IRTF ANRP award talks for IETF 109

Colin Perkins <> Sun, 15 November 2020 14:02 UTC

Return-Path: <>
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id F33793A12AA; Sun, 15 Nov 2020 06:02:46 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.099
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.099 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_EF=-0.1, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key)
Received: from ([]) by localhost ( []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id 6wOW36g83mFy; Sun, 15 Nov 2020 06:02:45 -0800 (PST)
Received: from ( [IPv6:2a00:1098:0:82:1000:0:2:1]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 0EA423A12A9; Sun, 15 Nov 2020 06:02:45 -0800 (PST)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; q=dns/txt; c=relaxed/relaxed;; s=mythic-beasts-k1; h=To:Date:Subject:From; bh=nuFqCp7fGLGFUkzK+u25eVW7/G2/H1O4a9iev7EBib8=; b=XzyGkW9XBhSh5Of2pbINWzbmSE Owz+WPSioz8n3Mvvk8/Dl5vKGTRx0e9diUCg5XN7sTJ9OV8ozA9dNGc0lJpPHwzT/gEwGVTLgQLzK p4j7VGEcR9ESo6YrjO0uOD9XoBHWpEN3vKCocEbg9uk4n1xmsnPMIkK+Ox4ql2sIFJj0pix2naAGe s1Cy6FRy4qNfJEwxnwPiuLfXeo8s4Clfb7pPeWP9JKRFlhl7EknZTnm0zwZ85P9JCy29t5ueyVza/ PWGl60yKW89HP/2EG0YNp9VWsxd/+9LLvnVJJU4OCvxVRkX/Khmu3uBMRieT0ptFnY8pLCmcjb7wM FQ7tWTTQ==;
Received: from [] (port=35418 helo=[]) by with esmtpsa (TLS1.2:ECDHE_RSA_AES_256_GCM_SHA384:256) (Exim 4.92.3) (envelope-from <>) id 1keIc3-0004Cc-AH; Sun, 15 Nov 2020 14:02:43 +0000
From: Colin Perkins <>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="Apple-Mail=_708206A6-D462-409F-AB08-237D48A81B95"
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.17\))
Subject: IRTF ANRP award talks for IETF 109
Message-Id: <>
Date: Sun, 15 Nov 2020 14:02:33 +0000
To:, IETF Mailing List <>,
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.17)
X-BlackCat-Spam-Score: 4
Archived-At: <>
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: IETF-Discussion <>
List-Unsubscribe: <>, <>
List-Archive: <>
List-Post: <>
List-Help: <>
List-Subscribe: <>, <>
X-List-Received-Date: Sun, 15 Nov 2020 14:02:47 -0000

I’m pleased to announce that the Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) award winners for IETF 109 are as follows:

Debopam Bhattacherjee for his work on the design of network topologies for low-earth orbit satellite constellations: 

Debopam Bhattacherjee and Ankit Singla, “Network topology design at 27,000 km/hour”, Proceedings of ACM CoNEXT, Orlando, FL, USA, December 2019. <>  

Georgia Fragkouli for her work on Internet transparency: 

Georgia Fragkouli, Katerina Argyraki, and Bryan Ford, “MorphIT: Morphing Packet Reports for Internet Transparency”, Proceedings on Privacy Enhancing Technologies, 2019. <> 

Ranysha Ware for her work on congestion control fairness: 

Ranysha Ware, Matthew K. Mukerjee, Srinivasan Seshan, and Justine Sherry, “Beyond Jain’s Fairness Index: Setting the Bar For The Deployment of Congestion Control Algorithms”, Proceedings of ACM HotNets, Princeton, NJ, USA, November 2019. <>

Congratulations to all! The award talks will be given as part of the IRTF Open Meeting during IETF 109, to be held online on Friday 20 November 2020 at 09:00 GMT.

More information about the ANRP can be found at <>. The ANRP is supported by the Internet Society and the IRTF, and sponsored by Comcast and NBC Universal. Nominations for ANRP awards in 2021 are being accepted under 22 November 2020.

Colin Perkins
IRTF Chair