Re: Use of dnQualifier must be settled

Ella Paton Bassett <egardner@mitre.org> Tue, 16 November 1999 15:37 UTC

Received: from ns.secondary.com (ns.secondary.com [208.184.76.39]) by ietf.org (8.9.1a/8.9.1a) with ESMTP id KAA27693 for <pkix-archive@odin.ietf.org>; Tue, 16 Nov 1999 10:37:26 -0500 (EST)
Received: from localhost by ns.secondary.com (8.9.3/8.9.3) with SMTP id HAA27826; Tue, 16 Nov 1999 07:33:34 -0800 (PST)
Received: by mail.imc.org (bulk_mailer v1.12); Tue, 16 Nov 1999 07:33:32 -0800
Received: from smtpproxy1.mitre.org (mbunix.mitre.org [129.83.20.100]) by ns.secondary.com (8.9.3/8.9.3) with ESMTP id HAA27800 for <ietf-pkix@imc.org>; Tue, 16 Nov 1999 07:33:32 -0800 (PST)
Received: from avsrv1.mitre.org (avsrv1.mitre.org [129.83.20.58]) by smtpproxy1.mitre.org (8.9.3/8.9.3) with ESMTP id KAA07026; Tue, 16 Nov 1999 10:33:17 -0500 (EST)
Received: from MAILHUB1 (mailhub1.mitre.org [129.83.20.31]) by smtpsrv1.mitre.org (8.9.3/8.9.3) with ESMTP id KAA19741; Tue, 16 Nov 1999 10:31:08 -0500 (EST)
Received: from mm60206-lptp.mitre.org (128.29.105.60) by mailhub1.mitre.org with SMTP id 2052025; Tue, 16 Nov 1999 10:33:05 EST
Message-ID: <383178C8.EB121E35@mitre.org>
Date: Tue, 16 Nov 1999 10:31:20 -0500
From: Ella Paton Bassett <egardner@mitre.org>
Organization: The MITRE Corporation
X-Mailer: Mozilla 4.61 [en]C-19990607M (Win95; U)
X-Accept-Language: en
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: David Boyce <David.Boyce@messagingdirect.com>
CC: Stefan Santesson <stefan@accurata.se>, ietf-pkix@imc.org, Sean Turner <turners@ieca.com>, "Manger, James" <JManger@vtrlmel1.telstra.com.au>, "Kesterson, Hoyt" <Hoyt.Kesterson@bull.com>, "David P. Kemp" <dpkemp@missi.ncsc.mil>, Anders Rundgren <anders.rundgren@jaybis.com>, "'housley'" <housley@spyrus.com>, "'wford'" <wford@verisign.com>, "'wpolk'" <wpolk@nist.gov>, "'david.solo@citicorp.com'" <david.solo@citicorp.com>, "'Magnus Nystr m'" <magnus@rsasecurity.com>
Subject: Re: Use of dnQualifier must be settled
References: <2172.942766021@MessagingDirect.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Precedence: bulk
List-Archive: http://www.imc.org/ietf-pkix/mail-archive/
List-ID: <ietf-pkix.imc.org>
List-Unsubscribe: mailto:ietf-pkix-request@imc.org?body=unsubscribe
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

Folks:

I've suggested to Hoyt Kesterson and Sharon Boeyen that we consider
slipping a new attribute definition into the FPDAM for X.509 but haven't
heard from them.

 uniqueIdentity ATTRIBUTE        ::=     {
        WITH SYNTAX                     DirectoryString
        EQUALITY MATCHING RULE          caseIgnoreMatch
        ORDERING MATCHING RULE          caseIgnoreOrderingMatch
        SUBSTRINGS MATCHING RULE        caseIgnoreSubstringsMatch
        ID                              id-at-uniqueIdentity }

The uniqueIdentity attribute type provides an unambiguous identity that
may be used as an RDN or in combination with another attribute as an
RDN.

Ella