Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

"Salz, Rich" <rsalz@akamai.com> Sun, 16 June 2019 20:46 UTC

Return-Path: <rsalz@akamai.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 44B6D1200E0; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 13:46:03 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.709
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.709 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_LOW=-0.7, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_DKIMWL_WL_HIGH=-0.01, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key) header.d=akamai.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id u-LJ33lkfk7W; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 13:46:00 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mx0a-00190b01.pphosted.com (mx0a-00190b01.pphosted.com [IPv6:2620:100:9001:583::1]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 38AE7120075; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 13:45:59 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from pps.filterd (m0050095.ppops.net [127.0.0.1]) by m0050095.ppops.net-00190b01. (8.16.0.27/8.16.0.27) with SMTP id x5GKgVCZ023859; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 21:45:35 +0100
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=akamai.com; h=from : to : cc : subject : date : message-id : references : in-reply-to : content-type : content-id : content-transfer-encoding : mime-version; s=jan2016.eng; bh=8q4Ci9Bmls9+OBhLDXmCWwN8ptQYucEiFNpCzikBPXg=; b=fzrSmPM1Cp5g4kNc3PAlpKNe0y6c4LNhB848XynwA78Ihb2AoQEtc6cPdEzzAzoIayFS mwpf2RbnN5NhNxv2GOZSTqx3czaFhADvCvEqh405hkkx6tiMk9a/qu0xhiYz/JA47e9o Spg5sn+fcQGyuYvP/0sfs9l3Z20NDXJqjOb3E0IwBW7vBYj905eXg/2c8nO1n5H/n+PY Puf9Zo6uyHbVUaeL0gxOQrz+8z66Qsq07tHczc50TB+nkEWySRbxwiAH2D9lmAbm4QXf Sx8IKQIkuD4oy3DP8wsqHbCa3KK+jKTNa6+U6dcc3ZHsjLc6q02dEWu5jhJantxJgISW gQ==
Received: from prod-mail-ppoint1 (prod-mail-ppoint1.akamai.com [184.51.33.18] (may be forged)) by m0050095.ppops.net-00190b01. with ESMTP id 2t4r725sdg-1 (version=TLSv1.2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 bits=256 verify=NOT); Sun, 16 Jun 2019 21:45:35 +0100
Received: from pps.filterd (prod-mail-ppoint1.akamai.com [127.0.0.1]) by prod-mail-ppoint1.akamai.com (8.16.0.27/8.16.0.27) with SMTP id x5GKWZ5P032406; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 16:45:33 -0400
Received: from email.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.123.57]) by prod-mail-ppoint1.akamai.com with ESMTP id 2t4v0wa9fe-1 (version=TLSv1.2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384 bits=256 verify=NOT); Sun, 16 Jun 2019 16:45:33 -0400
Received: from USMA1EX-DAG1MB1.msg.corp.akamai.com (172.27.123.101) by usma1ex-dag1mb6.msg.corp.akamai.com (172.27.123.65) with Microsoft SMTP Server (TLS) id 15.0.1473.3; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 16:45:32 -0400
Received: from USMA1EX-DAG1MB1.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.123.101]) by usma1ex-dag1mb1.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.123.101]) with mapi id 15.00.1473.004; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 16:45:32 -0400
From: "Salz, Rich" <rsalz@akamai.com>
To: Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com>, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>, "Yoav Nir" <ynir.ietf@gmail.com>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
CC: Joe Salowey <joe@salowey.net>, "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>, Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>, tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
Thread-Topic: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
Thread-Index: AQHVEYPd8uoPLz85ZUWRqNsbZy1j56Z4+MEAgCW7b7iAADGogA==
Date: Sun, 16 Jun 2019 20:45:31 +0000
Message-ID: <C9CA0D8A-78D3-4939-B126-A2E5DF805A90@akamai.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16281-1557323478-1569.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoDm7wPLVKd+tOM6RMFu2PhZ4Wz5trS7jyyrusns+=mE9A@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16318-1557325555-1836.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-4435-1557352440-656.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCZzOxJdVGZjp83YCLOktorrxc3bSNp57gqLdt1M4bWgQ@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-12723-1558589242-970.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-27904-1558624173-1826.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com> <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com> <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com> <0D22003A-76E4-42E4-8741-BC8CE70FF67F@sn3rd.com>
In-Reply-To: <0D22003A-76E4-42E4-8741-BC8CE70FF67F@sn3rd.com>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
X-MS-Has-Attach:
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:
user-agent: Microsoft-MacOutlook/10.1a.0.190609
x-ms-exchange-messagesentrepresentingtype: 1
x-ms-exchange-transport-fromentityheader: Hosted
x-originating-ip: [172.19.32.111]
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
Content-ID: <319C6096D025A64A878BB983174BE70C@akamai.com>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: base64
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Proofpoint-Virus-Version: vendor=fsecure engine=2.50.10434:, , definitions=2019-06-16_09:, , signatures=0
X-Proofpoint-Spam-Details: rule=notspam policy=default score=0 suspectscore=0 malwarescore=0 phishscore=0 bulkscore=0 spamscore=0 mlxscore=0 mlxlogscore=999 adultscore=0 classifier=spam adjust=0 reason=mlx scancount=1 engine=8.0.1-1810050000 definitions=main-1906160197
X-Proofpoint-Virus-Version: vendor=fsecure engine=2.50.10434:, , definitions=2019-06-16_09:, , signatures=0
X-Proofpoint-Spam-Details: rule=notspam policy=default score=0 priorityscore=1501 malwarescore=0 suspectscore=0 phishscore=0 bulkscore=0 spamscore=0 clxscore=1015 lowpriorityscore=0 mlxscore=0 impostorscore=0 mlxlogscore=999 adultscore=0 classifier=spam adjust=0 reason=mlx scancount=1 engine=8.0.1-1810050000 definitions=main-1906160199
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/5foe4v_ljKSp91Jq8v1DsQ32mJ4>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Sun, 16 Jun 2019 20:46:03 -0000

