Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

"Salz, Rich" <rsalz@akamai.com> Thu, 13 June 2019 16:19 UTC

Return-Path: <rsalz@akamai.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id D5B14120450; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 09:19:54 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.709
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.709 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_LOW=-0.7, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_DKIMWL_WL_HIGH=-0.01, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key) header.d=akamai.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id IDnkZ3h5FCQS; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 09:19:51 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mx0a-00190b01.pphosted.com (mx0a-00190b01.pphosted.com [IPv6:2620:100:9001:583::1]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id EFD48120433; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 09:19:50 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from pps.filterd (m0050095.ppops.net [127.0.0.1]) by m0050095.ppops.net-00190b01. (8.16.0.27/8.16.0.27) with SMTP id x5DG2aBu005934; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 17:19:27 +0100
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=akamai.com; h=from : to : cc : subject : date : message-id : references : in-reply-to : content-type : content-id : content-transfer-encoding : mime-version; s=jan2016.eng; bh=/cpnVjf6rVvaw64jUR3NL1l1JUAE1MUNEt8b5UuHd6I=; b=k3Zva3cH0hfjR08BQHCOnvSSTFGDk0z2oft+cz3tZ3+6Z0+nWRrYF8DSwzKxPcVRa/os Ms7e/k3YL2Etmr7biNmY80VX97+ZNA0uVQck7dtJhIx0P2nFki+h7t5lhCcH5gkvgmTM JYCRfeJl8qEp3fRv81+aHUnXF0acEj6nALV6d/u+u3YRy0IcCOrmG0WZeBqGK3rsC4N2 Pfh191aBfoLnbFFPkmkkqesiWtCPSgKgRaC5Ny5ocspDKiMGezzT5pTfm1zbij44V7wT /ehUJgzDMXK6sYepZeSm/QXd/r21g3GT/dnyG7OAtLyoj2UMYv13KNybSR0zx4Y7WiAG Kw==
Received: from prod-mail-ppoint2 (prod-mail-ppoint2.akamai.com [184.51.33.19] (may be forged)) by m0050095.ppops.net-00190b01. with ESMTP id 2t2maaygua-1 (version=TLSv1.2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 bits=256 verify=NOT); Thu, 13 Jun 2019 17:19:27 +0100
Received: from pps.filterd (prod-mail-ppoint2.akamai.com [127.0.0.1]) by prod-mail-ppoint2.akamai.com (8.16.0.27/8.16.0.27) with SMTP id x5DG2E0K000340; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 12:19:26 -0400
Received: from email.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.123.31]) by prod-mail-ppoint2.akamai.com with ESMTP id 2t08bxc2cw-3 (version=TLSv1.2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384 bits=256 verify=NOT); Thu, 13 Jun 2019 12:19:25 -0400
Received: from USMA1EX-DAG1MB1.msg.corp.akamai.com (172.27.123.101) by usma1ex-dag1mb6.msg.corp.akamai.com (172.27.123.65) with Microsoft SMTP Server (TLS) id 15.0.1473.3; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 12:19:05 -0400
Received: from USMA1EX-DAG1MB1.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.123.101]) by usma1ex-dag1mb1.msg.corp.akamai.com ([172.27.123.101]) with mapi id 15.00.1473.004; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 12:19:05 -0400
From: "Salz, Rich" <rsalz@akamai.com>
To: Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com>
CC: "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>, Joe Salowey <joe@salowey.net>, "ynir.ietf@gmail.com" <ynir.ietf@gmail.com>, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
Thread-Topic: [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
Thread-Index: AQHVIfsLGhmXqwEo0k62SeMQUvDmuaaZw3kA
Date: Thu, 13 Jun 2019 16:19:04 +0000
Message-ID: <80B5CED2-88C0-48BC-A693-2E90074DD635@akamai.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-27904-1558624173-1826.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com> <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com> <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com> <f4de392d-ae22-4380-b882-424d5e96ef53@www.fastmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-11518-1558983588-1586.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-13608-1560269703-1675.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <D1A102AA-0FCC-4EDF-ABB5-EF66DE7FA0D9@akamai.com> <BE3C458C-013A-46D5-ACD7-720738498B6D@sn3rd.com>
In-Reply-To: <BE3C458C-013A-46D5-ACD7-720738498B6D@sn3rd.com>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
X-MS-Has-Attach:
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:
user-agent: Microsoft-MacOutlook/10.1a.0.190609
x-ms-exchange-messagesentrepresentingtype: 1
x-ms-exchange-transport-fromentityheader: Hosted
x-originating-ip: [172.19.34.148]
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
Content-ID: <19D8BA5B9824DD4BB217ABF53589F349@akamai.com>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: base64
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Proofpoint-Virus-Version: vendor=fsecure engine=2.50.10434:, , definitions=2019-06-13_10:, , signatures=0
X-Proofpoint-Spam-Details: rule=notspam policy=default score=0 suspectscore=0 malwarescore=0 phishscore=0 bulkscore=0 spamscore=0 mlxscore=0 mlxlogscore=999 adultscore=0 classifier=spam adjust=0 reason=mlx scancount=1 engine=8.0.1-1810050000 definitions=main-1906130119
X-Proofpoint-Virus-Version: vendor=fsecure engine=2.50.10434:, , definitions=2019-06-13_10:, , signatures=0
X-Proofpoint-Spam-Details: rule=notspam policy=default score=0 priorityscore=1501 malwarescore=0 suspectscore=0 phishscore=0 bulkscore=0 spamscore=0 clxscore=1011 lowpriorityscore=0 mlxscore=0 impostorscore=0 mlxlogscore=999 adultscore=0 classifier=spam adjust=0 reason=mlx scancount=1 engine=8.0.1-1810050000 definitions=main-1906130119
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/kGafZRixeuTsgSp8Sm6kT1--3f4>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 13 Jun 2019 16:20:02 -0000

