Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json

Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com> Thu, 21 May 2015 15:23 UTC

Return-Path: <pstahlb@google.com>
X-Original-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 5006F1A870B for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 21 May 2015 08:23:45 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.388
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.388 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, FM_FORGED_GMAIL=0.622, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, T_RP_MATCHES_RCVD=-0.01] autolearn=no
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id FIdZgfVuYO5l for <wellknown-uri-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 21 May 2015 08:23:43 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qk0-x231.google.com (mail-qk0-x231.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:400d:c09::231]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 1C15C1A7D81 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Thu, 21 May 2015 08:23:43 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by qkdn188 with SMTP id n188so52561789qkd.2 for <wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>; Thu, 21 May 2015 08:23:42 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=google.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date:message-id:subject:from:to :cc:content-type; bh=L8KoZuSvy1Ys7XQFDaMk13hBveKcI0kiKFBCwN1uWKU=; b=mzmA6eZeIP/l7++5625ZgKdqfuIBU5/3jz9SSt80ury4HdiuHsyaVJWA9823rndmqC Lu/mTa0o9ktb+OgP8xcn6mMCBzm5NLGAU0RO6RYMQYwQcPs1VNC1O1AqFLgS2BWHLL6e Q9iSeTia+k6xkTx07/AFruOZRdbpcd93VGQjR6hGZj87cA3wC9tF6xaQhm92mn4i0BWP 6dqnSUGuLgvEOrTI0YtZZizNG6CgZA4F748JxXbiXD3qrMiMQYbIFB5bYgZ3uh4yzTSf 4BTtncUsyC+ooKGSgUByQBpIaTg0jsmxlJ1mgBhYLiWym4imgOMYXSYbIiRXbACvh68Q fGsg==
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20130820; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date :message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type; bh=L8KoZuSvy1Ys7XQFDaMk13hBveKcI0kiKFBCwN1uWKU=; b=hNG4dU1XrLMam/rdqgAi+f42AhbBHDMP7rubIkFMLSRNFDH06dnpf+Bdia/fZz+FhA 2vwOdf+a86O5J5N9t888+z30lf0GkPFWGc4qRacKcHjwcd55WAqiTXkTNwOMKw176O9i d0rig71O7zKSGOBSz+GwqSVA7XU2oYgbiNaFaYOlyPi+RQTlsf/Ss+EKw4XpBk4PVSXh y96CgKWVcHdm2D3kQfx/vuOf6HO5Fjjs1qy5JDrEWBZbRUdvyAsjrwHRAcickjRhkfY9 uFXOseY5mkewY+4CXl8EI8lalktCzj13cyu1RkyzyJ/l/qPFIKqa2GDLPg704y4GdPgq FzBQ==
X-Gm-Message-State: ALoCoQmZmxtyh6FTGmptlUIYY8RTL+1UXOQ3oQAeG0d4hie12fa8Ys6mFUAivny0QfimCaqYmBU3
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Received: by 10.55.40.132 with SMTP id o4mr7328018qko.61.1432221822130; Thu, 21 May 2015 08:23:42 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.229.196.73 with HTTP; Thu, 21 May 2015 08:23:41 -0700 (PDT)
In-Reply-To: <CABP3xjwv1rAFgtqra40+VpZgeoo923g3iftMZFd7iu6qLjJj5w@mail.gmail.com>
References: <CABP3xjyV80p2Y2rj6JUSKAro1vRziSntUmQPzM06g563h8J4jw@mail.gmail.com> <4820CA4B-C98B-4CC8-BDE5-83A5C7A5CE57@mnot.net> <CABP3xjy5NwgT4TSUs8Pksdp-3jXKyTUaUQyWYHi0M4D4KO_ZxA@mail.gmail.com> <CABP3xjx+UeOL0NdKgzThTTZrKvqTjD3eUrEUhzQJjev0soWjSQ@mail.gmail.com> <AACC2DB3-ED7A-467A-8C41-378A15B8B24B@mnot.net> <CABP3xjwG3QaDwDb_esCjvzV8jjTQNVwDMRno0qGFfibTPV9K2Q@mail.gmail.com> <836AF9CF-6271-4670-B309-9EEBF772AB66@mnot.net> <CABP3xjwv1rAFgtqra40+VpZgeoo923g3iftMZFd7iu6qLjJj5w@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Thu, 21 May 2015 11:23:41 -0400
Message-ID: <CABP3xjwHy5VPDH6btPTL_0Ptcy+eJ5mH2TVS7oehebopzU24vw@mail.gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Request for well-known URI: associations.json
From: Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
To: Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=001a1142eceaf2f7720516992050
Archived-At: <http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/wellknown-uri-review/lcALV10-MmdT7HrdST4waSIwW2M>
Cc: Umesh Shankar <ushankar@google.com>, wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-BeenThere: wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
List-Id: Well-Known URI review list <wellknown-uri-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/wellknown-uri-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review>, <mailto:wellknown-uri-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 21 May 2015 15:23:45 -0000

Hi Mark,

after conferring with the team, we would like to request
"assetlinks.json".  Thanks for bearing with us while we make up our minds.


