ISP's & email

Scam <ajscam@mcs.net> Mon, 14 October 1996 01:12 UTC

Received: from cnri by ietf.org id aa14468; 13 Oct 96 21:12 EDT
Received: from list.cren.net by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa16553; 13 Oct 96 21:12 EDT
Received: from localhost (localhost.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa [127.0.0.1]) by list.cren.net (8.7.6/8.6.12) with SMTP id UAA24423; Sun, 13 Oct 1996 20:33:06 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from dimacs.rutgers.edu (root@dimacs.rutgers.edu [128.6.75.16]) by list.cren.net (8.7.6/8.6.12) with SMTP id UAA24387 for <ietf-smtp@list.cren.net>; Sun, 13 Oct 1996 20:32:49 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from relay7.UU.NET (relay7.UU.NET [192.48.96.17]) by dimacs.rutgers.edu (8.6.12+bestmx+oldruq+newsunq+grosshack/8.6.12) with ESMTP id UAA13486 for <ietf-smtp@dimacs.rutgers.edu>; Sun, 13 Oct 1996 20:32:49 -0400
Received: from Nntp1.mcs.net by relay7.UU.NET with ESMTP (peer crosschecked as: Nntp1.mcs.net [192.160.127.127]) id QQblhy21375; Sun, 13 Oct 1996 20:32:48 -0400 (EDT)
Received: (from news@localhost) by Nntp1.mcs.net (8.7.5/8.7.3) id TAA14714; Sun, 13 Oct 1996 19:32:48 -0500 (CDT)
Message-Id: <01bbb967$3b74c8e0$5f3ca4cd@ajscam.pr.mcs.net>
Date: 14 Oct 1996 00:32:47 GMT
Sender: owner-ietf-smtp@list.cren.net
Precedence: bulk
From: Scam <ajscam@mcs.net>
To: info-ietf-smtp@uunet.uu.net
Subject: ISP's & email
X-Newsreader: Microsoft Internet News 4.70.1155
X-Listprocessor-Version: 8.1 -- ListProcessor(tm) by CREN

I am going to be setting up connectivity between our local UNIX lan, and an
ISP.  My question is about
email.  I'm not looking for an SMTP or UUCP howto, but an abstract of what
I'll need to setup and what
pitfalls to watch for.

We're registering a domain name, and according to our ISP will have email
support for multiple users. 
My question about that is, do I need mailboxes at both ends for all users,
or does the email sit & 
wait at the ISP until I get it, and then distribute it?

Any suggestions or pointers to more information greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Aaron