Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json

Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> Thu, 28 May 2015 01:29 UTC

Return-Path: <pstahlb@google.com>
X-Original-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 293361B2B33 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 27 May 2015 18:29:52 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: 0.511
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=0.511 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_40=-0.001, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, FM_FORGED_GMAIL=0.622, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_RP_MATCHES_RCVD=-0.01] autolearn=no
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id ZG_dWBN1xWe3 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 27 May 2015 18:29:50 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qc0-x232.google.com (mail-qc0-x232.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:400d:c01::232]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id E0B841ACEBE for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 27 May 2015 18:29:49 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by qchk10 with SMTP id k10so11756912qch.2 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 27 May 2015 18:29:49 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=google.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date:message-id:subject:from:to :cc:content-type; bh=/BoXiwnFKlJXbQrCn/S1I9725xWL3yA48rivTEQaY4Y=; b=QlgBEuUQEDVggjoY+K/iua1U910H4TX3XNRpBvn5hEbn5b1RU0/HGzSn27b6TWf69e g+dAttCWVtQsQVLfzzeuKybCbAgDc3ZzORVv8hHs/ePB3I8kGUuWN841EnUq73ah2s0x TFY22+VJIPl5YpgfaQ90wRTyIPPK6/1BfaLSwbONkKlMcKQFlvmxRk2rDdL/9jaxc05d j9hPf3I1QPGQb0pr5SqXCoCkCZ47s6IVcTYsOrTMYVPGEmbqNJGgCZe/FdUgvfUeQCt2 yHJVg6krahAlSR5MU3YApQv4pxf0ANnG14XVtCC3jt7QuENOY4uTw3Cwe3n4O7NxckIH lvfQ==
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20130820; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date :message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type; bh=/BoXiwnFKlJXbQrCn/S1I9725xWL3yA48rivTEQaY4Y=; b=aVE6KXEe8edfB5Qr91aMc/5ZSEDIAjxxlsPmjfSlLsbt9KDNmuzA5I6e7wVA4egU+B 3s+BMQIZronQ/gyCnKX78mih3eiP2zx8KYfS/oaMl7jdKOhFxd1Y3SFv7ZtJLimUyVMZ 2RpAzkyfTX1+T/JO8ntLkS6J40fD8iqlqjkCou7kVvmJTwk9DVnHJAAws4orbZekQRy6 FDE4waj1NxUf2voy2j+WLPb8lgjeXaHIx6B80dRVZ8G3wAJfF1S3qSk/mOiHa1ZW/+f9 sPUnqO+QVjbdGWBL/mmM3ySnHOJxkUKKxGdQ+b+mbdoPEXeTY8lx69OWWig7L4gX4a7z NA5A==
X-Gm-Message-State: ALoCoQkbBtd14OkUlQj50ZEusG+AcjKjVSTafxeIw6rj2wWG7CEoFEsQpwy3Ef1eB0skYAGnQd6j
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Received: by 10.140.98.237 with SMTP id o100mr287344qge.1.1432776589063; Wed, 27 May 2015 18:29:49 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.229.196.73 with HTTP; Wed, 27 May 2015 18:29:48 -0700 (PDT)
In-Reply-To: <CABP3xjwHy5VPDH6btPTL_0Ptcy+eJ5mH2TVS7oehebopzU24vw@mail.gmail.com>
References: <CABP3xjyV80p2Y2rj6JUSKAro1vRziSntUmQPzM06g563h8J4jw@mail.gmail.com> <4820CA4B-C98B-4CC8-BDE5-83A5C7A5CE57@mnot.net> <CABP3xjy5NwgT4TSUs8Pksdp-3jXKyTUaUQyWYHi0M4D4KO_ZxA@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjx+UeOL0NdKgzThTTZrKvqTjD3eUrEUhzQJjev0soWjSQ@mail.gmail.com> <AACC2DB3-ED7A-467A-8C41-378A15B8B24B@mnot.net> <CABP3xjwG3QaDwDb_esCjvzV8jjTQNVwDMRno0qGFfibTPV9K2Q@mail.gmail.com> <836AF9CF-6271-4670-B309-9EEBF772AB66@mnot.net> <CABP3xjwv1rAFgtqra40+VpZgeoo923g3iftMZFd7iu6qLjJj5w@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjwHy5VPDH6btPTL_0Ptcy+eJ5mH2TVS7oehebopzU24vw@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 27 May 2015 21:29:48 -0400
Message-ID: <CABP3xjwphVFR8uRN=gXOPni+Zk4hEy4mz=Ni-Dgsk57f_cimdQ@mail.gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json
From: Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
To: Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=001a113a9322a265a205171a4bf1
Archived-At: <http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/wellknown-uri-review/REpoksfnz7BOnFwCJzkM2cWUvec>
Cc: Umesh Shankar <ushankar@google.com>, wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-BeenThere: wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
List-Id: Well-Known URI review list <wellknown-uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/wellknown-uri-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 28 May 2015 01:29:52 -0000

Hi Mark,

friendly ping :)  -- how does assetlinks.json sound?


