Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json

Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> Wed, 20 May 2015 10:38 UTC

Return-Path: <pstahlb@google.com>
X-Original-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 4AE6F1B3684 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 20 May 2015 03:38:19 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: 0.721
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=0.721 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_20=-0.001, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, FM_FORGED_GMAIL=0.622, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_DKIM_INVALID=0.01, T_RP_MATCHES_RCVD=-0.01] autolearn=no
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id oLssfDVoh6ZN for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 20 May 2015 03:38:17 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qc0-x22a.google.com (mail-qc0-x22a.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:400d:c01::22a]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id B65181B3682 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 20 May 2015 03:38:16 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by qcblr10 with SMTP id lr10so20317304qcb.0 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 20 May 2015 03:38:16 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=google.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date:message-id:subject:from:to :cc:content-type; bh=LYCG4R1ClEO6Pf5hWxgLt1NWFGeevqFl89vEiwoaJ6M=; b=j0FSvjKrJjCvNBjzsy7C9T+xrvJdvAg2kMmfuIdBqY8rTJVmh5ViD8Ki1j6lppTe37 VcMRU+f/kEh4Lt7hJ+WpSXl4TCoh4xX1gMwC/XPX/mEdZgEwel5stk/arSPQ6mHzZfbq nEMGA+w//SpA6KbJ53WjDOJF4R2GKVP1d0KvqAxY+WvX1a0UMEdsPcd0qCCHt6CcCkEN 3ERWkxmXq5W4MfoIG58hxQEdHwHq6g0RYzWOyqADj40KdRW9JjKyXkyg0UPqi2VBK3XJ wIk/aWe5tW4l+TpMYNPCDntqf8cX76Y3nzNVo9uEpoIqJXtWo1eVLN5lnJeIhUPo7V+D hMPQ==
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20130820; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date :message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type; bh=LYCG4R1ClEO6Pf5hWxgLt1NWFGeevqFl89vEiwoaJ6M=; b=G2oh+rnPBjeFoSAYfK9FZXXPCwSzLJCiEaPAToNV4BZuiFnFKi2KHotDdd75FfIRCr m4MFNEmcGA4b6tzIhCd5BPENj5XL4dR7YlX6nSHdG2/vE5IQr6r8EfLzmriUQGYcR+5R pSGPtJ9kLlMiNXFvdcRWm6i+LODRP0+1qSD9F4tXRxKbtrEdbuEy8Z4czQSkjDzkcj3d yihWJylgnjrBmy6xHKPRqDQoI3u6+6MdZPRscOq3bkVTii8RPyLEqLMMgejsas/dkKHf Tc+rUarG1MdPyb9m+zxTEpk8ogmDYufjRCGBi7iGHOchA0V/aRe0BBMU0u6RlL+YABtt lUUg==
X-Gm-Message-State: ALoCoQld/CWgcGCMa+I/0XtJj80M6Unf7nWZyQ0L3Nj+1nmhEVYqWUzGh+Z553Iiv/4IUq3MvkLo
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Received: by 10.140.147.68 with SMTP id 65mr42263920qht.51.1432118295854; Wed, 20 May 2015 03:38:15 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.229.196.73 with HTTP; Wed, 20 May 2015 03:38:15 -0700 (PDT)
In-Reply-To: <AACC2DB3-ED7A-467A-8C41-378A15B8B24B@mnot.net>
References: <CABP3xjyV80p2Y2rj6JUSKAro1vRziSntUmQPzM06g563h8J4jw@mail.gmail.com> <4820CA4B-C98B-4CC8-BDE5-83A5C7A5CE57@mnot.net> <CABP3xjy5NwgT4TSUs8Pksdp-3jXKyTUaUQyWYHi0M4D4KO_ZxA@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjx+UeOL0NdKgzThTTZrKvqTjD3eUrEUhzQJjev0soWjSQ@mail.gmail.com> <AACC2DB3-ED7A-467A-8C41-378A15B8B24B@mnot.net>
Date: Wed, 20 May 2015 06:38:15 -0400
Message-ID: <CABP3xjwG3QaDwDb_esCjvzV8jjTQNVwDMRno0qGFfibTPV9K2Q@mail.gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json
From: Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
To: Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary=001a113769b64d83c80516810631
Archived-At: <http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/wellknown-uri-review/kQ2vkW6pRrF73pqHAb64F2-d18g>
Cc: Umesh Shankar <ushankar@google.com>, wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-BeenThere: wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
List-Id: Well-Known URI review list <wellknown-uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/wellknown-uri-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Wed, 20 May 2015 10:38:19 -0000

Hi Mark,

apologies -- I had read your earlier email as "you're good to go; just send
us the spec when your product launches".  That's entirely my fault.

We've prepared a spec and it's attached as a PDF file.  It's still in a
somewhat rough shape, but should have all the important pieces.


Thanks,
Patrick


On Tue, May 19, 2015 at 12:41 AM, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:

> Hi Patrick,
>
> Again, having the spec is the next necessary step. I can't really comment
> on the name until I've seen it — although "statements" is *extremely*
> generic.
>
> Cheers,
>
>
>
> > On 15 May 2015, at 1:06 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> >
> > Hi again,
> >
> > our project has evolved a bit.  We would still like to store information
> about the relationship between online assets, but the information is going
> to be encoded in the form of "statements".  Therefore, we think a more
> fitting name would now be:
> >
> >   .well-known/statements.json
> >
> > Do we still have your preliminary approval for this new name?
> >
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Patrick
> >
> >
> > On Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 9:08 PM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> > Hi Mark,
> >
> > Thanks!  We will let you know.
> >
> > --
> > Patrick
> > On Mar 31, 2015 8:52 PM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
> > Hi Patrick,
> >
> > Sure. Best thing to do is to ping this list once your spec becomes
> public (even in draft form), and we’ll do the registration.
> >
> > Cheers,
> >
> >
> > > On 1 Apr 2015, at 5:20 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
> wrote:
> > >
> > > Hi,
> > >
> > > I am writing on behalf of a team at Google working on new ways to
> surface associations between web sites and other online "assets".  For a
> planned launch, we would like to register the well-known URI
> "associations.json" as requested in RFC 5785.
> > >
> > > We would like to ask web site owners to publish a file at this
> location that follows a simple JSON format and that includes information
> about other assets that are related to the site on which the
> associations.json is published.  We plan for the format to be open and
> usable by anyone.  We would like to publish a full specification of the
> format once we have enough confidence internally in its design.
> > >
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > > Patrick
> > > _______________________________________________
> > > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
> > > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
> > > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
> >
> > --
> > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
> >
> >
>
> --
> Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
>
>
>
>
>