q: Retrieving headers... (nntp)

Anthony Bourov <btony@slip.net> Tue, 31 December 1996 01:52 UTC

Received: from cnri by ietf.org id aa23355; 30 Dec 96 20:52 EST
Received: from list.cren.net by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa22964; 30 Dec 96 20:52 EST
Received: from localhost (localhost.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa [127.0.0.1]) by list.cren.net (8.7.6/8.6.12) with SMTP id UAA19455; Mon, 30 Dec 1996 20:06:18 -0500 (EST)
Received: from dimacs.rutgers.edu (dimacs.rutgers.edu [128.6.75.16]) by list.cren.net (8.7.6/8.6.12) with SMTP id UAA19443 for <ietf-smtp@list.cren.net>; Mon, 30 Dec 1996 20:06:04 -0500 (EST)
Received: from relay6.UU.NET (relay6.UU.NET [192.48.96.16]) by dimacs.rutgers.edu (8.6.12+bestmx+oldruq+newsunq/8.6.12) with ESMTP id UAA10905 for <ietf-smtp@dimacs.rutgers.edu>; Mon, 30 Dec 1996 20:06:01 -0500
Received: from nntp1.best.com by relay6.UU.NET with ESMTP (peer crosschecked as: nntp1.best.com [206.86.0.12]) id QQbwka16517; Mon, 30 Dec 1996 20:05:59 -0500 (EST)
Received: (from news@localhost) by nntp1.best.com (8.8.4/8.8.3) id RAA23879; Mon, 30 Dec 1996 17:05:56 -0800 (PST)
Message-Id: <32c86553.19441957@nntp.best.com>
Date: Tue, 31 Dec 1996 01:06:43 GMT
Sender: owner-ietf-smtp@list.cren.net
Precedence: bulk
From: Anthony Bourov <btony@slip.net>
To: info-ietf-smtp@uunet.uu.net
Subject: q: Retrieving headers... (nntp)
X-Newsreader: Forte Agent .99d/32.168
X-Listprocessor-Version: 8.1 beta -- ListProcessor(tm) by CREN

I am writing a small news reader in Visual C++. I have been using nntp
commands described in RFC 977. But from what I understand there exists
a more recent description of the nntp standard. In my program, in
order to Retrieve all subjects in a newsgoup, I use HEAD and NEXT
commands. This turns out to be unacceptably slow. Can someone suggest
a more efficient way of doing this?

Thank you very much in advance.