Use of Channel application context

Andy Trayler <andy.trayler@sse.ie> Tue, 31 January 1995 08:33 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa22463; 31 Jan 95 3:33 EST
Received: from CNRI.Reston.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa22459; 31 Jan 95 3:33 EST
Received: from mercury91.udev.cdc.com by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa29821; 31 Jan 95 3:33 EST
Received: by mercury.udev.cdc.com; Tue, 31 Jan 95 02:33:40 -0600
X-From: andy.trayler@sse.ie Tue Jan 31 02:33 CST 1995
Received: from zeus.cdc.com by mercury.udev.cdc.com; Tue, 31 Jan 95 02:33:37 -0600
Received: from nixdub.sse.ie by zeus.cdc.com; Tue, 31 Jan 95 02:33:33 -0600
Received: from localhost (trayler@localhost) by nixdub.sse.ie (8.6.4/8.6.4) id IAA22369; Tue, 31 Jan 1995 08:33:06 GMT
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: Andy Trayler <andy.trayler@sse.ie>
Message-Id: <199501310833.IAA22369@nixdub.sse.ie>
Subject: Use of Channel application context
To: ic-tech@isode.com, mhs-ds@mercury.udev.cdc.com
Date: Tue, 31 Jan 1995 08:33:04 +0000 (Wet)
X-Mailer: ELM [version 2.4 PL21]
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Length: 740

I was wondering could anyone answer the following question:

Directory based routing makes use of the application context
associated with a target/source MTA to identify the channel over which 
message transfer is to occur. 

Currently, (within the isode code) this is implemented as a simple linear
search through (ch_all) the list of available channels until a suitable
channel is found. The first occurence of a matching channel will be used.

If two channels have the same application context (e.g. an X40088 and XMT
channel) is it possible within the directory to specify a preference for
which channel should be selected?

Andy Trayler
SSE
Internet: andy.trayler@sse.ie
X.400   : g=andy;s=trayler;o=sse;prmd=sse;admd=eirmail400;c=ie