Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com> Wed, 26 June 2019 17:04 UTC

Return-Path: <sean@sn3rd.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 28E64120396 for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 26 Jun 2019 10:04:55 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.999
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.999 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_NONE=-0.0001, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=unavailable autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (1024-bit key) header.d=sn3rd.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id PTb_AM8YHcyD for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 26 Jun 2019 10:04:52 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qt1-x833.google.com (mail-qt1-x833.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:4864:20::833]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 663CA120433 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 26 Jun 2019 10:04:52 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by mail-qt1-x833.google.com with SMTP id w40so3210930qtk.0 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 26 Jun 2019 10:04:52 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=sn3rd.com; s=google; h=mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=f2/Obb9qyuxlQIven+IfHJgW0XhWmCrT1Xawu9m7ikM=; b=Rn7ZXwdVPGL/LlXwSEKNoE/HHZe/hLphTkcEhd4azuoZHt9LqNz1Yle8cWYs1wkkQK AC6EC1qb5mHa7GfidZc5kFM0+I6keCUx/5rf3saC8YvKgR6nUzgwkHPg9nTkeZrJr/Yp 3zE/C/BgEyheeg9EtA1OAc09BToF0TyLzttUM=
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20161025; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=f2/Obb9qyuxlQIven+IfHJgW0XhWmCrT1Xawu9m7ikM=; b=bTdiNWN7eZaCDoooUETmG45LbFG6BoWakfiMrYMAbqhikUoU9GHGXc4iBwm9SBA4Wi C4mwTD0hlrEB6lXpJp8x/+WfeLFfpMNvkjLYdN4NEntcGqE+3zpKrFNOnwA/thUAg3aJ ej0aIUo86I+3D0fcUFL2TAeGd8QyGopLtvEo459fatLMQYKzyXvNX7bFHId45VySQTG1 AgZdtDhoP0sywBvpMy/RoY6emeuoUFqgzo4+6orLWOzWFkut1RYOrkF46eQ0ZC2YG/nw Qa0uRM6Zy7XDQIMEBMzh0sc0jzstN+aSIy3Wp0VgzNU22tLr49YMx0h7GPIs+OPNu0ES pmwQ==
X-Gm-Message-State: APjAAAW2oiNI+Uzp5bud2QEFDIUcYDeXcC7AYXP5FuWRVV5DEOqIyrIk oGdKanxR3UIjr/MPWJ2ytMJpQw==
X-Google-Smtp-Source: APXvYqySRqUy9nlKQ16+Sy6OwzTgw5ZMDDc5di48wb/cctSZmtBUhFqcWhm3usD8qU0600Ak6j6ZjA==
X-Received: by 2002:a0c:b755:: with SMTP id q21mr4358494qve.92.1561568187474; Wed, 26 Jun 2019 09:56:27 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from ?IPv6:2601:151:4501:12ca:387e:c72:6b68:357? ([2601:151:4501:12ca:387e:c72:6b68:357]) by smtp.gmail.com with ESMTPSA id z18sm9408404qka.12.2019.06.26.09.56.26 (version=TLS1_2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 bits=128/128); Wed, 26 Jun 2019 09:56:26 -0700 (PDT)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.11\))
From: Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com>
In-Reply-To: <A5072BEF-B82D-42A0-9703-422A98099BC4@sn3rd.com>
Date: Wed, 26 Jun 2019 12:56:25 -0400
Cc: tls-reg-review@ietf.org, TLS Chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>, Rich Salz <rsalz@akamai.com>, Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>, Amanda Baber via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <C20B3CDF-07AC-4C5A-B4D7-0A5AB1BF3973@sn3rd.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com> <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com> <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com> <0D22003A-76E4-42E4-8741-BC8CE70FF67F@sn3rd.com> <C9CA0D8A-78D3-4939-B126-A2E5DF805A90@akamai.com> <rt-4.4.3-6217-1560717976-563.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-1191-1561416859-1035.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <A5072BEF-B82D-42A0-9703-422A98099BC4@sn3rd.com>
To: Yoav Nir <ynir.ietf@gmail.com>, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.11)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/QpWlGYX3V4HaaySOr3xUV8oy0uk>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Wed, 26 Jun 2019 17:04:55 -0000

Yoav or Nick,

If we need two approvals, can one of your confirm these assignments:

Registry: TLS ExtensionType Values
Value: 53
Extension Name: connection_id

Registry: TLS ContentType Registry
Value: 25
Extension Name: tls12_cid

Thanks!

