Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

"Salz, Rich" <rsalz@akamai.com> Thu, 23 May 2019 16:36 UTC

Return-Path: <rsalz@akamai.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id C25BC12011D; Thu, 23 May 2019 09:36:01 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -0.721
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-0.721 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, HTTPS_HTTP_MISMATCH=1.989, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_LOW=-0.7, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_DKIMWL_WL_HIGH=-0.01] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key) header.d=akamai.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id 3p6gcWZlB8tw; Thu, 23 May 2019 09:35:58 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mx0b-00190b01.pphosted.com (mx0b-00190b01.pphosted.com [IPv6:2620:100:9005:57f::1]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id B91B512006D; Thu, 23 May 2019 09:35:58 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from pps.filterd (m0050102.ppops.net [127.0.0.1]) by m0050102.ppops.net-00190b01. (8.16.0.27/8.16.0.27) with SMTP id x4NGRij0007091; Thu, 23 May 2019 17:35:34 +0100
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=akamai.com; h=from : to : cc : subject : date : message-id : references : in-reply-to : content-type : mime-version; s=jan2016.eng; bh=xir+U0oGDfIMHVIb4QNBGrU0hgy+rX5RvGX6f+PRrCo=; b=SFp26h4H1ejMTlj1BHuHU27NY7vM2Xzqf6NaBPmkhojGNYTcTAJtJVivB2BFuCJMi4Pw UBsIGf+k5vfSQYyjbnPwEsMSXpcT08oWnscVzjjdbvrAqQsfZrn45AqaJV1fY+iJT79L 8jDbFnK8j1JIzNDeLNgDKaIMu9yCzpFyZpzSysRB3sCkJ2NQnGjou299xae8pUWA1a64 GL30oXEGBxOygcOXp1DX+RzhGqDfaCDyO4F9vyCa6wuilnI6by/gflOG1e54nnW0V0aw b//HLn0b1RFg9LZDrTlhlIMzbGuXDZAA6oltX+/69OSQ9HiZlWnZyzk5lhct0oyp+7b3 wA==
Received: from prod-mail-ppoint1 (prod-mail-ppoint1.akamai.com [184.51.33.18] (may be forged)) by m0050102.ppops.net-00190b01. with ESMTP id 2sn8q3w9vv-1 (version=TLSv1.2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 bits=256 verify=NOT); Thu, 23 May 2019 17:35:34 +0100
Received: from pps.filterd (prod-mail-ppoint1.akamai.com [127.0.0.1]) by prod-mail-ppoint1.akamai.com (8.16.0.27/8.16.0.27) with SMTP id x4NGLkjC006458; Thu, 23 May 2019 12:35:32 -0400
Received: from email.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.27.21]) by prod-mail-ppoint1.akamai.com with ESMTP id 2sjdcvw9q9-12 (version=TLSv1.2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384 bits=256 verify=NOT); Thu, 23 May 2019 12:35:27 -0400
Received: from USTX2EX-DAG1MB1.msg.corp.akamai.com (172.27.27.101) by ustx2ex-dag1mb5.msg.corp.akamai.com (172.27.27.105) with Microsoft SMTP Server (TLS) id 15.0.1473.3; Thu, 23 May 2019 11:35:20 -0500
Received: from USTX2EX-DAG1MB1.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.6.131]) by ustx2ex-dag1mb1.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.6.131]) with mapi id 15.00.1473.003; Thu, 23 May 2019 11:35:20 -0500
From: "Salz, Rich" <rsalz@akamai.com>
To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>, "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>, Yoav Nir <ynir.ietf@gmail.com>, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>
CC: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>, tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
Thread-Topic: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
Thread-Index: AQHVEYPd8uoPLz85ZUWRqNsbZy1j56Z4+MEA
Date: Thu, 23 May 2019 16:35:20 +0000
Message-ID: <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16281-1557323478-1569.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoDm7wPLVKd+tOM6RMFu2PhZ4Wz5trS7jyyrusns+=mE9A@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16318-1557325555-1836.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-4435-1557352440-656.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCZzOxJdVGZjp83YCLOktorrxc3bSNp57gqLdt1M4bWgQ@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-12723-1558589242-970.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-27904-1558624173-1826.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com>
In-Reply-To: <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
X-MS-Has-Attach:
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:
user-agent: Microsoft-MacOutlook/10.19.0.190512
x-ms-exchange-messagesentrepresentingtype: 1
x-ms-exchange-transport-fromentityheader: Hosted
x-originating-ip: [172.19.35.79]
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="_000_ABED842055254B00ACE6CBF8B427CF70akamaicom_"
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Proofpoint-Virus-Version: vendor=fsecure engine=2.50.10434:, , definitions=2019-05-23_13:, , signatures=0
X-Proofpoint-Spam-Details: rule=notspam policy=default score=0 suspectscore=0 malwarescore=0 phishscore=0 bulkscore=0 spamscore=0 mlxscore=0 mlxlogscore=999 adultscore=0 classifier=spam adjust=0 reason=mlx scancount=1 engine=8.0.1-1810050000 definitions=main-1905230110
X-Proofpoint-Virus-Version: vendor=fsecure engine=2.50.10434:, , definitions=2019-05-23_13:, , signatures=0
X-Proofpoint-Spam-Details: rule=notspam policy=default score=0 priorityscore=1501 malwarescore=0 suspectscore=0 phishscore=0 bulkscore=0 spamscore=0 clxscore=1011 lowpriorityscore=0 mlxscore=0 impostorscore=0 mlxlogscore=999 adultscore=0 classifier=spam adjust=0 reason=mlx scancount=1 engine=8.0.1-1810050000 definitions=main-1905230112
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/LpXlikPoDTQyCsDqXBJE1SW3fbo>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 23 May 2019 16:36:02 -0000