-- 
Patrick

On Thu, May 21, 2015 at 11:23 AM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
wrote:

> Hi Mark,
>
> after conferring with the team, we would like to request
> "assetlinks.json".  Thanks for bearing with us while we make up our minds.
>
>
> --
> Patrick
>
>
> On Thu, May 21, 2015 at 7:00 AM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
>
>> We wanted something short, but we absolutely see your point about it
>> being generic. asset_statements.json doesn't sound too bad, but it's quite
>> long and we worry that people will get confused about whether there is a
>> dash or an underscore in the name. Does "assetlinks.json" or even simply
>> "assetlinks" sound acceptable to you?
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Patrick
>>  On May 21, 2015 1:05 AM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
>>
>>> Thanks.
>>>
>>> "statements.json" does indeed seem very generic; is there a reason
>>> you're not using something like "asset_statements.json"?
>>>
>>> Cheers,
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> > On 20 May 2015, at 8:38 pm, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
>>> wrote:
>>> >
>>> > Hi Mark,
>>> >
>>> > apologies -- I had read your earlier email as "you're good to go; just
>>> send us the spec when your product launches".  That's entirely my fault.
>>> >
>>> > We've prepared a spec and it's attached as a PDF file.  It's still in
>>> a somewhat rough shape, but should have all the important pieces.
>>> >
>>> >
>>> > Thanks,
>>> > Patrick
>>> >
>>> >
>>> > On Tue, May 19, 2015 at 12:41 AM, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
>>> wrote:
>>> > Hi Patrick,
>>> >
>>> > Again, having the spec is the next necessary step. I can't really
>>> comment on the name until I've seen it — although "statements" is
>>> *extremely* generic.
>>> >
>>> > Cheers,
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >
>>> > > On 15 May 2015, at 1:06 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
>>> wrote:
>>> > >
>>> > > Hi again,
>>> > >
>>> > > our project has evolved a bit.  We would still like to store
>>> information about the relationship between online assets, but the
>>> information is going to be encoded in the form of "statements".  Therefore,
>>> we think a more fitting name would now be:
>>> > >
>>> > >   .well-known/statements.json
>>> > >
>>> > > Do we still have your preliminary approval for this new name?
>>> > >
>>> > >
>>> > > Thanks,
>>> > > Patrick
>>> > >
>>> > >
>>> > > On Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 9:08 PM, Patrick Stahlberg <
>>> pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
>>> > > Hi Mark,
>>> > >
>>> > > Thanks!  We will let you know.
>>> > >
>>> > > --
>>> > > Patrick
>>> > > On Mar 31, 2015 8:52 PM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
>>> > > Hi Patrick,
>>> > >
>>> > > Sure. Best thing to do is to ping this list once your spec becomes
>>> public (even in draft form), and we’ll do the registration.
>>> > >
>>> > > Cheers,
>>> > >
>>> > >
>>> > > > On 1 Apr 2015, at 5:20 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
>>> wrote:
>>> > > >
>>> > > > Hi,
>>> > > >
>>> > > > I am writing on behalf of a team at Google working on new ways to
>>> surface associations between web sites and other online "assets".  For a
>>> planned launch, we would like to register the well-known URI
>>> "associations.json" as requested in RFC 5785.
>>> > > >
>>> > > > We would like to ask web site owners to publish a file at this
>>> location that follows a simple JSON format and that includes information
>>> about other assets that are related to the site on which the
>>> associations.json is published.  We plan for the format to be open and
>>> usable by anyone.  We would like to publish a full specification of the
>>> format once we have enough confidence internally in its design.
>>> > > >
>>> > > >
>>> > > > Thanks,
>>> > > > Patrick
>>> > > > _______________________________________________
>>> > > > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
>>> > > > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
>>> > > > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
>>> > >
>>> > > --
>>> > > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
>>> > >
>>> > >
>>> >
>>> > --
>>> > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >
>>> <AssetLinksWell-KnownURISpec.pdf>_______________________________________________
>>> > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
>>> > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
>>> > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
>>>
>>> --
>>> Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>