-- 
Patrick


On Thu, May 21, 2015 at 7:00 AM, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
wrote:

> We wanted something short, but we absolutely see your point about it being
> generic. asset_statements.json doesn't sound too bad, but it's quite long
> and we worry that people will get confused about whether there is a dash or
> an underscore in the name. Does "assetlinks.json" or even simply
> "assetlinks" sound acceptable to you?
>
> Thanks,
> Patrick
>  On May 21, 2015 1:05 AM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
>
>> Thanks.
>>
>> "statements.json" does indeed seem very generic; is there a reason you're
>> not using something like "asset_statements.json"?
>>
>> Cheers,
>>
>>
>>
>> > On 20 May 2015, at 8:38 pm, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
>> wrote:
>> >
>> > Hi Mark,
>> >
>> > apologies -- I had read your earlier email as "you're good to go; just
>> send us the spec when your product launches".  That's entirely my fault.
>> >
>> > We've prepared a spec and it's attached as a PDF file.  It's still in a
>> somewhat rough shape, but should have all the important pieces.
>> >
>> >
>> > Thanks,
>> > Patrick
>> >
>> >
>> > On Tue, May 19, 2015 at 12:41 AM, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
>> wrote:
>> > Hi Patrick,
>> >
>> > Again, having the spec is the next necessary step. I can't really
>> comment on the name until I've seen it — although "statements" is
>> *extremely* generic.
>> >
>> > Cheers,
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > > On 15 May 2015, at 1:06 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
>> wrote:
>> > >
>> > > Hi again,
>> > >
>> > > our project has evolved a bit.  We would still like to store
>> information about the relationship between online assets, but the
>> information is going to be encoded in the form of "statements".  Therefore,
>> we think a more fitting name would now be:
>> > >
>> > >   .well-known/statements.json
>> > >
>> > > Do we still have your preliminary approval for this new name?
>> > >
>> > >
>> > > Thanks,
>> > > Patrick
>> > >
>> > >
>> > > On Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 9:08 PM, Patrick Stahlberg <
>> pstahlb@google.com> wrote:
>> > > Hi Mark,
>> > >
>> > > Thanks!  We will let you know.
>> > >
>> > > --
>> > > Patrick
>> > > On Mar 31, 2015 8:52 PM, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net> wrote:
>> > > Hi Patrick,
>> > >
>> > > Sure. Best thing to do is to ping this list once your spec becomes
>> public (even in draft form), and we’ll do the registration.
>> > >
>> > > Cheers,
>> > >
>> > >
>> > > > On 1 Apr 2015, at 5:20 am, Patrick Stahlberg <pstahlb@google.com>
>> wrote:
>> > > >
>> > > > Hi,
>> > > >
>> > > > I am writing on behalf of a team at Google working on new ways to
>> surface associations between web sites and other online "assets".  For a
>> planned launch, we would like to register the well-known URI
>> "associations.json" as requested in RFC 5785.
>> > > >
>> > > > We would like to ask web site owners to publish a file at this
>> location that follows a simple JSON format and that includes information
>> about other assets that are related to the site on which the
>> associations.json is published.  We plan for the format to be open and
>> usable by anyone.  We would like to publish a full specification of the
>> format once we have enough confidence internally in its design.
>> > > >
>> > > >
>> > > > Thanks,
>> > > > Patrick
>> > > > _______________________________________________
>> > > > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
>> > > > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
>> > > > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
>> > >
>> > > --
>> > > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
>> > >
>> > >
>> >
>> > --
>> > Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> <AssetLinksWell-KnownURISpec.pdf>_______________________________________________
>> > wellknown-uri-review mailing list
>> > wellknown-uri-review@ietf.org
>> > https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wellknown-uri-review
>>
>> --
>> Mark Nottingham   https://www.mnot.net/
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>