Re: [Uri-review] URI scheme registration request - dchub

Fredrik Ullner <ullner@gmail.com> Thu, 21 February 2013 21:07 UTC

Return-Path: <ullner@gmail.com>
X-Original-To: uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9787521F8E65; Thu, 21 Feb 2013 13:07:58 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.598
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.598 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-2.599, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, NO_RELAYS=-0.001, WEIRD_PORT=0.001]
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([64.170.98.30]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id 4Dnt6F3SOhCe; Thu, 21 Feb 2013 13:07:56 -0800 (PST)
Received: from mail-ia0-x236.google.com (ia-in-x0236.1e100.net [IPv6:2607:f8b0:4001:c02::236]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 27C3221F8E57; Thu, 21 Feb 2013 13:07:56 -0800 (PST)
Received: by mail-ia0-f182.google.com with SMTP id k38so1954374iah.13 for <multiple recipients>; Thu, 21 Feb 2013 13:07:55 -0800 (PST)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:x-received:in-reply-to:references:date:message-id :subject:from:to:cc:content-type; bh=j3dugbjpn8cWUHWBYRkxcMEw6NdYS7UdBJ9eJMMlFsE=; b=iM83ExojPslgsIXB2BSnIj5LX6hFw2lhY8ndb6EjQh/03Z6u0Y5DcFwuzuP7KqNG/a LLgD7cTiUlA66Dw+aS0YpHNHuggFbzt46y/9oQzrNVIJl1lCtoFZFHwlrr0YGSs08wRM ckddF7AHSRvUi6O2lfmocl1mXvUx9iJuSo2ZyGRDVdpQgD0XzKQve5ueUHtuEdcOlFNd uCdXonJadD3n2ifoZpAEV7Muk6GuLeEfFoaoLxhlfvvRGcjNJqnAK1qpw5cyT7p1awYb brhCpGaNZKeUbhJnId+srsU7GMWSRPdEbJ+3aF2f5snBjicxokeKc11YOR7E/krOZcQx 846g==
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Received: by 10.42.150.131 with SMTP id a3mr7310562icw.8.1361480875640; Thu, 21 Feb 2013 13:07:55 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.42.78.131 with HTTP; Thu, 21 Feb 2013 13:07:55 -0800 (PST)
In-Reply-To: <512663B2.20809@tibco.com>
References: <CAOd=0fOPCgEwPWxOm3QDn=QKe8Rb8RmShn5sEL3iBS_z6aOUXg@mail.gmail.com> <512663B2.20809@tibco.com>
Date: Thu, 21 Feb 2013 22:07:55 +0100
Message-ID: <CAOd=0fPuFsoTCh0mcYt_vVi-=Y5Or4oNQT+BYpKZv1zop0vdHA@mail.gmail.com>
From: Fredrik Ullner <ullner@gmail.com>
To: Graham Klyne <GK@ninebynine.org>, Eric Johnson <eric@tibco.com>, Bjoern Hoehrmann <derhoermi@gmx.net>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=90e6ba6e8358f6098504d6427779
Cc: uri-review@ietf.org, "apps-discuss@ietf.org" <apps-discuss@ietf.org>
Subject: Re: [Uri-review] URI scheme registration request - dchub
X-BeenThere: uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.12
Precedence: list
List-Id: Proposed URI Schemes <uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/uri-review>, <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/uri-review>
List-Post: <mailto:uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/uri-review>, <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 21 Feb 2013 21:08:01 -0000

I have uploaded the document to the SVN, so people can track changes that
are made to the document. See it here; <
http://nmdc.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/nmdc/trunk/nmdc-uri-scheme.txt?view=log
>.

The index page of nmdc.sf.net was incorrect, it did not have a news item
for 1.2, which contain more content. Note that the document is descriptive
of the protocol and its implementations and not prescriptive. The protocol
was built in 1999 (i.e., shortly after Napster and before BitTorrent) but
it has been expanded upon many times, but the original version was never
made public, hence reverse engineering efforts.

The protocol is very much still used today as it has been used in the past.
There are still many users using the protocol daily.

Note that the URI was constructed by Jonathan Hess for the original NMDC
client and this is an attempt at a formalization of that scheme. The
phrasing of the scheme is such that some current implementations only
support a partial of the syntax listed. There haven't been any innovation
(to the best of my knowledge) in the URI scheme in the past years.

I appreciate all suggestions and criticism. I didn't expect responses so
quickly. :)

On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 12:09 PM, Bjoern Hoehrmann <derhoermi@gmx.net>;
 wrote:
>
> Link "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_Connect(file_sharing)" should
> be "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_Connect_(file_sharing)".

Ah, yeah, of course.

On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 1:14 PM, Graham Klyne <GK@ninebynine.org>; wrote:
>
> (a) some clear indication that there is good consensus in the relevant
> developer community about what constitutes a suitable specification of the
> protocol (preferably with indications that implementations conforming to
> aid specification are interoperable, but I wouldn't see that as a must-have
> requirement here).
>
I understand the concern, but I am unsure of the type of necessary explicit
consensus here. There are multiple implementations that are interoperable -
isn't that a de facto concensus? The protocol document does not specify
what implementations support what, but I'm not sure if that'd be applicable
in that type of document. (Another document perhaps that could be
interesting.) It wouldn't be difficult to construct such an implementation
matrix, it would simply require some time. (But obviously if that's
necessary to be considered, then that is something that must be done.)

