Re: Static IP addresses for Dial-up

Lixia Zhang <lixia@parc.xerox.com> Mon, 29 January 1996 18:36 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa28227; 29 Jan 96 13:36 EST
Received: from CNRI.Reston.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa28223; 29 Jan 96 13:35 EST
Received: from nico.aarnet.edu.au by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa12490; 29 Jan 96 13:35 EST
Received: from alpha.xerox.com (alpha.Xerox.COM [13.1.64.93]) by nico.aarnet.edu.au (8.6.10/8.6.10) with SMTP id CAA14226 for <cidrd@iepg.org>; Tue, 30 Jan 1996 02:12:13 +1100
Received: from redwing.parc.xerox.com ([13.2.116.19]) by alpha.xerox.com with SMTP id <14647(9)>; Mon, 29 Jan 1996 07:12:06 PST
Received: by redwing.parc.xerox.com id <177520>; Mon, 29 Jan 1996 07:11:56 -0800
Date: Mon, 29 Jan 1996 07:11:53 PST
X-Orig-Sender: Lixia Zhang <lixia@parc.xerox.com>
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: Lixia Zhang <lixia@parc.xerox.com>
To: Christian Huitema <huitema@pax.inria.fr>
Cc: peter@unipalm.pipex.com, nanog@merit.edu, cidrd@iepg.org, iab@isi.edu
Subject: Re: Static IP addresses for Dial-up
In-Reply-To: Your message of Mon, 29 Jan 1996 03:19:19 -0800
Message-ID: <CMM.0.88.822928313.lixia@parc.xerox.com>

> Yes.  Combine this with IP over Direct-TV, where the PC address must be
> synchronized between the out-bound telephone channel (semi-permanent) and
> the in-bound satellite channel (permanent).  Also combine with IP mobility,
> which assumes that the mobile is keeping its IP address while roaming.
> Also combine with IP over CATv, where a PC at home has essentially the same
> requirement as a PC at work.
> 
> All in all, at least one address per computer is a very reasonable goal,
> one which we have zero reason to legislate away.

I agree with Christian completely

Lixia