IRTF Applied Networking Research Prize winners for 2021

Colin Perkins <> Sun, 10 January 2021 14:26 UTC

Return-Path: <>
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id EDE913A0EE1; Sun, 10 Jan 2021 06:26:13 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.839
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.839 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_EF=-0.1, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, HTML_OBFUSCATE_05_10=0.26, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key)
Received: from ([]) by localhost ( []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id lIF59j4Kmeiz; Sun, 10 Jan 2021 06:26:11 -0800 (PST)
Received: from ( [IPv6:2a00:1098:0:86:1000:0:2:1]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by (Postfix) with ESMTPS id E25343A0EDB; Sun, 10 Jan 2021 06:26:10 -0800 (PST)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; q=dns/txt; c=relaxed/relaxed;; s=mythic-beasts-k1; h=To:Date:Subject:From; bh=osAkw0iWWPkPzRcL9y39PkEoeMIGIxVMkC0tc0jEm5Q=; b=q/nbZAW0Xq6CCgA/BlGCKCcEW0 QHNt0LFv2nunRI1ujP4SrFDdgZovPe8xQ9hj7LKjzr76xysWpn61YiobkkdAJuQeHDmplVSZirEWw MdzI17tIbtMJn40/Y01LV1IAECLW2OryfIZ4WxWUhTDZfVlafFDI1CjS/5OT334f1K3Y/w8/z3jtm 9j2FQPusy+nXNp3UXOJKIMo/YYdkKy+CPXNBiyUh83N/0O8Y7R6l8tjjqB0WgIf++2a9Ar5EZRl78 3qQllG3ZtHPGVesig7LiFwcKZGWOSP+CC+SmUHx2i1AREGLSFP5Yij+7dtA9AzdKMmDcTnUeLf9l3 EQKI9CYQ==;
Received: from [] (port=35296 helo=[]) by with esmtpsa (TLS1.2:ECDHE_RSA_AES_256_GCM_SHA384:256) (Exim 4.92.3) (envelope-from <>) id 1kybfU-0003oD-Ri; Sun, 10 Jan 2021 14:26:09 +0000
From: Colin Perkins <>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="Apple-Mail=_5F97EBB3-5409-42A4-9A80-C1D1DF8EDEBA"
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.17\))
Subject: IRTF Applied Networking Research Prize winners for 2021
Date: Sun, 10 Jan 2021 14:26:05 +0000
Message-Id: <>
Cc: IETF Mailing List <>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.17)
X-BlackCat-Spam-Score: 4
Archived-At: <>
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: IETF-Discussion <>
List-Unsubscribe: <>, <>
List-Archive: <>
List-Post: <>
List-Help: <>
List-Subscribe: <>, <>
X-List-Received-Date: Sun, 10 Jan 2021 14:26:14 -0000

I’m pleased to announce that the Applied Networking Research Prize <> (ANRP) winners for 2021 are as follows:

Thomas Wirtgen (UC Louvain) for his work on the extensibility of BGP implementations, and other routing protocols, in "xBGP: When You Can't Wait for the IETF and Vendors <>” (ACM HotNets 2020)
Rüdiger Birkner (ETH Zürich) for his work on network specification and verification in "Config2spec: Mining Network Specifications from Network Configurations <>” (USENIX NSDI 2020)
Francis Y. Yan (Stanford) for his work on applying machine learning to video bit-rate adaptation in "Learning in situ: a randomized experiment in video streaming <>” (USENIX NSDI 2020)
Aqsa Kashaf (CMU) for her work studying the effects of third-party service dependencies in the Internet in "Analyzing Third Party Service Dependencies in Modern Web Services: Have We Learned from the Mirai-Dyn Incident? <>” (ACM IMC 2020)
Audrey Randall (UCSD) for her work on DNS caching and privacy in "Trufflehunter: Cache Snooping Rare Domains at Large Public DNS Resolvers <>” (ACM IMC 2020)
Kevin Bock (UMD) for his work on Internet censorship in "Come as You Are: Helping Unmodified Clients Bypass Censorship with Server-side Evasion <>” (ACM SIGCOMM 2020)

In addition, we have one remaining award from 2020 where the awardee will give their talk during 2021:

Sadjad Fouladi (Stanford) for his work on low-latency video streaming in "Salsify: low-latency network video through tighter integration between a video codec and a transport protocol <>” (USENIX NSDI 2018)

Congratulations to all the winners! 

Award talks will be given during the IRTF Open Meetings in 2021.

Colin Perkins
IRTF Chair