[IRTF-Announce] Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) awards for IETF 108

Colin Perkins <csp@csperkins.org> Mon, 15 June 2020 21:16 UTC

Return-Path: <csp@csperkins.org>
X-Original-To: irtf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: irtf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 894463A1163; Mon, 15 Jun 2020 14:16:50 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.099
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.099 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_EF=-0.1, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key) header.d=csperkins.org
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id iyyWR9aLCNG6; Mon, 15 Jun 2020 14:16:48 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from balrog.mythic-beasts.com (balrog.mythic-beasts.com [IPv6:2a00:1098:0:82:1000:0:2:1]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 43F0B3A1162; Mon, 15 Jun 2020 14:16:48 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; q=dns/txt; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=csperkins.org; s=mythic-beasts-k1; h=To:Date:Subject:From; bh=+wg6jGEe2x6zO3BC9j6N8cfBa1JTpdQb0FMjxvE+csI=; b=Pv4wCrkioXGEscsFqN2iOSNimr fIJlrQr5x036ymR9FbhcmiQpRMV25X8mQxlixqn/vnzV3yAgJTWp+boSadfU+ASSZ0pRY3jr6vQ2i Du/njPTe2GKFo+UAuzPrf91OsvIOARIOcMYENE/meE+Hopz20vE+/0DA2Q7ZjRXtPE0G4shELYdfU NDh3low57M/OcnfG6nM1KTTvMzkObIsFLRq2kKE3M98U8Qbp5ZDKZzn0r40YMQe4gyRPIJqQjHf5n jF6pR6fvu77s/L9CWqY10GBOBg0KCvFAAdJNEhZzCxYdEWbQ1N2coopVmg1txTOll+cyc5TD1pkN6 o8SvnBEQ==;
Received: from [] (port=41469 helo=[]) by balrog.mythic-beasts.com with esmtpsa (TLS1.2:ECDHE_RSA_AES_256_GCM_SHA384:256) (Exim 4.92.3) (envelope-from <csp@csperkins.org>) id 1jkwTC-00038l-Bg; Mon, 15 Jun 2020 22:16:46 +0100
From: Colin Perkins <csp@csperkins.org>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="Apple-Mail=_B2D592DE-47F9-4AF2-B775-69689C28A4BC"
Reply-To: irtf-discuss@irtf.org
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.14\))
Date: Mon, 15 Jun 2020 22:16:37 +0100
Message-Id: <95B66C4D-EC79-45E1-8169-CCADE1B8B5A0@csperkins.org>
Cc: IETF Mailing List <ietf@ietf.org>, 108attendees@ietf.org
To: irtf-announce@irtf.org
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.14)
X-BlackCat-Spam-Score: 14
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/irtf-announce/qIYUC8NoV0bnD_T8evSauVhml7M>
Subject: [IRTF-Announce] Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) awards for IETF 108
X-BeenThere: irtf-announce@irtf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: IRTF-Announce <irtf-announce.irtf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.irtf.org/mailman/options/irtf-announce>, <mailto:irtf-announce-request@irtf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/irtf-announce/>
List-Post: <mailto:irtf-announce@irtf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:irtf-announce-request@irtf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.irtf.org/mailman/listinfo/irtf-announce>, <mailto:irtf-announce-request@irtf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Mon, 15 Jun 2020 21:16:51 -0000

I’m pleased to announce that the Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) awardees for IETF 108 are as follows:

Shehar Bano for her work to develop a taxonomy of Internet host liveness:
Shehar Bano, Philipp Richter, Mobin Javed, Srikanth Sundaresan, Zakir Durumeric, Steven J. Murdoch, Richard Mortier, and Vern Paxson, "Scanning the Internet for Liveness", ACM Computer Communication Review, April 2018. https://doi.org/10.1145/3213232.3213234 <https://doi.org/10.1145/3213232.3213234>
Chaoyi Lu for his work on measuring DNS-over-encryption:
Chaoyi Lu, Baojun Liu, Zhou Li, Shuang Hao, Haixin Duan, Mingming Zhang, Chunying Leng, Ying Liu, Zaifeng Zhang and Jian-ping Wu, "An End-to-End, Large-Scale Measurement of DNS-over-Encryption: How Far Have We Come?”, Proceedings of the ACM Internet Measurement Conference, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, October 2019. https://doi.org/10.1145/3355369.3355580 <https://doi.org/10.1145/3355369.3355580>  

Ingmar Poese for his work on traffic engineering:
Enric Pujol, Ingmar Poese, Johannes Zerwas, Georgios Smaragdakis, and Anja Feldmann, "Steering Hyper-Giants' Traffic at Scale”, Proceedings of ACM CoNEXT 2019, Orlando, FL, USA, December 2019. https://doi.org/10.1145/3359989.3365430 <https://doi.org/10.1145/3359989.3365430>

Congratulations to all! The award talks will be given as part of the IRTF Open Meeting during IETF 108, to be held online in the week of 27-31 July 2020.

The ANRP awardees for 2020 also include Debopam Bhattacherjee, Georgia Fragkouli, and Ranysha Ware, who will receive their awards during the IETF 109 meeting in November.

More information about the ANRP can be found at https://irtf.org/anrp/ <https://irtf.org/anrp/>. The ANRP is supported by the Internet Society and the IRTF, and sponsored by Comcast and NBC Universal.

Colin Perkins
IRTF Chair

Colin Perkins