Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com> Thu, 13 June 2019 15:17 UTC

Return-Path: <sean@sn3rd.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 515F212040B for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 08:17:11 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.999
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.999 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_NONE=-0.0001, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (1024-bit key) header.d=sn3rd.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id Ymb-QzR9BDo8 for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 08:17:06 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qt1-x82d.google.com (mail-qt1-x82d.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:4864:20::82d]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 37982120416 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 08:16:53 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by mail-qt1-x82d.google.com with SMTP id p15so3596873qtl.3 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 08:16:53 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=sn3rd.com; s=google; h=mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=c/1hxtELvus1Lhvp6d10MGtH4zcEppMWk4S5bwbD5b8=; b=ZRlFOoIGIxk5g64TKFj4Tl29jvoWjJl67m+XhtkdXlCcFspS/n/RrqYVYtKL+gFw40 JnGTpCHZ/1hA1f9FkP7NRN0T6JSCVaQIzgCr1h/PzyHWBJs7sjOJsoKEs3n5attHwjcx yNGHXx8MTE6Z4+T7FQ6GohTMmuXm57O20CfSs=
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20161025; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=c/1hxtELvus1Lhvp6d10MGtH4zcEppMWk4S5bwbD5b8=; b=OTGLlWvoMY7AsDb1iAw29OPLTAJeD+D5OMtU5ivHS1EYSJi7mhbSPxRwwt/zYL9pPm EnhDjLZKX1BvcC0G3QS1WsvwCawqprcZlhAIApcj045Onlrx2LGq2JszeMOiF8XK8rKn 8Z5ra/Lh11RGSSmDQuVNd9N5p7BmZpoCkU0s67e1f/ulOGHYcs68QZ2wb3C2wRb8uX5L UtK0GRXKqTt76ivnCkQ/KF7XAODJVV3hl+3bUlCuQ2ESTA49hWu/wIkYhOm+MR+EtyZW NJCQRD5BLiPOH9FuBYHNVyBVEChupllwaR+ROp+Eg/2yGtxxsPe2XEruOEY4wGrW2nim 1QIw==
X-Gm-Message-State: APjAAAXWTy4pNgu1f32gDRAE+UBIsFPg0yaAdbzbyVIDpNWVZfEgMS9Q KjPx4TG+4E5lA7951m73h6Vtgw==
X-Google-Smtp-Source: APXvYqxIVcjWpCdvxvTJjQRpoa42Q65QypSONHVW0F2Tc8jv7rGTKdjOP8Eiz26DKVramiouKVN7vw==
X-Received: by 2002:a0c:afeb:: with SMTP id t40mr4131048qvc.28.1560439012299; Thu, 13 Jun 2019 08:16:52 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [5.5.33.155] ([204.194.23.17]) by smtp.gmail.com with ESMTPSA id i22sm1938549qti.30.2019.06.13.08.16.48 (version=TLS1_2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 bits=128/128); Thu, 13 Jun 2019 08:16:51 -0700 (PDT)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.11\))
From: Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com>
In-Reply-To: <D1A102AA-0FCC-4EDF-ABB5-EF66DE7FA0D9@akamai.com>
Date: Thu, 13 Jun 2019 11:16:47 -0400
Cc: "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>, Joe Salowey <joe@salowey.net>, "ynir.ietf@gmail.com" <ynir.ietf@gmail.com>, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <BE3C458C-013A-46D5-ACD7-720738498B6D@sn3rd.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-27904-1558624173-1826.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com> <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com> <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com> <f4de392d-ae22-4380-b882-424d5e96ef53@www.fastmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-11518-1558983588-1586.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-13608-1560269703-1675.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <D1A102AA-0FCC-4EDF-ABB5-EF66DE7FA0D9@akamai.com>
To: Rich Salz <rsalz@akamai.com>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.11)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/s62H9W0x6i_TDSNihDXnCyTaPH8>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 13 Jun 2019 15:17:11 -0000

I think we could do this by updating the IANA considerations section in draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.

