Re: [IRTF-Announce] IRTF Applied Networking Research Prize winners for 2021

Colin Perkins <> Fri, 05 February 2021 12:01 UTC

Return-Path: <>
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id 65CE53A0D01; Fri, 5 Feb 2021 04:01:24 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.839
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.839 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_EF=-0.1, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, HTML_OBFUSCATE_05_10=0.26, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key)
Received: from ([]) by localhost ( []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id 8AD88YGMa4BM; Fri, 5 Feb 2021 04:01:21 -0800 (PST)
Received: from ( [IPv6:2a00:1098:0:82:1000:0:2:1]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 453CB3A0D00; Fri, 5 Feb 2021 04:01:21 -0800 (PST)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; q=dns/txt; c=relaxed/relaxed;; s=mythic-beasts-k1; h=To:Date:Subject:From; bh=SQooQM6p17jTdpKjj0W98JMsuDRhoHvYwL/vdIo+cv8=; b=NDz1e/g69QT44/mClwf62rtTCT l4vUGHx1Rjl1Qxl3ZfYPPKxyIyZSYiTLo8lndG0Xq57lExTYX4yLROaofzozDV0t/yZ7V/HhDH07u dC23wWPCyxJWqmrWlrL4bIJtVj6Z85AzbwLgqTTEPquou0XOeAnGWBpYP+twxNmlNR3nyrOnAjvQa 2cxjjFy4j/nO74ZWzuN4lu+jkgqvhLgolrxOssdizjfJCibYZhS0XeJYI+0MPTanYuWePRgwdu0TT 1xVGVndsVGwlgzZRi497B7EijBFpy1ba8YdXKrBqZKYrwc9ozXbxsAIIeOWweihn+ONxbncxfoT4q LLKUtkDQ==;
Received: from [] (port=41220 helo=[]) by with esmtpsa (TLS1.2:ECDHE_RSA_AES_256_GCM_SHA384:256) (Exim 4.92.3) (envelope-from <>) id 1l7znX-000352-Dp; Fri, 05 Feb 2021 12:01:19 +0000
From: Colin Perkins <>
Message-Id: <>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="Apple-Mail=_5F1659CC-EE7A-4664-A994-B063C5B4022F"
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.17\))
Subject: Re: [IRTF-Announce] IRTF Applied Networking Research Prize winners for 2021
Date: Fri, 5 Feb 2021 12:01:10 +0000
In-Reply-To: <>
Cc: IETF Mailing List <>
References: <>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.17)
X-BlackCat-Spam-Score: 4
Archived-At: <>
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: IETF-Discussion <>
List-Unsubscribe: <>, <>
List-Archive: <>
List-Post: <>
List-Help: <>
List-Subscribe: <>, <>
X-List-Received-Date: Fri, 05 Feb 2021 12:01:24 -0000

The Applied Networking Research Prize award talks for IETF 110 will be given by Audrey Randall <> ("Trufflehunter: Cache Snooping Rare Domains at Large Public DNS Resolvers <>") and Francis Y. Yan <> ("Learning in situ: a randomized experiment in video streaming <>”).

Look out for these talks in the IRTF Open Meeting – and find more information about the ANRP at <>


> On 10 Jan 2021, at 14:26, Colin Perkins <> wrote:
> I’m pleased to announce that the Applied Networking Research Prize <> (ANRP) winners for 2021 are as follows:
> Thomas Wirtgen (UC Louvain) for his work on the extensibility of BGP implementations, and other routing protocols, in "xBGP: When You Can't Wait for the IETF and Vendors <>” (ACM HotNets 2020)
> Rüdiger Birkner (ETH Zürich) for his work on network specification and verification in "Config2spec: Mining Network Specifications from Network Configurations <>” (USENIX NSDI 2020)
> Francis Y. Yan (Stanford) for his work on applying machine learning to video bit-rate adaptation in "Learning in situ: a randomized experiment in video streaming <>” (USENIX NSDI 2020)
> Aqsa Kashaf (CMU) for her work studying the effects of third-party service dependencies in the Internet in "Analyzing Third Party Service Dependencies in Modern Web Services: Have We Learned from the Mirai-Dyn Incident? <>” (ACM IMC 2020)
> Audrey Randall (UCSD) for her work on DNS caching and privacy in "Trufflehunter: Cache Snooping Rare Domains at Large Public DNS Resolvers <>” (ACM IMC 2020)
> Kevin Bock (UMD) for his work on Internet censorship in "Come as You Are: Helping Unmodified Clients Bypass Censorship with Server-side Evasion <>” (ACM SIGCOMM 2020)
> In addition, we have one remaining award from 2020 where the awardee will give their talk during 2021:
> Sadjad Fouladi (Stanford) for his work on low-latency video streaming in "Salsify: low-latency network video through tighter integration between a video codec and a transport protocol <>” (USENIX NSDI 2018)
> Congratulations to all the winners! 
> Award talks will be given during the IRTF Open Meetings in 2021.
> Colin Perkins
> IRTF Chair