Re: How to use an IP-header bit for Path MTU discovery.

Philippe Prindeville <philipp@Gipsi.Gipsi.Fr> Tue, 20 February 1990 10:24 UTC

Received: from decwrl.dec.com by acetes.pa.dec.com (5.54.5/4.7.34) id AA19040; Tue, 20 Feb 90 02:24:52 PST
Received: by decwrl.dec.com; id AA26927; Tue, 20 Feb 90 02:24:47 -0800
Received: from [192.33.166.11] by inria.inria.fr (5.61+/89.0.8) via Fnet-EUnet id AA14765; Tue, 20 Feb 90 11:24:06 +0100 (MET)
Received: by gipsi.Gipsi.Fr (4.12/4.8) id AA25053; Tue, 20 Feb 90 11:25:01 -0100 (MET)
Date: Tue, 20 Feb 90 11:25:01 -0100
From: Philippe Prindeville <philipp@Gipsi.Gipsi.Fr>
Message-Id: <9002201025.AA25053@gipsi.Gipsi.Fr>
X-Phone: +33 1 30 60 75 25 / +33 1 47 34 42 74
To: jrd@ALLSPICE.LCS.MIT.EDU
Subject: Re: How to use an IP-header bit for Path MTU discovery.
Cc: MTU Discovery <mtudwg>

One other advantage to leaving the RF bit on in this scheme is
you can benefit from it completely as long as the gateway on
the *near* side of the lowest MTU link implements it (and the
end systems, of course).  This works much better than the next-
hop address on the IP option of Fox et al.

-Philip