That would work (for now) and seems the fastest path forward.

So we approve the assignment and a rev'd draft will contain the annotation Sean mentions.

On 6/13/19, 11:16 AM, "Sean Turner" <sean@sn3rd.com> wrote:

    I think we could do this by updating the IANA considerations section in draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.
    
    spt
    
    > On Jun 11, 2019, at 12:17, Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
    > 
    > How long would it take to add a comment field or a {dtls/tls/both} column?
    > 
    > On 6/11/19, 12:15 PM, "Sabrina Tanamal via RT" <iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:
    > 
    >    Hi all, 
    > 
    >    Can you let us know if we can proceed with this request or is there discussion needed based on the questions asked by Chris and Nick? 
    > 
    >    NOTE: We're trying to figure out if there's an issue with the mailing list, so we're explicitly copying Rich, Yoav and Nick. 
    > 
    >    Thanks,
    > 
    >    Sabrina Tanamal
    >    Senior IANA Services Specialist
    > 
    >    On Mon May 27 18:59:48 2019, caw@heapingbits.net wrote:
    >> I’ve no strong objections, though erring on the side of clarity is
    >> probably best. How difficult would it be to add a field to distinguish
    >> between the two?
    >> 
    >> Best,
    >> Chris
    >> 
    >> On Thu, May 23, 2019, at 11:00 AM, Nick Sullivan wrote:
    >>> This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way to
    >>> indicate that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I don't
    >>> think that's an issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else has
    >>> an objection.
    >>> 
    >>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
    >>>> __ __
    >>> 
    >>>> I don’t recall seeing this until now. Explicitly copying Yoav and
    >>>> Nick.____
    >>> 
    >>>> __ __
    >>> 
    >>>> I’m one of three and I support this. Does this work?____
    >>> 
    >>>> Value 53____
    >>> 
    >>>> TLS 1.3 –____
    >>> 
    >>>> Recommended Y____
    >>> 
    >>>> RFC TBD____
    >>> 
    >>>> __ __
    >>> 
    >>>> *From: *Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
    >>>> *Date: *Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
    >>>> *To: *"iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-
    >>>> review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
    >>>> *Cc: *Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-
    >>>> chairs@ietf.org>
    >>>> *Subject: *Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-
    >>>> point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id____
    >>> 
    >>>> __ __
    >>> 
    >>>> I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives
    >>>> so I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere. The
    >>>> version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here
    >>>> https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05
    >>>> <https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-
    >>>> 3A__tools.ietf.org_html_draft-2Dietf-2Dtls-2Ddtls-2Dconnection-
    >>>> 2Did-2D05&d=DwMFaQ&c=96ZbZZcaMF4w0F4jpN6LZg&r=4LM0GbR0h9Fvx86FtsKI-
    >>>> w&m=AFFRssmLkZuplUd1HVENEAI4HsfgSfv353Ivwszsxwc&s=6AXFN925MRdSclV8uo2RFkWtrlWPoTZdLcXbR6fzS8g&e=>.
    >>>> The authors have requested early code point assignment and that
    >>>> requires expert approval. ____
    >>> 
    >>>> __ __
    >>> 
    >>>> Thanks,____
    >>> 
    >>>> __ __
    >>> 
    >>>> Joe____
    >>> 
    >>>> __ __
    >>> 
    >>>> __ __
    >>> 
    >>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
    >>>> matrix@iana.org> wrote:____
    >>> 
    >>>>> Hi Joe,
    >>>>> 
    >>>>> We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org
    >>>>> on 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't
    >>>>> heard back from the experts regarding this request, could you let
    >>>>> us know if you still don't see it in the archives?
    >>>>> 
    >>>>> Thank you,
    >>>>> Sabrina
    >>>>> 
    >>>>> On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
    >>>>>> Hi Sabrina,
    >>>>>> 
    >>>>>> Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA
    >>>>>> initiate
    >>>>>> this?
    >>>>>> I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the
    >>>>>> archives
    >>>>>> for the
    >>>>>> tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
    >>>>>> 
    >>>>>> Thanks,
    >>>>>> 
