Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

"Christopher Wood" <caw@heapingbits.net> Mon, 27 May 2019 18:59 UTC

Return-Path: <caw@heapingbits.net>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 69FCD120043; Mon, 27 May 2019 11:59:13 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.7
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.7 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_LOW=-0.7, SPF_PASS=-0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key) header.d=heapingbits.net header.b=PuiNecst; dkim=pass (2048-bit key) header.d=messagingengine.com header.b=eMd9nff/
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id KbVoylSzFhm5; Mon, 27 May 2019 11:59:10 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from out5-smtp.messagingengine.com (out5-smtp.messagingengine.com [66.111.4.29]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher AECDH-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 2FDD812003F; Mon, 27 May 2019 11:59:10 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from compute6.internal (compute6.nyi.internal [10.202.2.46]) by mailout.nyi.internal (Postfix) with ESMTP id E61EB2211E; Mon, 27 May 2019 14:59:08 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from imap4 ([10.202.2.54]) by compute6.internal (MEProxy); Mon, 27 May 2019 14:59:08 -0400
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=heapingbits.net; h=mime-version:message-id:in-reply-to:references:date:from:to :cc:subject:content-type; s=fm1; bh=BMzrSb/JVme6G5R6wj3MFjhLejfX faavL7tL90nw9Po=; b=PuiNecstXAy4FefUvN/q007ko1Fr8YiTKnRcHZLUK/Fq GLrV8tSqxM4JiZJ4HbcvRASKJUjBD5I80dP4uVeqGij7TrzwLB1ZcOtUPCSrRDRH +JsAc28uKFMMYZPfo9RsuicbKhur13LXHKWcIov47H4pChDS23jqbaqw7dd0XIkt lKHG25S1oWxTMV/hopwluEl+uzZJ9Sb6wv5+e4TCIWxwVqWpqqxKa5g1T/xqNAs5 Frr4BcJ+T6/ihwKg07CwRy/rcqssrNxHY0440j8btRG5tbj4HSPyv+GMqK5EBLni 4DU2lo05GKX2B8NzpF6LoD5gsx6lFX6bzyPV8QCMrg==
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d= messagingengine.com; h=cc:content-type:date:from:in-reply-to :message-id:mime-version:references:subject:to:x-me-proxy :x-me-proxy:x-me-sender:x-me-sender:x-sasl-enc; s=fm2; bh=BMzrSb /JVme6G5R6wj3MFjhLejfXfaavL7tL90nw9Po=; b=eMd9nff/SjQ4X8fDNKxsbB Gmoqh6r2lFzGrNQsYQtPMyds4DRdsTn4gsqDae1vlg4sbm4dlqkeJqFbZf4qZFn8 HiYqIhi7btpL3sxgdTSvmERvaiXJSHPVVJMdu8GUlT9J3yQcu7usC1aIRXFx0hCa wjDrJZndozQFKMQtO6TKLkOpJ0Kzn63W6Pz+bSxPwlcPTAst0heB7+dmFFyudw2D sNYCorIs6eadAfJ10vqN22w7uTuvfmoAcOzhlGW2qhnWbOEz4m1/Mfwc7SbhR25C TAjFDRGjZ7E6D5j8GAqEQDPWKsA2+WNRhGTGKqF+IJgicmN0oHOjJBtKw+uIp5+w ==
X-ME-Sender: <xms:fDPsXH-Y-ETv1ILbtDONPi7kOWrluvd5Zjthj5vJTBKF_0q6xaByqg>
X-ME-Proxy-Cause: gggruggvucftvghtrhhoucdtuddrgeduuddruddvvddgudefvdcutefuodetggdotefrod ftvfcurfhrohhfihhlvgemucfhrghsthforghilhdpqfgfvfdpuffrtefokffrpgfnqfgh necuuegrihhlohhuthemuceftddtnecusecvtfgvtghiphhivghnthhsucdlqddutddtmd enucfjughrpefofgggkfgjfhffhffvufgtsegrtderreerreejnecuhfhrohhmpedfvehh rhhishhtohhphhgvrhcuhghoohgufdcuoegtrgifsehhvggrphhinhhgsghithhsrdhnvg htqeenucffohhmrghinhepihgvthhfrdhorhhgpdhprhhoohhfphhoihhnthdrtghomhen ucfrrghrrghmpehmrghilhhfrhhomheptggrfieshhgvrghpihhnghgsihhtshdrnhgvth enucevlhhushhtvghrufhiiigvpedt
X-ME-Proxy: <xmx:fDPsXNU_0TOirxtOKDGV2GJ_jy6r9z2MwiXH9ROdevOn7v5-w1spdA> <xmx:fDPsXBtfkS085isCzcpwvwMUEOGWjumPMzpWjnFIpHoyWxpgscOk9A> <xmx:fDPsXE-AbFzBNmfMAFrIfFV8PRUhg9bc52RsvSUBzb5MiVYr2WhJvw> <xmx:fDPsXGfo4ruffLRg5zA38Lu-xnfLUaWgnzmgBVm_6N6OEqVGr3rvdg>
Received: by mailuser.nyi.internal (Postfix, from userid 501) id 33E4B3C00A0; Mon, 27 May 2019 14:59:08 -0400 (EDT)
X-Mailer: MessagingEngine.com Webmail Interface
User-Agent: Cyrus-JMAP/3.1.6-553-gc304556-fmstable-20190524v1
Mime-Version: 1.0
Message-Id: <f4de392d-ae22-4380-b882-424d5e96ef53@www.fastmail.com>
In-Reply-To: <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16281-1557323478-1569.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoDm7wPLVKd+tOM6RMFu2PhZ4Wz5trS7jyyrusns+=mE9A@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16318-1557325555-1836.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-4435-1557352440-656.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCZzOxJdVGZjp83YCLOktorrxc3bSNp57gqLdt1M4bWgQ@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-12723-1558589242-970.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-27904-1558624173-1826.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com> <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com> <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 27 May 2019 11:59:07 -0700
From: "Christopher Wood" <caw@heapingbits.net>
To: "Nick Sullivan" <nick@cloudflare.com>, "Salz, Rich" <rsalz@akamai.com>
Cc: "Joe Salowey" <joe@salowey.net>, "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>, "Yoav Nir" <ynir.ietf@gmail.com>, "Benjamin Kaduk" <kaduk@mit.edu>, "TLS Chairs" <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=b4a7ba4acb16432ea72af67d35d7e940
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/K0NYEz7VqavjLHLw7EKDpHvyPRI>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] =?utf-8?q?=5BIANA_=231141082=5D_Fwd=3A_Early_co?= =?utf-8?q?de-point_assignment_request_for_draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-?= =?utf-8?q?id?=
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Mon, 27 May 2019 18:59:14 -0000

