Re: [Uri-review] dvb: URI scheme

Graham Klyne <GK-lists@ninebynine.org> Tue, 30 October 2012 11:41 UTC

Return-Path: <GK-lists@ninebynine.org>
X-Original-To: uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 2C57421F84E7 for <uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Tue, 30 Oct 2012 04:41:42 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -5.607
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-5.607 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-2.599, DATE_IN_PAST_12_24=0.992, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_MED=-4]
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([64.170.98.30]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id PiUw5qocsx6f for <uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Tue, 30 Oct 2012 04:41:40 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from relay9.mail.ox.ac.uk (relay9.mail.ox.ac.uk [163.1.2.169]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id E842221F84E6 for <uri-review@ietf.org>; Tue, 30 Oct 2012 04:41:39 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from smtp0.mail.ox.ac.uk ([129.67.1.205]) by relay9.mail.ox.ac.uk with esmtp (Exim 4.75) (envelope-from <GK-lists@ninebynine.org>) id 1TTACQ-0006oL-T4; Tue, 30 Oct 2012 11:41:38 +0000
Received: from zoo-dhcp04.zoo.ox.ac.uk ([129.67.26.209]) by smtp0.mail.ox.ac.uk with esmtpsa (TLSv1:AES256-SHA:256) (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from <GK-lists@ninebynine.org>) id 1TTACP-000547-29; Tue, 30 Oct 2012 11:41:37 +0000
Message-ID: <508EE26F.30800@ninebynine.org>
Date: Mon, 29 Oct 2012 20:09:19 +0000
From: Graham Klyne <GK-lists@ninebynine.org>
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.8; rv:15.0) Gecko/20120907 Thunderbird/15.0.1
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: Ted Hardie <ted.ietf@gmail.com>
References: <7A0888A2-8A70-4A8B-BD6E-DC6C0725A1D7@bbc.co.uk> <CA+9kkMDmNcrY=HrrHP=2NErOogPRcrMKe7QpRz1ML2RNSSCKUg@mail.gmail.com>
In-Reply-To: <CA+9kkMDmNcrY=HrrHP=2NErOogPRcrMKe7QpRz1ML2RNSSCKUg@mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Oxford-Username: zool0635
Cc: Mo McRoberts <Mo.McRoberts@bbc.co.uk>, "uri-review@ietf.org" <uri-review@ietf.org>, Alexander Adolf <alexander.adolf@me.com>
Subject: Re: [Uri-review] dvb: URI scheme
X-BeenThere: uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.12
Precedence: list
List-Id: Proposed URI Schemes <uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/uri-review>, <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/uri-review>
List-Post: <mailto:uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/uri-review>, <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Tue, 30 Oct 2012 11:41:42 -0000

Hi Ted,

TL;DR: Yes, but this seems like a reasonable step forward from our earlier 
discussions, and IMO more detailed review is appropriate at this juncture.

Mo and I had some moderately extensive discussion of this about the time of the 
provisional registration.

I haven't yet had a look at the latest draft, but in the circumstances it seems 
to me to be a reasonable step forward.  If I recall correctly, I was previously 
a bit concerned about permanent registration of a scheme for which there was no 
freely available specification, so at the time we settled for provisional.  Or 
something like that.

Since then I've got a better sense of the scope of use of this scheme, and Mo 
has made a fair case for "promotion" to permanent status, *provided* there are 
no problems raised by community review (and in the face of problems, permanent 
registration with caveats might yet be an appropriate course).

#g
--


On 29/10/2012 17:48, Ted Hardie wrote:
> Howdy,
>
> I'm assuming that this is
> https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/draft-mcroberts-uri-dvb/ ; the
> datatracker shows that as being in the independent submission queue at
> the RFC Editor.  Have you already gotten feedback from Graham Klyne
> (the IANA expert for this registry)?
>
> regards,
>
> Ted Hardie
>
>
> On Sun, Oct 28, 2012 at 4:30 PM, Mo McRoberts <Mo.McRoberts@bbc.co.uk> wrote:
>> Dear uri-review,
>>
>> Some time ago, I published a rather 'light' I-D which documents the dvb: URI scheme, as used by cable, satellite and terrestrial TVs, PVRs and set-top boxes which adhere to the DVB[1][2] standard (and some more besides).
>>
>> Since then, I've collaborated with Alexander Adolf, who chairs the Generic Data Broadcasting & Service Information Protocols working group[3] of the DVB Project, to flesh out the draft into something which is a little more useful without referring back to the canonical reference for the scheme, ETSI TS 102 851.
>>
>> As we are both relatively satisfied that the draft can be considered stable, we are looking to move from provisional to permanent registration of the scheme at IANA, and publication of the draft as an RFC.
>>
>> As a step towards that, we're putting out this call for comments here.
>>
>> It's probably worth stressing that the intent of the I-D is to document (and codify within the Internet, rather than broadcasting, community) the existing behaviour and design of the scheme; as retrospective documentation goes, this one's covering a scheme which is pretty well-baked. That said, I'm sure Alexander will be more than happy to feed back any constructive criticism of the scheme itself via the DVB TM-GBS group to help shape future editions of the standards.
>>
>> Please do CC: Alexander and me in any replies as we're not subscribed to the list.
>>
>> Many thanks,
>>
>> Mo.
>>
>> [1] http://www.dvb.org
>> [2] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Video_Broadcasting
>> [3] http://www.dvb.org/groups_modules/technical_module/tmgbs/index.xml?groupID=5
>>
>> --
>> Mo McRoberts - Technical Lead - The Space
>> 0141 422 6036 (Internal: 01-26036) - PGP key CEBCF03E,
>> Zone 1.08, BBC Scotland, Pacific Quay, Glasgow, G51 1DA
>> Project Office: Room 7083, BBC Television Centre, London W12 7RJ
>>
>>
>>
>> -----------------------------
>> http://www.bbc.co.uk
>> This e-mail (and any attachments) is confidential and
>> may contain personal views which are not the views of the BBC unless specifically stated.
>> If you have received it in
>> error, please delete it from your system.
>> Do not use, copy or disclose the
>> information in any way nor act in reliance on it and notify the sender
>> immediately.
>> Please note that the BBC monitors e-mails
>> sent or received.
>> Further communication will signify your consent to
>> this.
>> -----------------------------
>> _______________________________________________
>> Uri-review mailing list
>> Uri-review@ietf.org
>> https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/uri-review
> _______________________________________________
> Uri-review mailing list
> Uri-review@ietf.org
> https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/uri-review
>