, oversight of the administrative operations of the IETF, representing the interests of the IETF, and participating in IAOC meetings and activities.

The candidate must be able to serve as a Trustee for the IETF Trust.

Although the IESG selects this member of the IAOC, the selected member does not directly represent the IESG.  The IESG-selected member is accountable directly to the IETF community.


The IESG is making a public call for nominations.  Self-nominations are permitted.  All IETF participants, including working group chairs, IETF NomCom members, IAB members, and IESG members are eligible for nomination.  Of course, IESG members who accept nomination will recuse themselves from selection discussions.  Please send nominations to iesg at  Please include the following with each nomination:

  o  Name

  o  Contact information

  o  Candidate background and qualifications


The IESG will publish the list of nominated persons prior to making a decision, allowing time for the community to provide any relevant comments to the IESG.

The IESG will review the nomination material, any comments provided by the community, and make a selection.


The following procedures will be used in managing candidates' personal information:

  o  The list of candidate names will be published at the close of the nominations period.  A candidate that refuses the nomination will not be included on the list.

  o  Except as noted above, all information provided to the IESG during this process will be kept as confidential to the IESG.


The two-week nominations period will open on 9 December 2013, and close on 24 December 2013.

The list of candidates will be posted shortly after the nominations close, and the community will have two weeks (after the holiday period) to provide comments on the candidates to the IESG.

The IESG will make a selection on the IESG telechat following the comment period.

On behalf of the IESG,
Jari Arkko
IESG Chair