Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json

Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net> Tue, 19 May 2015 04:41 UTC

Return-Path: <mnot@mnot.net>
X-Original-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 43B6F1A0095 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Mon, 18 May 2015 21:41:29 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: 0.098
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=0.098 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_50=0.8, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_LOW=-0.7, SPF_HELO_PASS=-0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001] autolearn=ham
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id Lus0iIzE-beH for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Mon, 18 May 2015 21:41:26 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mxout-07.mxes.net (mxout-07.mxes.net [216.86.168.182]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 8FC501A0092 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Mon, 18 May 2015 21:41:26 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [192.168.0.11] (unknown [120.149.147.132]) (using TLSv1 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by smtp.mxes.net (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 1A0DF22E200; Tue, 19 May 2015 00:41:14 -0400 (EDT)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 8.2 \(2098\))
Subject: Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json
From: Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
In-Reply-To: <CABP3xjx+UeOL0NdKgzThTTZrKvqTjD3eUrEUhzQJjev0soWjSQ@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 19 May 2015 14:41:12 +1000
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <AACC2DB3-ED7A-467A-8C41-378A15B8B24B@mnot.net>
References: <CABP3xjyV80p2Y2rj6JUSKAro1vRziSntUmQPzM06g563h8J4jw@mail.gmail.com> <4820CA4B-C98B-4CC8-BDE5-83A5C7A5CE57@mnot.net> <CABP3xjy5NwgT4TSUs8Pksdp-3jXKyTUaUQyWYHi0M4D4KO_ZxA@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjx+UeOL0NdKgzThTTZrKvqTjD3eUrEUhzQJjev0soWjSQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.2098)
Archived-At: <http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/wellknown-uri-review/ayi7KssxGEjxsFOtu2pcaj7LFqA>
Cc: Umesh Shankar <ushankar@google.com>, wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-BeenThere: wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
List-Id: Well-Known URI review list <wellknown-uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/wellknown-uri-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Tue, 19 May 2015 04:41:29 -0000

Hi Patrick,

Again, having the spec is the next necessary step. I can't really comment on the name until I've seen it — although "statements" is *extremely* generic.

Cheers,



> On 15 May 2015, at 1:06 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> 
> Hi again,
> 
> our project has evolved a bit.  We would still like to store information about the relationship between online assets, but the information is going to be encoded in the form of "statements".  Therefore, we think a more fitting name would now be:
> 
>   .well-known/statements.json
> 
> Do we still have your preliminary approval for this new name?
> 
> 
> Thanks,
> Patrick
> 
> 
> On Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 9:08 PM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> Hi Mark,
> 
> Thanks!  We will let you know.
> 
> -- 
> Patrick
> On Mar 31, 2015 8:52 PM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
> Hi Patrick,
> 
> Sure. Best thing to do is to ping this list once your spec becomes public (even in draft form), and we’ll do the registration.
> 
> Cheers,
> 
> 
> > On 1 Apr 2015, at 5:20 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> >
> > Hi,
> >
> > I am writing on behalf of a team at Google working on new ways to surface associations between web sites and other online "assets".  For a planned launch, we would like to register the well-known URI "associations.json" as requested in RFC 5785.
> >
> > We would like to ask web site owners to publish a file at this location that follows a simple JSON format and that includes information about other assets that are related to the site on which the associations.json is published.  We plan for the format to be open and usable by anyone.  We would like to publish a full specification of the format once we have enough confidence internally in its design.
> >
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Patrick
> > _______________________________________________
> > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
> > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
> > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
> 
> --
> Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> 
> 

--
Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/