spt

> On Jun 24, 2019, at 21:49, Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com> wrote:
> 
> An excellent question :). When we are done there will be two code points assigned for this draft.
> 
> spt
> 
>> On Jun 24, 2019, at 18:54, Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:
>> 
>> Hi all, 
>> 
>> Does IANA need to make one or more assignments right now? We understand that we need approvals from at least two designated experts in order to proceed. 
>> 
>> Thanks,
>> Sabrina
>> 
>> On Sun Jun 16 20:46:16 2019, rsalz@akamai.com wrote:
>>> So looking at the registry, it seems that
>>> 25  tls1.2 connection id y
>>> Makes sense.
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> On 6/16/19, 1:47 PM, "Sean Turner" <sean@sn3rd.com> wrote:
>>> 
>>> So … it turns out there are two registry requests for this draft:
>>> 
>>> 1) TLS ExtensionType Values: connection_id
>>> 
>>> I think we got a number assigned here, but we need a couple of tweaks
>>> in the IANA section (I will submit a PR):
>>> 
>>> a) Needs to request new column for DTLS-only
>>> b) Needs to specify TLS1.3 Column value.  I beieive the value should
>>> be empty as this is only applicable to DTLS 1.2.  To amke this clear
>>> we should ask for a note.
>>> 
>>> 2) TLS ContentType Registry: tls12_cid
>>> 
>>> We still a number assignment for this one.
>>> 
>>> spt
>>> 
>>>> On May 23, 2019, at 13:59, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com> wrote:
>>>> 
>>>> This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way to
>>>> indicate that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I don't
>>>> think that's an issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else has
>>>> an objection.
>>>> 
>>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> I don’t recall seeing this until now.  Explicitly copying Yoav and
>>>> Nick.
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> I’m one of three and I support this.   Does this work?
>>>> 
>>>> Value 53
>>>> 
>>>> TLS 1.3 –
>>>> 
>>>> Recommended Y
>>>> 
>>>> RFC TBD
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> From: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
>>>> Date: Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
>>>> To: "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-
>>>> review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
>>>> Cc: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-
>>>> chairs@ietf.org>
>>>> Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point
>>>> assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives so
>>>> I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere.   The
>>>> version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here
>>>> https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05.
>>>> The authors have requested early code point assignment and that
>>>> requires expert approval.
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> Thanks,
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> Joe
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>>> matrix@iana.org> wrote:
>>>> 
>>>> Hi Joe,
>>>> 
>>>> We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org on
>>>> 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't heard back
>>>> from the experts regarding this request, could you let us know if you
>>>> still don't see it in the archives?
>>>> 
>>>> Thank you,
>>>> Sabrina
>>>> 
>>>> On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>> Hi Sabrina,
>>>>> 
>>>>> Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA initiate
>>>>> this?
>>>>> I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the archives
>>>>> for the
>>>>> tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
>>>>> 
>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>> 
>>>>> Joe
>>>>> 
>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>>>> issues@iana.org>
>>>>> wrote:
>>>>> 
>>>>>> Hi Joe,
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but we
>>>>>> need to
>>>>>> ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType Values
>>>>>> is
>>>>>> Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts to
>>>>>> review and
>>>>>> approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can make
>>>>>> an
>>>>>> early
>>>>>> allocation.
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Sabrina Tanamal
>>>>>> Senior IANA Services Specialist
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>>> Hi Michelle,
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Yes, this is a request for both.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
>>>>>> iana-issues@iana.org>
>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Hello Joe,
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Apologies for the delay in my response.  I hope you are doing
>>>>>>>> well.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Quick question for your request below.  In the document there
>>>>>>>> are
>>>>>>>> 2
>>>>>>>> requests for parameter registrations.  Are you requesting
>>>>>>>> early
>>>>>> allocation
>>>>>>>> for both?
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Thanks in advance.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> --Michelle
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>>>>> Hi IANA,
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> We have received a request for  early code point assignment
>>>>>>>>> for
>>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04.  The chairs believe
>>>>>>>>> that
>>>>>>>>> the
>>>>>> draft
>>>>>>>> is
>>>>>>>>> stable.  Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
>>>>>>>>> Please
>>>>>> let me
>>>>>>>>> know if you need more information or have any questions.
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> ---------- Forwarded message ---------
>>>>>>>>> From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
>>>>>>>>> Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
>>>>>>>>> Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
>>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
>>>>>>>>> To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
>>>>>>>>> Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-
>>>>>>>>> review@ietf.org>
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey
>>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>>>> Hi Ben,
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> We have a request for early code point assignment
>>>>>>>>>> for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.  We believe the
>>>>>>>>>> draft
>>>>>>>>>> is
>>>>>> stable
>>>>>>>> and
>>>>>>>>>> no one has objected to the early code point announcement
>>>>>>>>>> on
>>>>>>>>>> the
>>>>>> list.
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Let me know if you have any questions or need more
>>>>>>>>>> information.
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> I'm happy to see this go forward.
>>>>>>>>> (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me, right?)
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Ben
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> 
>>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>> 
>