Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json

Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net> Fri, 25 September 2015 05:29 UTC

Return-Path: <mnot@mnot.net>
X-Original-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 1C3491B308D for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 24 Sep 2015 22:29:16 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.202
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.202 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_05=-0.5, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_LOW=-0.7, SPF_HELO_PASS=-0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001] autolearn=ham
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id mH8RPy5RkRJS for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 24 Sep 2015 22:29:13 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mxout-07.mxes.net (mxout-07.mxes.net [216.86.168.182]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 26D131B3075 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Thu, 24 Sep 2015 22:29:13 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [192.168.0.21] (unknown [120.149.147.132]) (using TLSv1 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by smtp.mxes.net (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 9DABD22E1F4; Fri, 25 Sep 2015 01:29:08 -0400 (EDT)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 8.2 \(2104\))
Subject: Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json
From: Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
In-Reply-To: <CABP3xjwkgSnTrz-8swTHOj5VRRLBMUWs3iv=19Lm_DuKZzYwFQ@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 25 Sep 2015 15:29:05 +1000
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <298DDCE6-3798-4557-B729-BCBDC3630ED5@mnot.net>
References: <CABP3xjyV80p2Y2rj6JUSKAro1vRziSntUmQPzM06g563h8J4jw@mail.gmail.com> <4820CA4B-C98B-4CC8-BDE5-83A5C7A5CE57@mnot.net> <CABP3xjy5NwgT4TSUs8Pksdp-3jXKyTUaUQyWYHi0M4D4KO_ZxA@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjx+UeOL0NdKgzThTTZrKvqTjD3eUrEUhzQJjev0soWjSQ@mail.gmail.com> <AACC2DB3-ED7A-467A-8C41-378A15B8B24B@mnot.net> <CABP3xjwG3QaDwDb_esCjvzV8jjTQNVwDMRno0qGFfibTPV9K2Q@mail.gmail.com> <836AF9CF-6271-4670-B309-9EEBF772AB66@mnot.net> <CABP3xjwv1rAFgtqra40+VpZgeoo923g3iftMZFd7iu6qLjJj5w@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjwHy5VPDH6btPTL_0Ptcy+eJ5mH2TVS7oehebopzU24vw@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjwphVFR8uRN=gXOPni+Zk4hEy4mz=Ni-Dgsk57f_cimdQ@mail.gmail.com> <D9267479-D98E-47F9-B69F-D0D10BD85693@mnot.net> <CABP3xjyEwS=iXEZrEJjKCjcMELS6nonLU_kETgsEqOKZFtEbTg@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjwkgSnTrz-8swTHOj5VRRLBMUWs3iv=19Lm_DuKZzYwFQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: iana@iana.org
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.2104)
Archived-At: <http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/wellknown-uri-review/ijqAhwhDnSKALsQQIPXc3jkLLRk>
Cc: Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>, wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-BeenThere: wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
List-Id: Well-Known URI review list <wellknown-uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/wellknown-uri-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Fri, 25 Sep 2015 05:29:16 -0000

Hi IANA, 

The following Well-Known URI (RFC5785) registration is approved.

* URI suffix:  assetlinks.json
* Change controller: Google Inc.  well-known-statements@google.com
* Specification document(s):  https://github.com/google/digitalassetlinks/blob/master/well-known/specification.md
* Related information:  https://github.com/google/digitalassetlinks/blob/master/well-known/details.md

Cheers,

P.S. Patrick, sorry for the delay; was on the road.