spt

> On Jun 11, 2019, at 12:17, Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
> 
> How long would it take to add a comment field or a {dtls/tls/both} column?
> 
> On 6/11/19, 12:15 PM, "Sabrina Tanamal via RT" <iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:
> 
>    Hi all, 
> 
>    Can you let us know if we can proceed with this request or is there discussion needed based on the questions asked by Chris and Nick? 
> 
>    NOTE: We're trying to figure out if there's an issue with the mailing list, so we're explicitly copying Rich, Yoav and Nick. 
> 
>    Thanks,
> 
>    Sabrina Tanamal
>    Senior IANA Services Specialist
> 
>    On Mon May 27 18:59:48 2019, caw@heapingbits.net wrote:
>> I’ve no strong objections, though erring on the side of clarity is
>> probably best. How difficult would it be to add a field to distinguish
>> between the two?
>> 
>> Best,
>> Chris
>> 
>> On Thu, May 23, 2019, at 11:00 AM, Nick Sullivan wrote:
>>> This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way to
>>> indicate that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I don't
>>> think that's an issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else has
>>> an objection.
>>> 
>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
>>>> __ __
>>> 
>>>> I don’t recall seeing this until now. Explicitly copying Yoav and
>>>> Nick.____
>>> 
>>>> __ __
>>> 
>>>> I’m one of three and I support this. Does this work?____
>>> 
>>>> Value 53____
>>> 
>>>> TLS 1.3 –____
>>> 
>>>> Recommended Y____
>>> 
>>>> RFC TBD____
>>> 
>>>> __ __
>>> 
>>>> *From: *Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
>>>> *Date: *Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
>>>> *To: *"iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-
>>>> review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
>>>> *Cc: *Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-
>>>> chairs@ietf.org>
>>>> *Subject: *Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-
>>>> point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id____
>>> 
>>>> __ __
>>> 
>>>> I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives
>>>> so I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere. The
>>>> version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here
>>>> https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05
>>>> <https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-
>>>> 3A__tools.ietf.org_html_draft-2Dietf-2Dtls-2Ddtls-2Dconnection-
>>>> 2Did-2D05&d=DwMFaQ&c=96ZbZZcaMF4w0F4jpN6LZg&r=4LM0GbR0h9Fvx86FtsKI-
>>>> w&m=AFFRssmLkZuplUd1HVENEAI4HsfgSfv353Ivwszsxwc&s=6AXFN925MRdSclV8uo2RFkWtrlWPoTZdLcXbR6fzS8g&e=>.
>>>> The authors have requested early code point assignment and that
>>>> requires expert approval. ____
>>> 
>>>> __ __
>>> 
>>>> Thanks,____
>>> 
>>>> __ __
>>> 
>>>> Joe____
>>> 
>>>> __ __
>>> 
>>>> __ __
>>> 
>>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>>> matrix@iana.org> wrote:____
>>> 
>>>>> Hi Joe,
>>>>> 
>>>>> We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org
>>>>> on 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't
>>>>> heard back from the experts regarding this request, could you let
>>>>> us know if you still don't see it in the archives?
>>>>> 
>>>>> Thank you,
>>>>> Sabrina
>>>>> 
>>>>> On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>> Hi Sabrina,
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA
>>>>>> initiate
>>>>>> this?
>>>>>> I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the
>>>>>> archives
>>>>>> for the
>>>>>> tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>>>>> issues@iana.org>
>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Hi Joe,
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but
>>>>>>> we
>>>>>>> need to
>>>>>>> ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType
>>>>>>> Values is
>>>>>>> Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts
>>>>>>> to
>>>>>>> review and
>>>>>>> approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can
>>>>>>> make an
>>>>>>> early
>>>>>>> allocation.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Sabrina Tanamal
>>>>>>> Senior IANA Services Specialist
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>>>> Hi Michelle,
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Yes, this is a request for both.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
>>>>>>> iana-issues@iana.org>
>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Hello Joe,
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Apologies for the delay in my response. I hope you are
>>>>>>>>> doing
>>>>>>>>> well.
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Quick question for your request below. In the document
>>>>>>>>> there are
>>>>>>>>> 2
>>>>>>>>> requests for parameter registrations. Are you requesting
>>>>>>>>> early
>>>>>>> allocation
>>>>>>>>> for both?
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Thanks in advance.
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> --Michelle
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>>>>>> Hi IANA,
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> We have received a request for early code point
>>>>>>>>>> assignment for
>>>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04. The chairs believe
>>>>>>>>>> that
>>>>>>>>>> the
>>>>>>> draft
>>>>>>>>> is
>>>>>>>>>> stable. Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
>>>>>>>>>> Please
>>>>>>> let me
>>>>>>>>>> know if you need more information or have any questions.
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> ---------- Forwarded message ---------
>>>>>>>>>> From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
>>>>>>>>>> Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
>>>>>>>>>> Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
>>>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
>>>>>>>>>> To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
>>>>>>>>>> Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-
>>>>>>>>>> review@ietf.org>
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey
>>>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>>>>> Hi Ben,
>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>> We have a request for early code point assignment
>>>>>>>>>>> for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id. We believe the
>>>>>>>>>>> draft
>>>>>>>>>>> is
>>>>>>> stable
>>>>>>>>> and
>>>>>>>>>>> no one has objected to the early code point
>>>>>>>>>>> announcement on
>>>>>>>>>>> the
>>>>>>> list.
>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>> Let me know if you have any questions or need more
>>>>>>>>>>> information.
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> I'm happy to see this go forward.
>>>>>>>>>> (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me,
>>>>>>>>>> right?)
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Ben
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> ____
>>> 
> 
>