Someone' mailer did something wierd.....

jnc@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU (Noel Chiappa) Mon, 05 February 1990 20:05 UTC

Received: from decwrl.dec.com by acetes.pa.dec.com (5.54.5/4.7.34) id AA03326; Mon, 5 Feb 90 12:05:00 PST
Received: by decwrl.dec.com; id AA15796; Mon, 5 Feb 90 12:04:56 -0800
Received: by PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU id AA26179; Mon, 5 Feb 90 15:04:49 EST
Date: Mon, 5 Feb 90 15:04:49 EST
From: jnc@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU (Noel Chiappa)
Message-Id: <9002052004.AA26179@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU>
To: mtudwg
Subject: Someone' mailer did something wierd.....

From: MAILER-DAEMON@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU (Mail Delivery Subsystem)
Subject: Returned mail: Deferred: Host Name Lookup Failure
Message-Id: <9002012038.AA13329@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU>
To: jnc@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU
Status: R

   ----- Transcript of session follows -----
550 mtudwg@ptt.lcs.mit.edu... User unknown

   ----- Unsent message follows -----
Date: Thu, 1 Feb 90 15:38:09 EST
From: jnc@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU (Noel Chiappa)
Message-Id: <9002012038.AA13326@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU>
To: mogul@decwrl.dec.com
Subject: Re: "Fragmentation considered harmful"
Cc: jnc@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU, mtudwg@PTT.LCS.MIT.EDU

	Well, I'm not sure how applicable this will be in the medium term,
since we are starting to see routing protocols that make decisions based on
TOS, and routers are marking interfaces with security levels. So, if you say
TOS '001', there is an increasing likelihood that *all* your links will have
TOS '001'; if you have TS traffic, it will only go over TS links. The probe
wouldn't return you much useful information in that case!
	On the other hand, maybe it will be useful in the short term; I just
don't have a good feel for how useful. I'd only like to add features (i.e.
complexity) to the architecture if there is a demonstrated need, and I don't
recall any agitation for it. Is there need and use for this?
	Also, as Jeff points out, let's not divert effort from the MTU stuff
at hand. We have to get this out!

	Noel