Re: How to use an IP-header bit for Path MTU discovery.

Philippe Prindeville <philipp@Gipsi.Gipsi.Fr> Tue, 20 February 1990 10:09 UTC

Received: from decwrl.dec.com by acetes.pa.dec.com (5.54.5/4.7.34) id AA19002; Tue, 20 Feb 90 02:09:00 PST
Received: by decwrl.dec.com; id AA24993; Tue, 20 Feb 90 02:08:50 -0800
Received: from [192.33.166.11] by inria.inria.fr (5.61+/89.0.8) via Fnet-EUnet id AA12695; Tue, 20 Feb 90 11:08:03 +0100 (MET)
Received: by gipsi.Gipsi.Fr (4.12/4.8) id AA24968; Tue, 20 Feb 90 11:08:52 -0100 (MET)
Date: Tue, 20 Feb 90 11:08:52 -0100
From: Philippe Prindeville <philipp@Gipsi.Gipsi.Fr>
Message-Id: <9002201008.AA24968@gipsi.Gipsi.Fr>
X-Phone: +33 1 30 60 75 25 / +33 1 47 34 42 74
To: jrd@ALLSPICE.LCS.MIT.EDU
Subject: Re: How to use an IP-header bit for Path MTU discovery.
Cc: MTU Discovery <mtudwg>

One problem with turning off the RF bit in the header (I refuse
to delete an option from a packet) is that frag-0 may be
further fragmented along the way, so the most interesting
report is the final one (ie. the one with the smallest fragment
size).  Simple fix:  leave it on all the way.

-Philip