Re: ISO Standard for timezones?

Dirk Fieldhouse <fieldhouse@logica.com> Wed, 06 December 1995 14:18 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa11095; 6 Dec 95 9:18 EST
Received: from CNRI.Reston.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa11090; 6 Dec 95 9:18 EST
Received: from ietf.cnri.reston.va.us by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa08584; 6 Dec 95 9:18 EST
Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa11070; 6 Dec 95 9:18 EST
Received: from CNRI.Reston.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa11027; 6 Dec 95 9:15 EST
Received: from venera.isi.edu by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa08553; 6 Dec 95 9:15 EST
Received: from relay1.pipex.net by venera.isi.edu (5.65c/5.61+local-22) id <AA07466>; Wed, 6 Dec 1995 06:15:34 -0800
Received: from juliet.logica.com by flow.pipex.net with SMTP (PP); Wed, 6 Dec 1995 14:15:28 +0000
Received: by juliet.logica.com; id OAA10237; Wed, 6 Dec 1995 14:15:26 GMT
Received: from romeo.logica.co.uk(158.234.8.75) by juliet.logica.com via smap (g3.0.3) id xma010230; Wed, 6 Dec 95 14:15:23 GMT
Received: (from news@localhost) by romeo.logica.co.uk (8.7/8.7.1) id OAA04070; Wed, 6 Dec 1995 14:15:29 GMT
To: info-ietf@pipex.net
Path: usenet
X-Orig-Sender: ietf-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: Dirk Fieldhouse <fieldhouse@logica.com>
Newsgroups: comp.protocols.iso,info.ietf
Subject: Re: ISO Standard for timezones?
Date: 6 Dec 1995 14:15:28 GMT
Organization: Logica plc (for whom I do not speak)
Lines: 23
Message-Id: <4a48i0$3pf@romeo.logica.co.uk>
References: <60804460@informatik.uni-bremen.de> <4a2akb$kq5@shade.twinsun.com>
Nntp-Posting-Host: 158.234.36.92
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: Text/Plain; charset=US-ASCII
X-Newsreader: WinVN 0.99.7

In article <4a2akb$kq5@shade.twinsun.com>;, eggert@twinsun.com says...
>
>"Kai Hofmann" <i07m@informatik.uni-bremen.de>; writes:
>
>> Is there an ISO Standard for timezone names (like UTC, MET, ...) available?
>
>No.  The only ISO standard for denoting timezones that I know of is ISO 8601,
>which uses numeric offsets (e.g. `-0500' for US Eastern Standard Time).
>
>Names are ambiguous, and there would be much political hassle to standardize
>them.  In Australia, for example, `EST' has different meanings depending on
>the time of the year and whether you're in Queensland.

But doesn't one of the RFCs lay down some guidelines? Somewhere around 
900-1000, I think. Can anyone point to the correct document, please?

-- 
Dirk Fieldhouse
fieldhouse@logica.com
c=gb;a=tmailuk;p=logica;
o=lg;ou1=lgwct;s=fieldhouse
+44 (171) 637 9111