Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json

Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> Thu, 04 June 2015 04:12 UTC

Return-Path: <pstahlb@google.com>
X-Original-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 471D81B3435 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 3 Jun 2015 21:12:30 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.388
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.388 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, FM_FORGED_GMAIL=0.622, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_RP_MATCHES_RCVD=-0.01] autolearn=no
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id SsOKkLZqtSAo for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 3 Jun 2015 21:12:28 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qk0-x230.google.com (mail-qk0-x230.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:400d:c09::230]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 913661B3433 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 3 Jun 2015 21:12:21 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by qkhq76 with SMTP id q76so17903138qkh.2 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 03 Jun 2015 21:12:20 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=google.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date:message-id:subject:from:to :cc:content-type; bh=q5PS7VHT9V24rm8wnBMUULvhJub2+ioXlSwPksH9Xc8=; b=UTPPBmde4GE2iT9I/uvus7aK7/jjLFVMsTxCLxiGSsJS3DeZpi6Wje9gW6J421KYeG Ibgydqir9Mf2WcUJZBUmz5oiKZv4poDnfvnGZ8DwoaZVaOGxwnzUQQlr7+/MHpieu3Ti lQlcfA0hcTQJaW+uS7gZVmx3RvgOSAQemt9p1Q1ycAVv2P4KhO90xdi+RjsB88GdgHn6 dFaqlm4EKW6+6nfrqTXLg7C3rf6tR+BD4qUIlRoI3TS8qhGkCzGQvXsccIfYspHBO+N2 uEt0grMwoD5SufCteOQT3vMlCIFN3iydl9l0pJYOXmegMaTpbYmwXchZ4YcisTMqFPk2 Zoig==
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20130820; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date :message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type; bh=q5PS7VHT9V24rm8wnBMUULvhJub2+ioXlSwPksH9Xc8=; b=SH6CoF09t53MIza5v/8oMC96xeVr++LijzWLelSJ+5wx8Q2eO6wKVJ7uS5SPT91vrA HAinYcEcKyMoIyzTEYziMNWr7zwPfSB4r1/sXeUVjwEX5W8Ogsm8qDOib1pKC7N6ChVx 9xrL8AEFKeyh532wj0hsA5xNF0iR2Ox73w+OyyEZEJWbLrv/VycXcN+0swS3lp5LR6ES tY0C/NIU03U7dm/uHXpJT1q07wzxg8XD/K0pNxp+Y3bgBZ2Bdu2FSfbzHrrxSfPJKiU6 4YG+RcZONCHzPII5Vx0/rn3fP56VotFS/mASCoTt7E7qq+hZoDFGln/zqMKpBzyuhkbz wcsA==
X-Gm-Message-State: ALoCoQkFvXizAFAFDoymwXXz2gCEsMvD/dyUlcWOKfc/aV977sbDe0aPxDISeWu1QJpFjVACwrDw
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Received: by 10.140.98.237 with SMTP id o100mr40181262qge.1.1433391140782; Wed, 03 Jun 2015 21:12:20 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.229.196.73 with HTTP; Wed, 3 Jun 2015 21:12:20 -0700 (PDT)
In-Reply-To: <D9267479-D98E-47F9-B69F-D0D10BD85693@mnot.net>
References: <CABP3xjyV80p2Y2rj6JUSKAro1vRziSntUmQPzM06g563h8J4jw@mail.gmail.com> <4820CA4B-C98B-4CC8-BDE5-83A5C7A5CE57@mnot.net> <CABP3xjy5NwgT4TSUs8Pksdp-3jXKyTUaUQyWYHi0M4D4KO_ZxA@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjx+UeOL0NdKgzThTTZrKvqTjD3eUrEUhzQJjev0soWjSQ@mail.gmail.com> <AACC2DB3-ED7A-467A-8C41-378A15B8B24B@mnot.net> <CABP3xjwG3QaDwDb_esCjvzV8jjTQNVwDMRno0qGFfibTPV9K2Q@mail.gmail.com> <836AF9CF-6271-4670-B309-9EEBF772AB66@mnot.net> <CABP3xjwv1rAFgtqra40+VpZgeoo923g3iftMZFd7iu6qLjJj5w@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjwHy5VPDH6btPTL_0Ptcy+eJ5mH2TVS7oehebopzU24vw@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjwphVFR8uRN=gXOPni+Zk4hEy4mz=Ni-Dgsk57f_cimdQ@mail.gmail.com> <D9267479-D98E-47F9-B69F-D0D10BD85693@mnot.net>
Date: Thu, 4 Jun 2015 00:12:20 -0400
Message-ID: <CABP3xjyEwS=iXEZrEJjKCjcMELS6nonLU_kETgsEqOKZFtEbTg@mail.gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json
From: Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
To: Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=001a113a9322c57a540517a9614f
Archived-At: <http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/wellknown-uri-review/3XxkSWh_X66tDCVo1gAqfPmw9sY>
Cc: Umesh Shankar <ushankar@google.com>, wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-BeenThere: wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
List-Id: Well-Known URI review list <wellknown-uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/wellknown-uri-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 04 Jun 2015 04:12:30 -0000

Thanks, Mark!

