Re: What's your favorite MTU?

Drew Daniel Perkins <ddp+@andrew.cmu.edu> Fri, 13 April 1990 19:13 UTC

Received: from decwrl.dec.com by acetes.pa.dec.com (5.54.5/4.7.34) id AA07453; Fri, 13 Apr 90 12:13:17 PDT
Received: by decwrl.dec.com; id AA25271; Fri, 13 Apr 90 12:12:55 -0700
Received: by po5.andrew.cmu.edu (5.54/3.15) id <AA05933> for mtudwg@decwrl.dec.com; Fri, 13 Apr 90 15:12:08 EDT
Received: via switchmail; Fri, 13 Apr 90 15:11:47 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from lancaster.andrew.cmu.edu via qmail ID </afs/andrew.cmu.edu/service/mailqs/q001/QF.ca9WA:m00UoJ40MU9K>; Fri, 13 Apr 90 15:05:48 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from lancaster.andrew.cmu.edu via qmail ID </afs/andrew.cmu.edu/usr15/ddp/.Outgoing/QF.ka9W=6200UoJQ1Q2Zb>; Fri, 13 Apr 90 15:04:38 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from Messages.7.14.N.CUILIB.3.45.SNAP.NOT.LINKED.lancaster.andrew.cmu.edu.rt.r3 via MS.5.6.lancaster.andrew.cmu.edu.rt_r3; Fri, 13 Apr 90 15:04:31 -0400 (EDT)
Message-Id: <oa9W_zm00UoJ41Q2NC@andrew.cmu.edu>
Date: Fri, 13 Apr 90 15:04:31 -0400 (EDT)
From: Drew Daniel Perkins <ddp+@andrew.cmu.edu>
To: mtudwg
Subject: Re: What's your favorite MTU?
In-Reply-To: <9004101658.AA27286@opal.acc.com>
References: <9004101658.AA27286@opal.acc.com>

Excerpts from mail: 10-Apr-90 Re: What's your favorite MTU? Art
Berggreen@opal.acc.c (2694)

> I'm a bit concerned about building into a protocol the MTUs that happen
> to be used on today's network technologies.


If this worries you, you should check out the IBM token ring source
routing protocol which does indeed have codes for each MTU.  I think it
could be argued, however, thatJeff's scheme does NOT build the MTUs into
the PROTOCOL, only into a heuristic in the implementation.

Drew