Re: [Uri-review] XMPP jabber: URI scheme not registered?

Peter Saint-Andre <stpeter@stpeter.im> Mon, 26 November 2012 16:39 UTC

Return-Path: <stpeter@stpeter.im>
X-Original-To: uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9E77C21F8540; Mon, 26 Nov 2012 08:39:25 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -102.599
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-102.599 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-2.599, USER_IN_WHITELIST=-100]
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([64.170.98.30]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id FVaQ4a6TpPeH; Mon, 26 Nov 2012 08:39:25 -0800 (PST)
Received: from stpeter.im (mailhost.stpeter.im [207.210.219.225]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id B7D6221F8542; Mon, 26 Nov 2012 08:39:23 -0800 (PST)
Received: from [10.129.24.67] (unknown [128.107.239.233]) (Authenticated sender: stpeter) by stpeter.im (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 986BB40126; Mon, 26 Nov 2012 09:44:13 -0700 (MST)
Message-ID: <50B39B3A.2000801@stpeter.im>
Date: Mon, 26 Nov 2012 09:39:22 -0700
From: Peter Saint-Andre <stpeter@stpeter.im>
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.7; rv:17.0) Gecko/17.0 Thunderbird/17.0
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: Graham Klyne <GK@ninebynine.org>
References: <50B2095C.2000501@ninebynine.org> <50B38AAA.5030908@stpeter.im>
In-Reply-To: <50B38AAA.5030908@stpeter.im>
X-Enigmail-Version: 1.4.6
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Cc: "uri-review@ietf.org" <uri-review@ietf.org>, "apps-discuss@ietf.org" <apps-discuss@ietf.org>
Subject: Re: [Uri-review] XMPP jabber: URI scheme not registered?
X-BeenThere: uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.12
Precedence: list
List-Id: Proposed URI Schemes <uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/uri-review>, <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/uri-review>
List-Post: <mailto:uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/uri-review>, <mailto:uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Mon, 26 Nov 2012 16:39:25 -0000

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

On 11/26/12 8:28 AM, Peter Saint-Andre wrote:
> On 11/25/12 5:04 AM, Graham Klyne wrote:
>> I've just been digging around the XMPP specs, and I notive they 
>> make reference to required namespaces of the form
>> "jabber:client" and "jabber:server" (cf. 
>> http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc3920#section-11.2, esp sect
>> 11.2.2).
> 
>> Examples in sections 8 and 9 of that spec reinforce the
>> indication that jabber: is being used as a URI scheme (rather
>> than a namespace prefix).
> 
> The 'jabber:' string was used in the earliest days of the jabberd 
> server project when the core developers didn't really understand
> XML namespaces (which were quite new at the time). It is not a URI
> scheme, just a mistake. :)
> 
>> But looking at http://www.iana.org/assignments/uri-schemes.html
>> I'm not seeing any mention of jabber:.
> 
>> Assuming I'm reading this right... it's probably unfortunate
>> that that this use of jabber: has come about (like dav: before
>> it?) but I guess it's now entrenched and should at least be
>> registered?
> 
> I have never registered it and I hesitate to do so now because I
> think it would cause more confusion than it's worth. We do have the
> 'xmpp:' URI scheme for pointing to JabberIDs.

Alexey pointed out to me offlist that these old 'jabber:*' strings are
used in URI slots (as XML namespaces), so we probably do need to
register this "scheme". Sigh. I'll take care of that.

Peter

- -- 
Peter Saint-Andre
https://stpeter.im/


-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG/MacGPG2 v2.0.18 (Darwin)
Comment: Using GnuPG with undefined - http://www.enigmail.net/

iEYEARECAAYFAlCzmzoACgkQNL8k5A2w/vwiSQCfa/AVXURwBcl7dPE1Rxbh0/NL
zVgAoNiG9UM66AcMl/J5NtdHu3iufc1A
=5+Wh
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----