Re: [nbs] Preparing for a BoF about name-based sockets.

Javier Ubillos <jav@sics.se> Fri, 17 September 2010 14:10 UTC

Return-Path: <jav@sics.se>
X-Original-To: nbs@core3.amsl.com
Delivered-To: nbs@core3.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by core3.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id B41583A6A1E for <nbs@core3.amsl.com>; Fri, 17 Sep 2010 07:10:55 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.249
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.249 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-2.599, HELO_EQ_SE=0.35]
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([64.170.98.32]) by localhost (core3.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id ytZD--I3oC+U for <nbs@core3.amsl.com>; Fri, 17 Sep 2010 07:10:54 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from letter.sics.se (letter.sics.se [193.10.64.6]) by core3.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id A19AE3A6A50 for <nbs@ietf.org>; Fri, 17 Sep 2010 07:10:53 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [193.10.66.36] (bit.sics.se [193.10.66.36]) (Authenticated sender: jav@sics.se) by letter.sics.se (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id E6C76402EE; Fri, 17 Sep 2010 16:11:15 +0200 (CEST)
From: Javier Ubillos <jav@sics.se>
To: Dave Thaler <dthaler@microsoft.com>
In-Reply-To: <9B57C850BB53634CACEC56EF4853FF65342C3ECA@TK5EX14MBXW604.wingroup.windeploy.ntdev.microsoft.com>
References: <1284491822.2019.18.camel@bit> <4C902878.5080507@gmail.com> <9B57C850BB53634CACEC56EF4853FF65342C3ECA@TK5EX14MBXW604.wingroup.windeploy.ntdev.microsoft.com>
Content-Type: multipart/signed; micalg="pgp-sha1"; protocol="application/pgp-signature"; boundary="=-d1Tz5CDSEtc6U1/HxaK9"
Date: Fri, 17 Sep 2010 16:11:15 +0200
Message-ID: <1284732675.2204.23.camel@bit>
Mime-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: Evolution 2.28.3
Cc: Stuart Cheshire <cheshire@apple.com>, Olaf Kolkmann <olaf@nlnetlabs.nl>, Mingwei Xu <xmw@csnet1.cs.tsinghua.edu.cn>, =?ISO-8859-1?Q?Bj=F6rn_Gr=F6nvall?= <bg@sics.se>, Leslie Daigle <leslie@thinkingcat.com>, Jun Bi <junbi@cernet.edu.cn>, Patrik =?ISO-8859-1?Q?F=E4ltstr=F6m?= <patrik@frobbit.se>, Lixia Zhang <lixia@cs.ucla.edu>, Name-Based Sockets List <nbs@ietf.org>, Ralph Droms <rdroms@cisco.com>, Ran Atkinson <ran.atkinson@gmail.com>, Tony Li <tony.li@tony.li>, Jari Arkko <jari.arkko@piuha.net>, Bengt Ahlgren <bengta@sics.se>, Pete Resnick <presnick@qualcomm.com>, Yong Cui <cuiyong@tsinghua.edu.cn>, Brian E Carpenter <brian.e.carpenter@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [nbs] Preparing for a BoF about name-based sockets.
X-BeenThere: nbs@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.9
Precedence: list
List-Id: Name based sockets discussion list <nbs.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/nbs>, <mailto:nbs-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/nbs>
List-Post: <mailto:nbs@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:nbs-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/nbs>, <mailto:nbs-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Fri, 17 Sep 2010 14:10:56 -0000

On Wed, 2010-09-15 at 02:07 +0000, Dave Thaler wrote:
<snip>
> I think splitting the draft is a good thing, and I have feedback on at least the
> API portion.  Specifically, the API needs to use service names, not integer
> port numbers.   getaddrinfo() already does so, and section 7.2 of
> draft-ietf-tsvwg-iana-ports-06 will only make this more important.
> 
> Don't make the mistake of using integer port numbers in an API that
> claims to be "name-based".

The draft is now split into two.
draft-ubillos-name-based-sockets-03
draft-xu-name-shim6-00

The part about port numbers has been updated.

// Javier