I’ve no strong objections, though erring on the side of clarity is probably best. How difficult would it be to add a field to distinguish between the two?

Best,
Chris

On Thu, May 23, 2019, at 11:00 AM, Nick Sullivan wrote:
> This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way to indicate that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I don't think that's an issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else has an objection.
> 
> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
> > __ __
> 
> > I don’t recall seeing this until now. Explicitly copying Yoav and Nick.____
> 
> > __ __
> 
> > I’m one of three and I support this. Does this work?____
> 
> > Value 53____
> 
> > TLS 1.3 –____
> 
> > Recommended Y____
> 
> > RFC TBD____
> 
> > __ __
> 
> > *From: *Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
> > *Date: *Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
> > *To: *"iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
> > *Cc: *Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
> > *Subject: *Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id____
> 
> > __ __
> 
> > I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives so I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere. The version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05 <https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__tools.ietf.org_html_draft-2Dietf-2Dtls-2Ddtls-2Dconnection-2Did-2D05&d=DwMFaQ&c=96ZbZZcaMF4w0F4jpN6LZg&r=4LM0GbR0h9Fvx86FtsKI-w&m=AFFRssmLkZuplUd1HVENEAI4HsfgSfv353Ivwszsxwc&s=6AXFN925MRdSclV8uo2RFkWtrlWPoTZdLcXbR6fzS8g&e=>. The authors have requested early code point assignment and that requires expert approval. ____
> 
> > __ __
> 
> > Thanks,____
> 
> > __ __
> 
> > Joe____
> 
> > __ __
> 
> > __ __
> 
> > On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:____
> 
> >> Hi Joe, 
> >> 
> >> We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org on 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't heard back from the experts regarding this request, could you let us know if you still don't see it in the archives? 
> >> 
> >> Thank you,
> >> Sabrina
> >> 
> >> On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> >> > Hi Sabrina,
> >> > 
> >> > Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA initiate
> >> > this?
> >> > I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the archives
> >> > for the
> >> > tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
> >> > 
> >> > Thanks,
> >> > 
> >> > Joe
> >> > 
> >> > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
> >> > issues@iana.org>
> >> > wrote:
> >> > 
> >> > > Hi Joe,
> >> > >
> >> > > We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but we
> >> > > need to
> >> > > ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
> >> > >
> >> > > Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType Values is
> >> > > Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts to
> >> > > review and
> >> > > approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can make an
> >> > > early
> >> > > allocation.
> >> > >
> >> > > Thanks,
> >> > >
> >> > > Sabrina Tanamal
> >> > > Senior IANA Services Specialist
> >> > >
> >> > > On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> >> > > > Hi Michelle,
> >> > > >
> >> > > > Yes, this is a request for both.
> >> > > >
> >> > > > Thanks,
> >> > > >
> >> > > > Joe
> >> > > >
> >> > > > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
> >> > > iana-issues@iana.org>
> >> > > > wrote:
> >> > > >
> >> > > > > Hello Joe,
> >> > > > >
> >> > > > > Apologies for the delay in my response. I hope you are doing
> >> > > > > well.
> >> > > > >
> >> > > > > Quick question for your request below. In the document there are
> >> > > > > 2
> >> > > > > requests for parameter registrations. Are you requesting early
> >> > > allocation
> >> > > > > for both?
> >> > > > >
> >> > > > > Thanks in advance.
> >> > > > >
> >> > > > > --Michelle
> >> > > > >
> >> > > > > On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> >> > > > > > Hi IANA,
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > > We have received a request for early code point assignment for
> >> > > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04. The chairs believe that
> >> > > > > > the
> >> > > draft
> >> > > > > is
> >> > > > > > stable. Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
> >> > > > > > Please
> >> > > let me
> >> > > > > > know if you need more information or have any questions.
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > > Thanks,
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > > Joe
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > > ---------- Forwarded message ---------
> >> > > > > > From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
> >> > > > > > Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
> >> > > > > > Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
> >> > > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
> >> > > > > > To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
> >> > > > > > Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > > On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey wrote:
> >> > > > > > > Hi Ben,
> >> > > > > > >
> >> > > > > > > We have a request for early code point assignment
> >> > > > > > > for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id. We believe the draft
> >> > > > > > > is
> >> > > stable
> >> > > > > and
> >> > > > > > > no one has objected to the early code point announcement on
> >> > > > > > > the
> >> > > list.
> >> > > > > > >
> >> > > > > > > Let me know if you have any questions or need more
> >> > > > > > > information.
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > > I'm happy to see this go forward.
> >> > > > > > (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me, right?)
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > > Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
> >> > > > > >
> >> > > > > > Ben
> >> > > > >
> >> > > > >
> >> > >
> >> > >____
>