Re: [recipe] Doodle poll: Smart Grid Bar Bof at IETF 76

"Richard Shockey" <richard@shockey.us> Tue, 13 October 2009 14:56 UTC

Return-Path: <richard@shockey.us>
X-Original-To: recipe@core3.amsl.com
Delivered-To: recipe@core3.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by core3.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 53C2528C1B7 for <recipe@core3.amsl.com>; Tue, 13 Oct 2009 07:56:12 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.264
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.264 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-2.599, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, IP_NOT_FRIENDLY=0.334]
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([64.170.98.32]) by localhost (core3.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id sCuN3ZY5eGSi for <recipe@core3.amsl.com>; Tue, 13 Oct 2009 07:56:06 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from outbound-mail-07.bluehost.com (outbound-mail-07.bluehost.com [69.89.17.207]) by core3.amsl.com (Postfix) with SMTP id CA7D83A67DB for <recipe@ietf.org>; Tue, 13 Oct 2009 07:56:06 -0700 (PDT)
Received: (qmail 3478 invoked by uid 0); 13 Oct 2009 14:56:07 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO box462.bluehost.com) (74.220.219.62) by outboundproxy1.bluehost.com with SMTP; 13 Oct 2009 14:56:07 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=default; d=shockey.us; h=Received:From:To:Cc:References:In-Reply-To:Subject:Date:Message-ID:MIME-Version:Content-Type:X-Mailer:Thread-Index:Content-Language:X-Identified-User; b=DBpGo4Q1JwUmvnxfj0Fjkm5FVw0U85cEeStMqJYWvsqu6YiRpm+fnB0e+66tvjI5SLt10jd2WNwZVnkxHFohEdDpWbPonNMv/hCLG6De/zdoS5aAJ52Z7dCPcQzrIubR;
Received: from pool-96-241-233-91.washdc.fios.verizon.net ([96.241.233.91] helo=rshockeyPC) by box462.bluehost.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from <richard@shockey.us>) id 1MxinF-0001vb-Sn; Tue, 13 Oct 2009 08:56:07 -0600
From: "Richard Shockey" <richard@shockey.us>
To: "'Polk, William T.'" <william.polk@nist.gov>, "'Fred Baker'" <fred@cisco.com>, "'David R Oran'" <oran@cisco.com>, "'Russ Housley'" <housley@vigilsec.com>, "'Leslie Daigle'" <daigle@isoc.org>, "'Sean Turner'" <turners@ieca.com>, "'Paul Hoffman'" <paul.hoffman@vpnc.org>, "'Henning Schulzrinne'" <hgs@cs.columbia.edu>, "'Phil Roberts'" <roberts@isoc.org>, <peter@peter-dambier.de>, <dcrocker@bbiw.net>, "'Hiroshi Esaki'" <hiroshi@wide.ad.jp>, "'Michael Dillon'" <wavetossed@googlemail.com>, "'Brian E Carpenter'" <brian.e.carpenter@gmail.com>, "'Ralph Droms'" <rdroms@cisco.com>, "'Michael Dillon'" <wavetossed@googlemail.com>, "'IESG IESG'" <iesg@ietf.org>, "'IAB IAB'" <iab@iab.org>, <recipe@ietf.org>, "'Peny Yang'" <peng.yang.chn@gmail.com>
References: <C6F95410.170D9%tim.polk@nist.gov>
In-Reply-To: <C6F95410.170D9%tim.polk@nist.gov>
Date: Tue, 13 Oct 2009 10:55:30 -0400
Message-ID: <01b401ca4c15$49c6a5e0$dd53f1a0$@us>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="----=_NextPart_000_01B5_01CA4BF3.C2B505E0"
X-Mailer: Microsoft Office Outlook 12.0
Thread-Index: AcpLpuV4ql1sjkWx30upn1dIGdyKowAbV14w
Content-Language: en-us
X-Identified-User: {3286:box462.bluehost.com:shockeyu:shockey.us} {sentby:smtp auth 96.241.233.91 authed with richard+shockey.us}
X-Mailman-Approved-At: Tue, 13 Oct 2009 08:24:38 -0700
Cc: "'St. Pierre, James A.'" <james.st.pierre@nist.gov>, "'Dodson, Donna F.'" <donna.dodson@nist.gov>, "'Su, David H.'" <david.su@nist.gov>, "'Golmie, Nada T.'" <nada.golmie@nist.gov>
Subject: Re: [recipe] Doodle poll: Smart Grid Bar Bof at IETF 76
X-BeenThere: recipe@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.9
Precedence: list
List-Id: "RECIPE \(Reducing Energy Consumption with Internet Protocols Exploration\)" <recipe.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/recipe>, <mailto:recipe-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/recipe>
List-Post: <mailto:recipe@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:recipe-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/recipe>, <mailto:recipe-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Tue, 13 Oct 2009 14:56:12 -0000

 

Unfortunately I cannot attend but folks here need to know that NIST has
issued its formal request for comments on the NIST Framework and Roadmap for
Smart Grid Interoperability Standards, Release 1.0.
 
It's a short fuse.  Comments must be received on or before November 9, 2009
instructions on how to comment are located below.
 

 

http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/2009/E9-24429.htm

 

 

and  the  SmartGrid Cyber security requirements.

 

http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/2009/E9-24430.htm

 

 

Relevant documents are located here.

 

http://www.nist.gov/smartgrid/

 

 

From: Polk, William T. [mailto:william.polk@nist.gov] 
Sent: Monday, October 12, 2009 9:46 PM
To: Fred Baker; David R Oran; Richard Shockey; Russ Housley; Leslie Daigle;
Sean Turner; Paul Hoffman; Henning Schulzrinne; Phil Roberts;
peter@peter-dambier.de; dcrocker@bbiw.net; Hiroshi Esaki; Michael Dillon;
Brian E Carpenter; Ralph Droms; Michael Dillon; IESG IESG; IAB IAB;
recipe@ietf.org; Peny Yang
Cc: St. Pierre, James A.; Su, David H.; Dodson, Donna F.; Golmie, Nada T.
Subject: Doodle poll: Smart Grid Bar Bof at IETF 76

 


Folks,

I would like to organize a BAR BOF at IETF 76 in Hiroshima to discuss the US
Smart Grid effort.  IETF protocols will be an important component of a
successful and evolutionary Smart Grid, and NIST is looking to the IETF for
leadership. To enable participation by NIST/ITL Management, I would like to
hold the BAR BOF either Wednesday or Thursday night.

NIST attendees will provide some background/history of the Smart Grid
efforts but the primary goal of this session is to determine whether there
is sufficient interest in the community to take on work in this area. If
there is interest, scoping of appropriate IETF contributions, and strategies
for organizing the response would also be fruitful topic areas.

I am sending this email directly to any IETFers that have (to my knowledge)
previously indicated interest in Smart Grid.  I am also sending this message
to the IESG, IAB, recipe@ietf.org, and ipaction@nist.gov email lists.
Please feel free to forward this email to anyone else that you think I may
have missed.

If you are interested in attending the BOF, please indicate your preference
using the following doodle poll:

      http://www.doodle.com/q5nusbhpqfnf75yh

Thanks,

Tim Polk