ISP & EMAIL

Scam <ajscam@mcs.net> Fri, 11 October 1996 18:07 UTC

Received: from cnri by ietf.org id aa25218; 11 Oct 96 14:07 EDT
Received: from list.cren.net by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa15486; 11 Oct 96 14:07 EDT
Received: from localhost (localhost.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa [127.0.0.1]) by list.cren.net (8.7.6/8.6.12) with SMTP id MAA02547; Fri, 11 Oct 1996 12:37:26 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from dimacs.rutgers.edu (root@dimacs.rutgers.edu [128.6.75.16]) by list.cren.net (8.7.6/8.6.12) with SMTP id XAA25907 for <ietf-smtp@list.cren.net>; Thu, 10 Oct 1996 23:58:50 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from relay2.UU.NET (relay2.UU.NET [192.48.96.7]) by dimacs.rutgers.edu (8.6.12+bestmx+oldruq+newsunq+grosshack/8.6.12) with ESMTP id XAA08481 for <ietf-smtp@dimacs.rutgers.edu>; Thu, 10 Oct 1996 23:58:44 -0400
Received: from Nntp1.mcs.net by relay2.UU.NET with ESMTP (peer crosschecked as: Nntp1.mcs.net [192.160.127.127]) id QQbkxj20202; Thu, 10 Oct 1996 23:58:39 -0400 (EDT)
Received: (from news@localhost) by Nntp1.mcs.net (8.7.5/8.7.3) id WAA03044; Thu, 10 Oct 1996 22:58:25 -0500 (CDT)
Message-Id: <01bbb728$7ae62aa0$5f3ca4cd@ajscam.pr.mcs.net>
Date: 11 Oct 1996 03:58:24 GMT
Sender: owner-ietf-smtp@list.cren.net
Precedence: bulk
From: Scam <ajscam@mcs.net>
To: info-ietf-smtp@uunet.uu.net
Subject: ISP & EMAIL
X-Newsreader: Microsoft Internet News 4.70.1155
X-Listprocessor-Version: 8.1 -- ListProcessor(tm) by CREN

I am going to be setting up connectivity between our local UNIX lan, and an
ISP.  My question is about
email.  I'm not looking for an SMTP or UUCP howto, but an abstract of what
I'll need to setup and what
pitfalls to watch for.

We're registering a domain name, and according to our ISP will have email
support for multiple users. 
My question about that is, do I need mailboxes at both ends for all users,
or does the email sit & 
wait at the ISP until I get it, and then distribute it?

Any suggestions or pointers to more information greatly appreciated.