Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com> Thu, 23 May 2019 18:00 UTC

Return-Path: <nick@cloudflare.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 90E2412004C for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 23 May 2019 11:00:11 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -0.021
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-0.021 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, HTTPS_HTTP_MISMATCH=1.989, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_NONE=-0.0001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_DKIMWL_WL_HIGH=-0.01] autolearn=unavailable autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (1024-bit key) header.d=cloudflare.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id ILb5LQArWoxl for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 23 May 2019 11:00:08 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-ua1-x92b.google.com (mail-ua1-x92b.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:4864:20::92b]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 0560012007A for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Thu, 23 May 2019 10:59:58 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by mail-ua1-x92b.google.com with SMTP id 94so2527378uam.3 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Thu, 23 May 2019 10:59:58 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=cloudflare.com; s=google; h=mime-version:references:in-reply-to:from:date:message-id:subject:to :cc; bh=0lgqfmEHvf8j9P9HbJtFHFlvR6WNrRFe2zeWFHWLvkI=; b=BAxjmb/OTyoznfITeTe5fRFGHnYRxxdv/OH8KLEqkupHbH+eSd6Kptn/K654TpzYmJ QiVsIutKsge1KDio52d4IU7njOjYpwXm66Cy7xNRxrZlH7NrhISG4nQ+LoB/0CZ6ahzE 1LsWG4CzSMx/P5gAnSgCw4P1TSV5TudZtAAlc=
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20161025; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:references:in-reply-to:from:date :message-id:subject:to:cc; bh=0lgqfmEHvf8j9P9HbJtFHFlvR6WNrRFe2zeWFHWLvkI=; b=IQds8Pr6KHLNUwUhpr+LDAHxH30eB/FnkRORJDYs3wHpEixQywQ5yydLuiZjK8tDXj jj44dfQQsOL8+aROWlcQSPqPbnrtIgxiwDEB2s32/LkIf4tazVkcdyOy7fi9t0ZP5JJn z247rRyri/3JjOq3GrBB0V0MIYqDmqmNrSHVGpIfr6R4hcJZEyORa6tKew7x1yST2J9g FC3goeder8hRV8LNNBZtP63+sBE9Hs9+e6gsJcnANA6SGzRKFRorKFgLAjwF9rmu9yZ8 fcUONgaECIljh2UXjAjKHkxXEJRKZl9d7IK/x2Stgp7JBFiO7qX+0zfe3dTZhcwIS9c0 qJ/g==
X-Gm-Message-State: APjAAAX54Wc7mDbIkOAQJzVOyCDtKPdlbsceu2t8yEdByt5aXWDkRQ4C hXi9ePbukk4PjKBlVHrCoplN01SNpVm7ax/9dvvg2Q==
X-Google-Smtp-Source: APXvYqyL4dCpF7XCirobMZVJAco1HIrcV3+aiWJdfqO/YYti79Uy6y1inz/kYKvTyOCPrDagFPb9cK6LTtmpMs9zgoI=
X-Received: by 2002:ab0:3119:: with SMTP id e25mr9036760ual.96.1558634397689; Thu, 23 May 2019 10:59:57 -0700 (PDT)
MIME-Version: 1.0
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16281-1557323478-1569.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoDm7wPLVKd+tOM6RMFu2PhZ4Wz5trS7jyyrusns+=mE9A@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16318-1557325555-1836.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-4435-1557352440-656.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCZzOxJdVGZjp83YCLOktorrxc3bSNp57gqLdt1M4bWgQ@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-12723-1558589242-970.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-27904-1558624173-1826.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com> <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com>
In-Reply-To: <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com>
From: Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>
Date: Thu, 23 May 2019 10:59:46 -0700
Message-ID: <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Salz, Rich" <rsalz@akamai.com>
Cc: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>, "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>, Yoav Nir <ynir.ietf@gmail.com>, Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>, tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0000000000009c4482058991d920"
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/Jtpktzo-kV9RWM16UcIJ7v_ArGI>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 23 May 2019 18:00:12 -0000

This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way to indicate
that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I don't think that's an
issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else has an objection.