Yes, we will clean the spec up and host it at a stable URL.  We will need a
few days to do that, but I will let you know when it's done.


-- 
Patrick


On Wed, Jun 3, 2015 at 11:51 PM, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:

> Hi Patrick,
>
> Sorry for the delay. That sounds fine.
>
> Can you put the spec at a stable URL? It's fine if it gets updated.
>
> Thanks,
>
>
> > On 28 May 2015, at 11:29 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> >
> > Hi Mark,
> >
> > friendly ping :)  -- how does assetlinks.json sound?
> >
> >
> > --
> > Patrick
> >
> > On Thu, May 21, 2015 at 11:23 AM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> > Hi Mark,
> >
> > after conferring with the team, we would like to request
> "assetlinks.json".  Thanks for bearing with us while we make up our minds.
> >
> >
> > --
> > Patrick
> >
> >
> > On Thu, May 21, 2015 at 7:00 AM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> > We wanted something short, but we absolutely see your point about it
> being generic. asset_statements.json doesn't sound too bad, but it's quite
> long and we worry that people will get confused about whether there is a
> dash or an underscore in the name. Does "assetlinks.json" or even simply
> "assetlinks" sound acceptable to you?
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Patrick
> > On May 21, 2015 1:05 AM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
> > Thanks.
> >
> > "statements.json" does indeed seem very generic; is there a reason
> you're not using something like "asset_statements.json"?
> >
> > Cheers,
> >
> >
> >
> > > On 20 May 2015, at 8:38 pm, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> > >
> > > Hi Mark,
> > >
> > > apologies -- I had read your earlier email as "you're good to go; just
> send us the spec when your product launches".  That's entirely my fault.
> > >
> > > We've prepared a spec and it's attached as a PDF file.  It's still in
> a somewhat rough shape, but should have all the important pieces.
> > >
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > > Patrick
> > >
> > >
> > > On Tue, May 19, 2015 at 12:41 AM, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
> wrote:
> > > Hi Patrick,
> > >
> > > Again, having the spec is the next necessary step. I can't really
> comment on the name until I've seen it — although "statements" is
> *extremely* generic.
> > >
> > > Cheers,
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > > On 15 May 2015, at 1:06 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> > > >
> > > > Hi again,
> > > >
> > > > our project has evolved a bit.  We would still like to store
> information about the relationship between online assets, but the
> information is going to be encoded in the form of "statements".  Therefore,
> we think a more fitting name would now be:
> > > >
> > > >   .well-known/statements.json
> > > >
> > > > Do we still have your preliminary approval for this new name?
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > Thanks,
> > > > Patrick
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > On Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 9:08 PM, Patrick Stahlberg <
> pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> > > > Hi Mark,
> > > >
> > > > Thanks!  We will let you know.
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Patrick
> > > > On Mar 31, 2015 8:52 PM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
> > > > Hi Patrick,
> > > >
> > > > Sure. Best thing to do is to ping this list once your spec becomes
> public (even in draft form), and we’ll do the registration.
> > > >
> > > > Cheers,
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > > On 1 Apr 2015, at 5:20 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > Hi,
> > > > >
> > > > > I am writing on behalf of a team at Google working on new ways to
> surface associations between web sites and other online "assets".  For a
> planned launch, we would like to register the well-known URI
> "associations.json" as requested in RFC 5785.
> > > > >
> > > > > We would like to ask web site owners to publish a file at this
> location that follows a simple JSON format and that includes information
> about other assets that are related to the site on which the
> associations.json is published.  We plan for the format to be open and
> usable by anyone.  We would like to publish a full specification of the
> format once we have enough confidence internally in its design.
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks,
> > > > > Patrick
> > > > > _______________________________________________
> > > > > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
> > > > > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
> > > > > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > > --
> > > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> <AssetLinksWell-KnownURISpec.pdf>_______________________________________________
> > > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
> > > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
> > > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
> >
> > --
> > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
> --
> Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
>
>