So looking at the registry, it seems that
  25  tls1.2 connection id y
Makes sense.



On 6/16/19, 1:47 PM, "Sean Turner" <sean@sn3rd.com> wrote:

    So … it turns out there are two registry requests for this draft:
    
    1) TLS ExtensionType Values: connection_id
    
    I think we got a number assigned here, but we need a couple of tweaks in the IANA section (I will submit a PR):
    
    a) Needs to request new column for DTLS-only
    b) Needs to specify TLS1.3 Column value.  I beieive the value should be empty as this is only applicable to DTLS 1.2.  To amke this clear we should ask for a note.
    
    2) TLS ContentType Registry: tls12_cid
    
    We still a number assignment for this one.
    
    spt
    
    > On May 23, 2019, at 13:59, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com> wrote:
    > 
    > This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way to indicate that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I don't think that's an issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else has an objection.
    > 
    > On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
    >  
    > 
    > I don’t recall seeing this until now.  Explicitly copying Yoav and Nick.
    > 
    >  
    > 
    > I’m one of three and I support this.   Does this work?
    > 
    >                 Value 53
    > 
    >                 TLS 1.3 –
    > 
    >                 Recommended Y
    > 
    >                 RFC TBD
    > 
    >  
    > 
    > From: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
    > Date: Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
    > To: "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
    > Cc: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
    > Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
    > 
    >  
    > 
    > I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives so I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere.   The version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05.  The authors have requested early code point assignment and that requires expert approval.  
    > 
    >  
    > 
    > Thanks,
    > 
    >  
    > 
    > Joe
    > 
    >  
    > 
    >  
    > 
    > On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:
    > 
    > Hi Joe, 
    > 
    > We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org on 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't heard back from the experts regarding this request, could you let us know if you still don't see it in the archives? 
    > 
    > Thank you,
    > Sabrina
    > 
    > On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
    > > Hi Sabrina,
    > > 
    > > Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA initiate
    > > this?
    > > I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the archives
    > > for the
    > > tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
    > > 
    > > Thanks,
    > > 
    > > Joe
    > > 
    > > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
    > > issues@iana.org>
    > > wrote:
    > > 
    > > > Hi Joe,
    > > >
    > > > We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but we
    > > > need to
    > > > ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
    > > >
    > > > Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType Values is
    > > > Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts to
    > > > review and
    > > > approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can make an
    > > > early
    > > > allocation.
    > > >
    > > > Thanks,
    > > >
    > > > Sabrina Tanamal
    > > > Senior IANA Services Specialist
    > > >
    > > > On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
    > > > > Hi Michelle,
    > > > >
    > > > > Yes, this is a request for both.
    > > > >
    > > > > Thanks,
    > > > >
    > > > > Joe
    > > > >
    > > > > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
    > > > iana-issues@iana.org>
    > > > > wrote:
    > > > >
    > > > > > Hello Joe,
    > > > > >
    > > > > > Apologies for the delay in my response.  I hope you are doing
    > > > > > well.
    > > > > >
    > > > > > Quick question for your request below.  In the document there are
    > > > > > 2
    > > > > > requests for parameter registrations.  Are you requesting early
    > > > allocation
    > > > > > for both?
    > > > > >
    > > > > > Thanks in advance.
    > > > > >
    > > > > > --Michelle
    > > > > >
    > > > > > On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
    > > > > > > Hi IANA,
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > We have received a request for  early code point assignment for
    > > > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04.  The chairs believe that
    > > > > > > the
    > > > draft
    > > > > > is
    > > > > > > stable.  Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
    > > > > > > Please
    > > > let me
    > > > > > > know if you need more information or have any questions.
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > Thanks,
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > Joe
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > ---------- Forwarded message ---------
    > > > > > > From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
    > > > > > > Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
    > > > > > > Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
    > > > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
    > > > > > > To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
    > > > > > > Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey wrote:
    > > > > > > > Hi Ben,
    > > > > > > >
    > > > > > > > We have a request for early code point assignment
    > > > > > > > for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.  We believe the draft
    > > > > > > > is
    > > > stable
    > > > > > and
    > > > > > > > no one has objected to the early code point announcement on
    > > > > > > > the
    > > > list.
    > > > > > > >
    > > > > > > > Let me know if you have any questions or need more
    > > > > > > > information.
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > I'm happy to see this go forward.
    > > > > > > (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me, right?)
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
    > > > > > >
    > > > > > > Ben
    > > > > >
    > > > > >
    > > >
    > > >
    >