On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:

>
>
> I don’t recall seeing this until now.  Explicitly copying Yoav and Nick.
>
>
>
> I’m one of three and I support this.   Does this work?
>
>                 Value 53
>
>                 TLS 1.3 –
>
>                 Recommended Y
>
>                 RFC TBD
>
>
>
> *From: *Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
> *Date: *Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
> *To: *"iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "
> tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
> *Cc: *Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <
> tls-chairs@ietf.org>
> *Subject: *Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point
> assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
>
>
>
> I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives so I'm
> cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere.   The version of
> draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here
> https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05
> <https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__tools.ietf.org_html_draft-2Dietf-2Dtls-2Ddtls-2Dconnection-2Did-2D05&d=DwMFaQ&c=96ZbZZcaMF4w0F4jpN6LZg&r=4LM0GbR0h9Fvx86FtsKI-w&m=AFFRssmLkZuplUd1HVENEAI4HsfgSfv353Ivwszsxwc&s=6AXFN925MRdSclV8uo2RFkWtrlWPoTZdLcXbR6fzS8g&e=>.
> The authors have requested early code point assignment and that requires
> expert approval.
>
>
>
> Thanks,
>
>
>
> Joe
>
>
>
>
>
> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <
> iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:
>
> Hi Joe,
>
> We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org on 8
> May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't heard back from
> the experts regarding this request, could you let us know if you still
> don't see it in the archives?
>
> Thank you,
> Sabrina
>
> On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> > Hi Sabrina,
> >
> > Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA initiate
> > this?
> > I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the archives
> > for the
> > tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
> >
> > Thanks,
> >
> > Joe
> >
> > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
> > issues@iana.org>
> > wrote:
> >
> > > Hi Joe,
> > >
> > > We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but we
> > > need to
> > > ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
> > >
> > > Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType Values is
> > > Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts to
> > > review and
> > > approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can make an
> > > early
> > > allocation.
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > >
> > > Sabrina Tanamal
> > > Senior IANA Services Specialist
> > >
> > > On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> > > > Hi Michelle,
> > > >
> > > > Yes, this is a request for both.
> > > >
> > > > Thanks,
> > > >
> > > > Joe
> > > >
> > > > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
> > > iana-issues@iana.org>
> > > > wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > Hello Joe,
> > > > >
> > > > > Apologies for the delay in my response.  I hope you are doing
> > > > > well.
> > > > >
> > > > > Quick question for your request below.  In the document there are
> > > > > 2
> > > > > requests for parameter registrations.  Are you requesting early
> > > allocation
> > > > > for both?
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks in advance.
> > > > >
> > > > > --Michelle
> > > > >
> > > > > On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> > > > > > Hi IANA,
> > > > > >
> > > > > > We have received a request for  early code point assignment for
> > > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04.  The chairs believe that
> > > > > > the
> > > draft
> > > > > is
> > > > > > stable.  Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
> > > > > > Please
> > > let me
> > > > > > know if you need more information or have any questions.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Thanks,
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Joe
> > > > > >
> > > > > > ---------- Forwarded message ---------
> > > > > > From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
> > > > > > Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
> > > > > > Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
> > > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
> > > > > > To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
> > > > > > Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > > On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey wrote:
> > > > > > > Hi Ben,
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > We have a request for early code point assignment
> > > > > > > for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.  We believe the draft
> > > > > > > is
> > > stable
> > > > > and
> > > > > > > no one has objected to the early code point announcement on
> > > > > > > the
> > > list.
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > Let me know if you have any questions or need more
> > > > > > > information.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > I'm happy to see this go forward.
> > > > > > (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me, right?)
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Ben
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > >
> > >
>
>