Re: environment option draft

Marjo Mercado <marjo@hpindsy.cup.hp.com> Tue, 12 October 1993 15:44 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa06396; 12 Oct 93 11:44 EDT
Received: from CNRI.RESTON.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa06391; 12 Oct 93 11:44 EDT
Received: from timbuk.cray.com by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa11039; 12 Oct 93 11:44 EDT
Received: from hemlock.cray.com by cray.com (4.1/CRI-MX 2.19btd) id AA10787; Tue, 12 Oct 93 10:44:29 CDT
Received: by hemlock.cray.com id AA17383; 4.1/CRI-5.6; Tue, 12 Oct 93 10:44:22 CDT
Received: from cray.com (timbuk.cray.com) by hemlock.cray.com id AA17377; 4.1/CRI-5.6; Tue, 12 Oct 93 10:44:18 CDT
Received: from hp.com by cray.com (4.1/CRI-MX 2.19btd) id AA10754; Tue, 12 Oct 93 10:44:15 CDT
Received: from hpindsy.cup.hp.com by hp.com with SMTP (16.8/15.5+IOS 3.13) id AA16374; Tue, 12 Oct 93 08:44:13 -0700
Received: from localhost by hpindsy.cup.hp.com with SMTP (16.6/15.5+IOS 3.20+cup+OMrelay) id AA14513; Tue, 12 Oct 93 08:43:42 -0700
Message-Id: <9310121543.AA14513@hpindsy.cup.hp.com>
To: "David A. Borman" <dab@berserkly.cray.com>
Cc: sjogren@tgv.com, stevea@lachman.com, klensin@infoods.mit.edu, telnet-ietf@cray.com, marjo@hpindsy.cup.hp.com
Subject: Re: environment option draft
In-Reply-To: Your message of "Mon, 11 Oct 93 12:54:11 PDT." <9310111754.AA02937@frenzy.cray.com>
Date: Tue, 12 Oct 93 08:43:40 PDT
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: Marjo Mercado <marjo@hpindsy.cup.hp.com>

Hi Dave,

I suggest that in order to maximize the probability of future interoperability 
with implementors of RFC 1408 that we require that the heuristics be 
implemented.

Thanks,

Marjo Mercado
Hewlett-Packard Company

>>I agree with Steve.  The interoperability document only refers to
>>the original option number, implementations of the new option number
>>do not need to worry about the reversed var/value definition problem
>>(which is the whole point of getting a new option number).

			-David Borman, dab@cray.com