[Teas] RFC3272bis -- Design Team

Vishnu Pavan Beeram <vishnupavan@gmail.com> Fri, 25 January 2019 15:49 UTC

Return-Path: <vishnupavan@gmail.com>
X-Original-To: teas@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: teas@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id E9798130E8B; Fri, 25 Jan 2019 07:49:58 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.989
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.989 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, FREEMAIL_FROM=0.001, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_NONE=-0.0001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_KAM_HTML_FONT_INVALID=0.01] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key) header.d=gmail.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id xPrgZe0ZiKWY; Fri, 25 Jan 2019 07:49:56 -0800 (PST)
Received: from mail-pf1-x42c.google.com (mail-pf1-x42c.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:4864:20::42c]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id A6C67130E88; Fri, 25 Jan 2019 07:49:56 -0800 (PST)
Received: by mail-pf1-x42c.google.com with SMTP id b85so4934459pfc.3; Fri, 25 Jan 2019 07:49:56 -0800 (PST)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20161025; h=mime-version:from:date:message-id:subject:to:cc; bh=ZJ5Kpj45czVn0y14SWXdpdpCGGg6W421V6iBa3SJtH0=; b=ho+guhl+8RJYDv2RMtUGT42YzvLP0KxTWOktmrZZUpfwCfuFAwAaoBnAnsaj3oHh8J 1KIvpYLvrTewF8z3w9hRovA9f5Qe1bdsd4BabsHs5Fpi8+ddcsh7TrGAg8m0P0vhBhbl QT1uJ7V/NSd6mCA/hIPptdZaLk1q/VS5JBmik52XxUi5GkzoHESobPAnc+pDm9pQ59YH l8jOc4fB9ckrl2rsz0OwHUkRG72tJLMRkggr/LOwgSa9A6ZI/Q0PDaVxlmBwTaVKGsM5 9NHK88hROjAhhkneeAGLDTU1s30UOgjV8HWIIP47MkvQEGmIlJhXE3Vcl2dDjvQoBZNp MdWg==
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20161025; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:from:date:message-id:subject:to:cc; bh=ZJ5Kpj45czVn0y14SWXdpdpCGGg6W421V6iBa3SJtH0=; b=jt1kkUYPvatMWgMrLtTseazH1zYicysUOdYOVwNVVeB2RlAxaPPe3LGqOBxeQbKiHU gQVzvZDlPoA9/Vkp7GR6/xrPS2t6gxGkY2Ag3AC6WVyZN4h53IRiti/bnIe6PDRG5Q1Q J+dpwlxnzVu2CEdgFecRA11maF/V5nAHIKTVzPvrSEAdAmR6+qAnhYzfTx0ISP5xZXco ytPNRxrW7es0miE9Hqay7dpnL8/yvW1YquX1zGI3VbGwyPL8aOn5bnO3eBCf2a8qd7Tk C04n6fseo0QdVebWT5nxCJ/tRg/mFFo9R5eiDf7e4FEE5sB3aodTuGbhA/dBzNpBwCB5 Jawg==
X-Gm-Message-State: AJcUukehRry1Z+j8Aq8W4MjDkddKj7mRNn6lu1TQCdeNBrRDa6rr+3v9 uiR1PHtK2X0OHtZK2hjJyFC2qqUne7C4CngI1yzVIbWfUrA=
X-Google-Smtp-Source: ALg8bN6gpFAnccoRQ5FYZ7lFyuatxCxoXQHKenKtlpRG5krxbPWsZV5tOqvrf62XfyegPhHLFYdTzkJjN9i939jgJM0=
X-Received: by 2002:a62:34c6:: with SMTP id b189mr11736028pfa.229.1548431395613; Fri, 25 Jan 2019 07:49:55 -0800 (PST)
MIME-Version: 1.0
From: Vishnu Pavan Beeram <vishnupavan@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 25 Jan 2019 10:49:45 -0500
Message-ID: <CA+YzgTtST6xNydgqJGRn=hicXMHfrttUpJy7kuvDC8i4-qj1vw@mail.gmail.com>
To: TEAS WG <teas@ietf.org>
Cc: TEAS WG Chairs <teas-chairs@ietf.org>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0000000000004b727f05804a4784"
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/teas/Uylyyb6RIvn5OUFkq9ksmRnlfJU>
Subject: [Teas] RFC3272bis -- Design Team
X-BeenThere: teas@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: Traffic Engineering Architecture and Signaling working group discussion list <teas.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/teas>, <mailto:teas-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/teas/>
List-Post: <mailto:teas@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:teas-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/teas>, <mailto:teas-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Fri, 25 Jan 2019 15:49:59 -0000


We have formed the TEAS 3272bis Design Team.  The objectives and membership
of the design team are listed below.  We’d like to thank all those who
volunteered to join the team, and recognize Adrian Farrel who has agreed to
serve as Team Lead.  Not all who volunteered were included in the team -
and we’d like to especially thank these individuals. All will be able to
participate in this work once we have a WG document on the topic and, as
always, the document progresses through normal WG processing.  We do note
that the objective of the DT is to produce a draft 3272bis and there is no
requirement for the authorship to be limited to or include all DT members,
and as usual, we expect a WG document to reflect actual contribution to the

The DT is expected to work on its own using whatever methods best suit its
members. The DT will use an IETF mailing list that will include the team
members listed below plus the WG chairs, and will be archived and openly


TEAS 3272bis Design Team

Over the many years since RFC 3272 was published, the use of Traffic

Engineering (TE) technologies and concepts within the Internet has

become commonplace, and the mechanisms have developed and

broadened. Recent discussion of the term "TE" in a number of Working

Groups (chiefly in the Routing Area) has indicated that RFC 3272 is

somewhat out-of-date as a base reference.

This Design Team’s objective to update RFC 3272 by making a full

revision (draft-dt-teas-rfc3272bis) that strengthens existing

definitions, introduces new definitions where needed, brings the work

up-to-date with current best practices, and includes (via appropriate

references) the latest and on-going work in the IETF.

The DT will provide regular updates and reports to the TEAS

working group.  It will present an update on their status and plans at IETF

(Prague) and an initial DT draft in time for discussion at IETF 105

(Montreal). Once the draft is accepted as a working group document, it

will progress per TEAS working group normal process.

The DT mailing list is being set up, and will be: rfc3272bis-dt@ietf.org

The team members are:

   Acee Lindem <acee@cisco.com>;

   Adrian Farrel <adrian@olddog.co.uk>; (Team Lead)

   Aijun Wang <wangaijun@tsinghua.org.cn>;

   Daniele Ceccarelli <daniele.ceccarelli@ericsson.com>;

   Dieter Beller <dieter.beller@nokia.com>;

   Jeff Tantsura <jefftant.ietf@gmail.com>;

   Julien Meuric <julien.meuric@orange.com>;

   Liu Hua <hliu@ciena.com>;

   Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>;

   Luis Miguel Contreras <luismiguel.contrerasmurillo@telefonica.com>;

   Martin Horneffer <Martin.Horneffer@telekom.de>;

   Tarek Saad <tsaad@cisco.com>;

   Xufeng Liu <xufeng.liu.ietf@gmail.com>;
Thank you,

Pavan and Lou

TEAS WG Chairs