> On 11 Sep 2015, at 6:00 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> 
> Hi Mark,
> 
> apologies again; it took longer than expected.  But we now have our spec at a stable URL.  Please take a look, and let us know if there are other things we should do to complete the registration.
> 
> https://github.com/google/digitalassetlinks/blob/master/well-known/spec.txt
> https://github.com/google/digitalassetlinks/blob/master/well-known/specification.md
> 
> 
> Thanks,
> Patrick
> 
> 
> On Thu, Jun 4, 2015 at 12:12 AM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> Thanks, Mark!
> 
> Yes, we will clean the spec up and host it at a stable URL.  We will need a few days to do that, but I will let you know when it's done.
> 
> 
> -- 
> Patrick
> 
> 
> On Wed, Jun 3, 2015 at 11:51 PM, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
> Hi Patrick,
> 
> Sorry for the delay. That sounds fine.
> 
> Can you put the spec at a stable URL? It's fine if it gets updated.
> 
> Thanks,
> 
> 
> > On 28 May 2015, at 11:29 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> >
> > Hi Mark,
> >
> > friendly ping :)  -- how does assetlinks.json sound?
> >
> >
> > --
> > Patrick
> >
> > On Thu, May 21, 2015 at 11:23 AM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> > Hi Mark,
> >
> > after conferring with the team, we would like to request "assetlinks.json".  Thanks for bearing with us while we make up our minds.
> >
> >
> > --
> > Patrick
> >
> >
> > On Thu, May 21, 2015 at 7:00 AM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> > We wanted something short, but we absolutely see your point about it being generic. asset_statements.json doesn't sound too bad, but it's quite long and we worry that people will get confused about whether there is a dash or an underscore in the name. Does "assetlinks.json" or even simply "assetlinks" sound acceptable to you?
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Patrick
> > On May 21, 2015 1:05 AM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
> > Thanks.
> >
> > "statements.json" does indeed seem very generic; is there a reason you're not using something like "asset_statements.json"?
> >
> > Cheers,
> >
> >
> >
> > > On 20 May 2015, at 8:38 pm, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > Hi Mark,
> > >
> > > apologies -- I had read your earlier email as "you're good to go; just send us the spec when your product launches".  That's entirely my fault.
> > >
> > > We've prepared a spec and it's attached as a PDF file.  It's still in a somewhat rough shape, but should have all the important pieces.
> > >
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > > Patrick
> > >
> > >
> > > On Tue, May 19, 2015 at 12:41 AM, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
> > > Hi Patrick,
> > >
> > > Again, having the spec is the next necessary step. I can't really comment on the name until I've seen it — although "statements" is *extremely* generic.
> > >
> > > Cheers,
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > > On 15 May 2015, at 1:06 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> > > >
> > > > Hi again,
> > > >
> > > > our project has evolved a bit.  We would still like to store information about the relationship between online assets, but the information is going to be encoded in the form of "statements".  Therefore, we think a more fitting name would now be:
> > > >
> > > >   .well-known/statements.json
> > > >
> > > > Do we still have your preliminary approval for this new name?
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > Thanks,
> > > > Patrick
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > On Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 9:08 PM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> > > > Hi Mark,
> > > >
> > > > Thanks!  We will let you know.
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Patrick
> > > > On Mar 31, 2015 8:52 PM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
> > > > Hi Patrick,
> > > >
> > > > Sure. Best thing to do is to ping this list once your spec becomes public (even in draft form), and we’ll do the registration.
> > > >
> > > > Cheers,
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > > On 1 Apr 2015, at 5:20 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > Hi,
> > > > >
> > > > > I am writing on behalf of a team at Google working on new ways to surface associations between web sites and other online "assets".  For a planned launch, we would like to register the well-known URI "associations.json" as requested in RFC 5785.
> > > > >
> > > > > We would like to ask web site owners to publish a file at this location that follows a simple JSON format and that includes information about other assets that are related to the site on which the associations.json is published.  We plan for the format to be open and usable by anyone.  We would like to publish a full specification of the format once we have enough confidence internally in its design.
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks,
> > > > > Patrick
> > > > > _______________________________________________
> > > > > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
> > > > > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
> > > > > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > > --
> > > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > <AssetLinksWell-KnownURISpec.pdf>_______________________________________________
> > > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
> > > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
> > > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
> >
> > --
> > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> 
> --
> Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> 
> 
> 

--
Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/