I don’t recall seeing this until now.  Explicitly copying Yoav and Nick.

I’m one of three and I support this.   Does this work?
                Value 53
                TLS 1.3 –
                Recommended Y
                RFC TBD

From: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
Date: Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
To: "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
Cc: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives so I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere.   The version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05<https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__tools.ietf.org_html_draft-2Dietf-2Dtls-2Ddtls-2Dconnection-2Did-2D05&d=DwMFaQ&c=96ZbZZcaMF4w0F4jpN6LZg&r=4LM0GbR0h9Fvx86FtsKI-w&m=AFFRssmLkZuplUd1HVENEAI4HsfgSfv353Ivwszsxwc&s=6AXFN925MRdSclV8uo2RFkWtrlWPoTZdLcXbR6fzS8g&e=>rlWPoTZdLcXbR6fzS8g&e=>.  The authors have requested early code point assignment and that requires expert approval.

Thanks,

Joe


On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org<mailto:iana-matrix@iana.org>> wrote:
Hi Joe,

We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org<mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org> on 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't heard back from the experts regarding this request, could you let us know if you still don't see it in the archives?

Thank you,
Sabrina

On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net<mailto:joe@salowey.net> wrote:
> Hi Sabrina,
>
> Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA initiate
> this?
> I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the archives
> for the
> tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org<mailto:tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org> yet.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Joe
>
> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
> issues@iana.org<mailto:issues@iana.org>>
> wrote:
>
> > Hi Joe,
> >
> > We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but we
> > need to
> > ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
> >
> > Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType Values is
> > Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts to
> > review and
> > approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can make an
> > early
> > allocation.
> >
> > Thanks,
> >
> > Sabrina Tanamal
> > Senior IANA Services Specialist
> >
> > On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net<mailto:joe@salowey.net> wrote:
> > > Hi Michelle,
> > >
> > > Yes, this is a request for both.
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > >
> > > Joe
> > >
> > > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
> > iana-issues@iana.org<mailto:iana-issues@iana.org>>
> > > wrote:
> > >
> > > > Hello Joe,
> > > >
> > > > Apologies for the delay in my response.  I hope you are doing
> > > > well.
> > > >
> > > > Quick question for your request below.  In the document there are
> > > > 2
> > > > requests for parameter registrations.  Are you requesting early
> > allocation
> > > > for both?
> > > >
> > > > Thanks in advance.
> > > >
> > > > --Michelle
> > > >
> > > > On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net<mailto:joe@salowey.net> wrote:
> > > > > Hi IANA,
> > > > >
> > > > > We have received a request for  early code point assignment for
> > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04.  The chairs believe that
> > > > > the
> > draft
> > > > is
> > > > > stable.  Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
> > > > > Please
> > let me
> > > > > know if you need more information or have any questions.
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks,
> > > > >
> > > > > Joe
> > > > >
> > > > > ---------- Forwarded message ---------
> > > > > From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu<mailto:kaduk@mit.edu>>
> > > > > Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
> > > > > Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
> > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
> > > > > To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net<mailto:joe@salowey.net>>
> > > > > Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org<mailto:tls-chairs@ietf.org>>, <tls-reg-review@ietf.org<mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>>
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey wrote:
> > > > > > Hi Ben,
> > > > > >
> > > > > > We have a request for early code point assignment
> > > > > > for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.  We believe the draft
> > > > > > is
> > stable
> > > > and
> > > > > > no one has objected to the early code point announcement on
> > > > > > the
> > list.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Let me know if you have any questions or need more
> > > > > > information.
> > > > >
> > > > > I'm happy to see this go forward.
> > > > > (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me, right?)
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
> > > > >
> > > > > Ben
> > > >
> > > >
> >
> >