    >>>>>> Joe
    >>>>>> 
    >>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
    >>>>>> issues@iana.org>
    >>>>>> wrote:
    >>>>>> 
    >>>>>>> Hi Joe,
    >>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>> We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but
    >>>>>>> we
    >>>>>>> need to
    >>>>>>> ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
    >>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>> Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType
    >>>>>>> Values is
    >>>>>>> Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts
    >>>>>>> to
    >>>>>>> review and
    >>>>>>> approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can
    >>>>>>> make an
    >>>>>>> early
    >>>>>>> allocation.
    >>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>> Thanks,
    >>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>> Sabrina Tanamal
    >>>>>>> Senior IANA Services Specialist
    >>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>> On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
    >>>>>>>> Hi Michelle,
    >>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>> Yes, this is a request for both.
    >>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>> Thanks,
    >>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>> Joe
    >>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
    >>>>>>> iana-issues@iana.org>
    >>>>>>>> wrote:
    >>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>> Hello Joe,
    >>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>> Apologies for the delay in my response. I hope you are
    >>>>>>>>> doing
    >>>>>>>>> well.
    >>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>> Quick question for your request below. In the document
    >>>>>>>>> there are
    >>>>>>>>> 2
    >>>>>>>>> requests for parameter registrations. Are you requesting
    >>>>>>>>> early
    >>>>>>> allocation
    >>>>>>>>> for both?
    >>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>> Thanks in advance.
    >>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>> --Michelle
    >>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>> On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
    >>>>>>>>>> Hi IANA,
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> We have received a request for early code point
    >>>>>>>>>> assignment for
    >>>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04. The chairs believe
    >>>>>>>>>> that
    >>>>>>>>>> the
    >>>>>>> draft
    >>>>>>>>> is
    >>>>>>>>>> stable. Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
    >>>>>>>>>> Please
    >>>>>>> let me
    >>>>>>>>>> know if you need more information or have any questions.
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> Thanks,
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> Joe
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> ---------- Forwarded message ---------
    >>>>>>>>>> From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
    >>>>>>>>>> Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
    >>>>>>>>>> Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
    >>>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
    >>>>>>>>>> To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
    >>>>>>>>>> Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-
    >>>>>>>>>> review@ietf.org>
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey
    >>>>>>>>>> wrote:
    >>>>>>>>>>> Hi Ben,
    >>>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>>> We have a request for early code point assignment
    >>>>>>>>>>> for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id. We believe the
    >>>>>>>>>>> draft
    >>>>>>>>>>> is
    >>>>>>> stable
    >>>>>>>>> and
    >>>>>>>>>>> no one has objected to the early code point
    >>>>>>>>>>> announcement on
    >>>>>>>>>>> the
    >>>>>>> list.
    >>>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>>> Let me know if you have any questions or need more
    >>>>>>>>>>> information.
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> I'm happy to see this go forward.
    >>>>>>>>>> (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me,
    >>>>>>>>>> right?)
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
    >>>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>>> Ben
    >>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>> 
    >>>>>>> ____
    >>> 
    > 
    >