On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 1:14 PM, Graham Klyne <GK@ninebynine.org>; wrote:

> (b) some review within the IETF, or a community with corresponding
> security expertise, of the security considerations.  As they stand, they
> look very thin to me.
>
Noted, and I will discuss with others on potential reviews and revising of
this section (see also below).

On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 7:13 PM, Eric Johnson <eric@tibco.com>; wrote:
>
> The syntax section:
>
>  * [a] discusses semantics. For example: "The client should download the
>    user's file list if path is omitted".
>  * [b] doesn't actually reference the syntax components of RFC 3986. It
>    doesn't explicitly exclude possible portions of the syntax, such as
>    fragment identifiers and queries. Am I to assume that those are
>    allowed, but not specified in their use, or disallowed?
>  * [c] seems to allow "dchub://" as a valid URI, however, if I follow RFC
>    3986 properly, that is not a valid URI, and at least a "host" is
>    required.
>  * [d] Is RFC 3986 "userinfo" allowed in the URI? If so, how does that
>    interact with the protocol?

a) Ah, ok. It could definitely move to the 'scheme' semantics section.
b/d) The syntax presented is what implementations support today. Anything
else apart from the explicit syntax listed should be considered as 'not
allowed' (save for an extension, which there hasn't been any).
c) Ah, "dchub://" would indeed be wrong; a host is required. Doesn't the
current syntax require it? "dchub://<host>" As far as I can tell, that
makes the host required.

On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 7:13 PM, Eric Johnson <eric@tibco.com>; wrote:
>
> The semantics section:
>
>  * [e] should steal the portions from the syntax section that address the
>    meaning of a particular form, and further ought to tie that to
>    specific portions of the spec. As in "download the user's file list"
>    - which NMDC messages does this correspond to?
>  * [f] doesn't discuss at all how one might compare two of these URIs. Is
>    the user name case-sensitive? If characters occur that require
>    encoding via %xx, should those be normalized first before comparison?
>  * [g] Since the URI contains a path, does the path need to be normalized
>    before comparison?

e) Regarding protocol message correspondence: I wasn't aware that that was
required/desirable. Wouldn't the protocol specification specify what
commands were necessary for that? I mean, in the event that the download
command changes (a portion of it has actually done that), one wouldn't want
the URI scheme to be too narrow. (Admittedly, there haven't been changes in
this aspect in years, so there wouldn't be that much of a problem. I just
find it strange to have this type of information in an URI scheme.)
f/g) Nicks are not case-sensitive, as it is up to the hub to enforce this,
although this is not specified anywhere in the spec. I'll make sure to add
that as a note.   Addresses should be treated likewise as case-insensitive,
and I'd say that any such normalization should be done before comparison.
How do other URI schemes specify this in a more succinct manner?

On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 7:13 PM, Eric Johnson <eric@tibco.com>; wrote:
>
> Under the "use" section:
>
>   * [h] An interoperability point is raised here that should be in the
> "interoperability" section.

h) I presume you mean "Not all implementations support the user and path
syntax". All right.

On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 7:13 PM, Eric Johnson <eric@tibco.com>; wrote:
>
> The security section:
> * [i] Future implementations may care about using TLS to secure
>    communications. Will that need the use of "dchubs://", or is the
>    intent that the "dchub:" scheme can serve both purposes?
>  * [j] Might one want to actually include some sort of indicator (such as a
>    hash) in the URI (as part of a query) so that a client can request a
>    file, and if the user or path has changed, and now points to a
>    completely different file, that the provider and consumer of said
>    URI will be able to detect the discrepancy?
>  * [k] What of using weird constructs like "../../../foo/bar", as in
>    "dc-hub://host/myname/../../..**/foo" - does this need to make sure
>    that cannot be used to retrieve a file that wasn't shared, or wasn't
>    intended to be shared with the specific user.
>  * [l] DOS attacks, or DDOS attacks?
>  * [m] Homographs?
>
i) There are indeed implementations that support TLS, and they use the
syntax "nmdcs" (nmdcs://example.com). There is, as far as I'm aware, an
identical syntax and management otherwise. Should that be part of this URI
scheme or should it be filed as a completely separate URI scheme?
j) NMDC uses tiger Tiger Tree Hashes (TTHs), so in theory your suggestion
would be fine. However, no implementation currently supports that type of
syntax.
k) Most (all) implementations have safe guards for the ../ behaviour. I
suppose including a note about in the scheme is fine, although isn't it
more general to have it in the protocol specification ("implementations
should safe guard against relative paths when downloading")?
l) Ah, yes, this was identified (and to some extent managed) years ago.
Clients connecting to a hub will now send a "referrer" during protocol
negotiation (search for 'ref' in the spec) (similar to an HTTP referrer). A
note in the URI scheme sounds good.
m) I wasn't aware that that was a security concern here?

On Thu, Feb 21, 2013 at 7:13 PM, Eric Johnson <eric@tibco.com>; wrote:
>
> The protocol itself ought to be filed as an RFC. That would pretty much
> guarantee permanence of the reference.

It has actually been discussed previously. I have a semi-complete document
written, but it's far from complete. I am also unsure of how one would
manage messages that are now not used by any implementation. If people
would feel that that would be the best approach, then I'm all for it.


I would like to invite people for discussion to the DC community. There is
a development forum at http://dcbase.org as well as the development talk
hub at adcs://hub.dcbase.org:16591 (note that this is another URI scheme
that is intended to be registered in the future). (Download the application
DC++, press Ctrl+Q and enter the adcs:// address to join.) Is there perhaps
an IRC channel otherwise where one can discuss these things?

-- 
Fredrik Ullner